A Short Digression

Sorry about the title but it sounds slightly more interesting than ‘New Look Pattern 6873’ .

I had no intention of making a pair of shorts, having a chiffon skirt and a dress to put the finishing touches to but when Mlle. Tialys the elder came home from university for a week she decided to make herself a pair from a pattern I already had and I quite liked the look of them so I made some too.

New Look 6873 Shorts

 

 A spotty pair.

(why am I standing like a flamingo, what is that lump on my knee and how long have those cracks on my bedroom door been there?)

I have used this pattern before to make skirts but it does also have these shorts and some trousers which are, effectively, a longer version of the shorts so a good value pattern really.  The shorts were a bit fiddlier than I was expecting, with lots of pattern pieces,  but at least I have now done a fly closure.  My life is complete.   I think these are a good shape – a bit more interesting than most shorts.  I left the belt carriers off as well as tabs at the side seams to hold the cuffs up  so they could be even more interesting if you wished.

New Look Pattern 6873 Shorts(2)

I think they have a slightly vintage look to them although I can’t decide which decade.

I even ventured, blinking, into the light outside.

 New Look 6873 Shorts

  I was Billy No Mates today and had to use a remote control (see right hand) to set off the camera which was slightly off centre on the tripod hence my vaguely tilted appearance.

I have yet to make a pair of trousers but I’m wondering – as these fit me so well and I have the fly closure off pat – whether to make a pair using this pattern.  Or would they be a bit too Great Gatsbyish?  Or 1950s fatherish?  See, I still can’t pin down that decade.  What do you think?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Trishia Jacobs on May 15, 2014 - 23:47

    I put my vote in for 1930s or ’40s. I think a pair of pants in this style would be lovely as well. It’s a great classic, whatever decade, and … you look fabulous, darling:)

    • #2 by tialys on May 19, 2014 - 08:12

      Thank you – I think you might be right with 30s or 40s.

  2. #3 by sew2pro on May 16, 2014 - 00:20

    They look great, quite glamorous and not boring as shorts tend to be. It’s great that your daughter is sewing!!

    I have thought about extending my Colette Iris shorts (which are also unusual and slightly flared in thigh) to long trousers but restrained myself…. As I’m quite big-hipped and not tall, I think ‘pants’ only suit me if very close fitting around the hips and dead straight in the leg. Hardest garment of all to pull off, trousers! Look forward to seeing if it works for you.

    • #4 by tialys on May 19, 2014 - 08:16

      I must say that I am also usually a fan of tighter, straighter trousers as it’s the only way to make it look as if I have a bottom – plus I’m not that tall either. Do you have a go to pattern for flattering trousers?

  3. #5 by katechiconi on May 16, 2014 - 07:07

    Very chic, lovely fabric, I should immediately go and make the Gatsbyish pants. I think the wide leg and turn-ups would look very good. You have a neat waist and can carry it off. Think Chanel, 1930s, teamed with a short navy jacket and striped top…

    • #6 by tialys on May 19, 2014 - 08:23

      I think I will make a short list of patterns I like so that ,when I finally get around to making my first pair of trousers, I might actually wear them.

      • #7 by katechiconi on May 19, 2014 - 08:25

        Oooh, I saw what you did there. I can’t resist a good pun…

  4. #8 by Colin on May 16, 2014 - 10:34

    I think whatever you make it all looks fab. Jan X

    • #9 by tialys on May 19, 2014 - 08:22

      You are too kind Jan! And, this time, I know it’s you.

  5. #10 by ooobop! on May 30, 2014 - 11:38

    Such neat work and great style. I love making shorts. Shouldn’t really be wearing them at my age but they are such a satisfying make from a metre of fabric, I can’t not!

  6. #11 by tialys on May 30, 2014 - 16:26

    Well, if you shouldn’t, I definitely shouldn’t. However, I do tend to confine myself to the privacy of home and garden when in shorts these day – plus the odd holiday location of course.

  7. #12 by Sidney on April 21, 2016 - 19:42

    These shorts look great on you. The wider leg is very flattering. I may have to make a pair, as you and I seem to have similar proportions.

    • #13 by tialys on April 22, 2016 - 09:19

      Thank you. I really must have a go at making the trousers one of these days – I still haven’t got round to it.

Leave a Reply

