Vintage Style Dress Quest

I really, really want to make a vintage style dress like this

heartmyclosetdress(photo and dress from Heart My Closet on Etsy)

This is an image from an Etsy shop called ‘Heart My Closet‘ .   I have already bought two dresses from her and they are excellent.  She makes them to fit – just send her your measurements – her prices are beyond reasonable –  the fabric she uses is gorgeous – she will line them on request for a small supplement and I am sure I will use her services again in the future.

heartmyclosetdressbackview

(photo and dress from Heart My Closet on Etsy)

I love that back detail.

It’s just that I would love to have a go at making a dress just like this.

So, my question is, does anybody know a vintage, retro or current pattern that I can get my hands on which is similar to this one without me having to make too many pattern changes as I like to be led gently but firmly by the hand when I’m sewing.

Just thought I’d ask .

Otherwise, I’m just going to have to buy this one!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on May 22, 2014 - 11:11

    Wow, that’s an amazing dress! I’m not just in love with the style but the colour.

    I have no vintage experience but I’d ‘google image’: sewing pattern bombshell vintage. It might be worth a similar trawl on pinterest.
    Good luck; if you find something, let me know as I may be tempted too!!

    • #2 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:20

      The colour is very different isn’t it? I’ll let you know if I find something. I know Julia Bobbin did a dress with a similar neckline but she had drafted that herself onto a bodice shape she liked and then changed the skirt shape too so I feel that would be too many changes for me as I’ve only done copied one pattern hack so far.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on May 22, 2014 - 11:12

    Buy that one! Just a suggestion, but once you have a dress you love that fits perfectly, you make a toile from it and then just adjust small details: slightly longer sleeves for older arms, a tiny bit more walking space in the skirt, a slightly different collar option, that sort of thing. And do it before you wear the dress, so that the construction hasn’t been slightly distorted by wear.

    • #4 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:21

      Good idea Kate. I must read up a bit about making toiles from a favourite item. I’ve got a linen summer dress that I keep buying in different colours and I’m sure I could make it easily enough.

  3. #5 by sew2pro on May 22, 2014 - 11:29

    Just figured out what it reminds me of: Kim Novak in Vertigo

    • #6 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:23

      Ooh yes! Did you, like me, sit and watch old black and white films with your mother when you were a child? It was usually when I was off sick from school.

  4. #7 by lovelucie1 on May 22, 2014 - 14:04

    Beautiful shape. I can see why you like it.

    • #8 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:25

      Totally impractical for my lifestyle. I love the neckline – back and front – but I suppose I ought to make it slightly less figure hugging as it might be a bit too much for rural France on market day.

      • #9 by lovelucie1 on May 22, 2014 - 21:46

        You’d certainly get those French men talking!

  5. #10 by atomiclulu on May 22, 2014 - 15:26

    http://www.burdastyle.com/ is a great place to search pattern reviews also http://sewing.patternreview.com/ there is a community there to point you in the right direction for the perfect pattern 🙂

    • #11 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:26

      Thank you for the tips – I have had a look around on Pinterest but can’t see exactly what I want. I’ll try those sites too.

  6. #12 by Jan Marriott on May 22, 2014 - 17:14

    Buy it……interesting shop with excellent prices.
    What dresses have you bought there? I have seen one I am considering.

    • #13 by tialys on May 22, 2014 - 20:28

      You shouldn’t encourage my spendthrift ways Jan, especially when I’ve got a wardrobe full of dresses and spend most of my time in jeans or shorts. Anyway, I’ll send you a convo with details.

Leave a Reply

