Floaty Stuff (or a Zinnia chiffon skirt)

Wrath of the Tartans (1)

I bought the Colette Zinnia skirt pattern when it very first came out – so early, in fact, that I was able to point out an error which they quickly remedied.  Like a fool, I decided to make the skirt in plaid and proceeded to make a complete pig’s breakfast of it with my pleats going all over the place (you can visit the final resting place above).

 At the same time, I had bought some fabric to make the chiffon version but, after my failure with the first one, left it lying pale and limp in a corner waiting for me to get my confidence back.

I read several tutorials about working with silk, chiffon and all things floaty and slippy and decided to go for it.

Colette Zinnia Chiffon Version

(This mannequin had obviously had a glass of wine or two.  Or was that me?)

The pleats were easier to do than I expected as I had the lining in place and that made the chiffon easier to handle.

Zinnia Chiffon SkirtI used tailors chalk to mark the pleats and you can still see it! I am hoping it will come out with the first wash.

I did a rolled hem on my overlocker – which was a first for me.

So, overall, I was quite chuffed

Colette Zinnia Chiffon Skirt

 I’m still not sure how I managed to ‘make it work’ in chiffon and not in plaid but there you go.  Sometimes you have those sorts of days where nothing goes right.

, ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on May 26, 2014 - 15:54

    Very pretty fabric and a very tidy rolled hem! Clearly you were pleased enough to kick up your heels!

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on May 26, 2014 - 23:39

    Always like silk chiffon…I like the way it feels and ‘errrr moves!

  3. #3 by ooobop! on May 30, 2014 - 11:33

    Wow! Beautiful work. And how brave of you. Such delicate fabric🙂

    • #4 by tialys on May 30, 2014 - 16:33

      Thank you. I’m so annoyed though as the chalk markings won’t come out. I must have touched them with the iron or something when pressing the pleats. Hopefully, nobody else will notice the little specks of orange.

  4. #5 by kimberly on June 19, 2014 - 22:10

    found your blog via a post on the little tailoress…love your blog, your sewing, your home, your life!!! will add your blog to my list of sewing blogs that make my not so good days good and my good days great! kimberly

    • #6 by tialys on June 20, 2014 - 11:10

      Thank you Kimberly – I hope I can contribute to some more good days for you.🙂

Leave a Reply

