It’s All Coming Back To Me

I’ve been a bit wrapped up in making clothes lately but now that I’ve started making a quilt I’ve remembered how much I love it – or at least the construction stage.  The swearing and the gnashing of teeth don’t usually start until the quilting stage.

Remember I’d decided to use a Moda jelly roll in French General’s ‘La Petite Ecole’ design ?  I just couldn’t wait to get those triangles cut but I didn’t have a 60 degree triangle ruler – the shop was shut (well, this is rural France) so I made a template.  I made it wrong 😦  So, I had to throw away the first set of triangles I’d cut with it as they were on the wonk  which meant three strips gone from the jelly roll.  So, I made another triangle template and, this time, I concentrated.  Plus, I had made it in strong template plastic so my rotary cutter went right up against it.

LaPetiteEcoleQuilt (3)

I couldn’t resist arranging them into the hexagons they will become.  Unfortunately, I’m not the greatest matcher upper of seams and points so this may be as accurate as it gets.

LaPetiteEcoleQuilt (1)

Aah, patchwork, how I’ve missed you.

LaPetiteEcoleQuilt (2)

I know, I know, I’m supposed to be concentrating on the Outfit Along and making a dress and knitting a cardigan.  Well, I’ve got up to here with the dress –

OAL Progress0206 (2)

and, as the view of Simplicity 1803 that I’m making has four buttons on the bodice, I decided to make some covered ones

OAL Progress0206 (1)

I’ve decided I might not be cut out for these sew alongs/knit alongs/outfit alongs.  I’m far too impatient.  The sewing blog is talking about choosing fabric today and I just want to get on with it – I think the actual sewing bit isn’t even going to start for another couple of weeks.  I like to find sew-alongs long after they’ve finished, when  I’ve done a search for a pattern I’m having problems with and can find the help retrospectively, if you know what I mean.  This ‘real time’ business might not work for me.  Still, I won’t say too much as I’ll probably still be knitting the cardigan long after everyone else has finished.  We will see.  At least it has made me make the dress I’ve been meaning to make for over a year now.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on June 2, 2014 - 22:42

    Your Petite Ecole hexagons are looking good! There are no quilt police here, you can include the wonky ones if you need them… It’s a lovely colour story and I’m looking forward to seeing progress. I’m with you on being impatient and wanted to get on with things – yet another reason why I don’t join quilt- or sew-alongs. Half the time I don’t want to do what they’re doing, and the other half I can’t wait for everyone else! I find the blogging community is enough encouragement, and at least they’re not surreptitiously comparing your work with theirs!

  2. #3 by sew2pro on June 2, 2014 - 23:08

    The covered buttons are perfect: it’s not often that such close ups meet my complete approval!!

    • #4 by tialys on June 2, 2014 - 23:18

      Just as well I put the little layer of wadding under the fabric so you can’t see the metal showing through then!

  3. #5 by Nathalie Delarge Dionis on June 3, 2014 - 08:25

    Lovely quilt to be ! 🙂

    • #6 by tialys on June 3, 2014 - 10:25

      Thank you. I hope I will be able to part with it when the time comes.

  4. #7 by lovelucie1 on June 6, 2014 - 13:49

    I’ve never made a quilt but would really love to. What would suggest as a first quilt?

    • #8 by tialys on June 6, 2014 - 16:49

      Are you sure you can fit a quilt in Lucie – what with everything else you do!

      Although I have been making quilts for a while, let me just say I am no expert but I have been happy with the somewhat less than ‘exhibition perfect’ quilts I have produced. I would say the easiest – for a first one – might be rectangles. You can stagger them like building bricks and not have to worry about matching points etc. The three vital pieces of equipment you need are a self healing cutting mat, a rotary cutter and a large plastic quilting ruler both for measuring and running the rotary cutter along. However, if you just wanted to see whether it’s for you or not, before investing in yet more equipment, you could buy pre-cut fabric like a charm pack (42 x 5 inch squares) or a jelly roll ( 2.5 inch strips across the width of the fabric). These seem a bit expensive but, when you consider you don’t have to do all the initial cutting and you have a selection of lovely fabrics from the same range so you don’t have to worry about coordinating it yourself or buying lots of yardage, it’s not that bad. Personally, I quite like these simple quilts as it allows you to appreciate the fabric more but, of course, there are all sorts of designs you can do once you get into it. When I went to Liberty earlier this year, I bought a pack of strips of fabric – ready cut and in toning colours – which I intend to piece simply to let the fabric speak for itself (when I get round to it that is!).
      That’s my favourite bit – then you have to quilt it. If it’s not too big, I’d use my regular sewing maching, but it is lovely to do some hand quilting and I don’t worry if my stitches are big – as long as they are even (!) I think this also looks good. I think I remember that you’ve done some free motion embroidery in the past so you might feel you could do some free motion quilting but I’ve never got along with that unfortunately as it does look good when done properly.

      I hope you give it a try but, be warned, your fabric stash will increase dramatically and it is quite addictive.

Leave a Reply

