Decisions Decisions

I have finished piecing the hexagons for the quilt I’m making for a friend.

Hexagons Quilt Top

If you are from the Quilt Police, please do not contact me.  I know there are one or two intersections that are not perfectly matched but, overall, I think my care with cutting and my 1/4 inch machine foot served me well.

Now I have to decide whether to use this cream cotton as a border

quilt border cream

or this mushroomy grey cotton – both have a slight sheen

quilt border grey

or something different altogether.  What do you think?

This will be the back

La Petite Ecole - French General - Moda

At the moment I am veering towards the cream as I think it lifts it and brings out the lighter colours – plus I have more of it – but I do like the mushroom also – help!!

In other riveting news, I continued my tradition – well, I’ve done it once before – of finding a gorgeous vintage mannequin on the day of my birthday.  Like Winnie the Pooh, she’s losing a little stuffing but she is of impeccable pedigree, being a Stockman with original stand and key and just look at that waist.  I think it is very old as the size says ’42’ which would be a U.K. size 14 nowadays (U.S. size 10 I think).  Perhaps a corset was expected – the bust looks a bit pushed together Nell Gwyn style.   I am chuffed but, for some reason, Mr. Tialys is not amused.

Antique Stockman Mannequin

Off for a birthday meal in a couple of hours.  We are going to have dinner in a beautiful and ancient old abbey where the view are gorgeous and so is the food.  Salut!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on June 15, 2014 - 16:48

    Many happy Returns, I plump for the mushroom border, but it really is difficult to tell. How many mannis do you have?

  2. #2 by tialys on June 15, 2014 - 17:43

    Well, as we speak I have one in a coffin sized box ready to be shipped to its new home – in Canada funnily enough – and the other 7 (Lordy!) are staying with me for the moment.

  3. #3 by katechiconi on June 15, 2014 - 22:01

    Bonne Anniversaire! I think you’ve done a top job with the quilt, and the Quilt Police can pursue enquiries elsewhere. Personally, I’d recommend the grey binding; a light coloured one picks up the dirt and shows it off like you wouldn’t believe. I also prefer the framing effect of the darker colour, but that’s just my opinion. Madame Stockman looks as if she’s from the Edwardian period of the ‘S’ silhouette!

    • #4 by tialys on June 16, 2014 - 08:57

      Thanks Kate. I did find a site once where the different body shapes used for mannequins was discussed but I can’t find it anywhere now I’m looking for it again. I’ve got wasp waists, which I know are earlier, and now you speak of the ‘S’ silhouette which is a better (and more accurate) description than the Nell Gwynnish one I used above. I must try to find that site again.

  4. #5 by sew2pro on June 16, 2014 - 08:52

    Ooh, what a birthday scoop! Hope you had a fab day.

    The mannequin is charming and her stuffing looks like a sweet little collar.

    p.s. I too prefer the grey

    • #6 by tialys on June 16, 2014 - 09:00

      Thank you!
      She does look like she has a little fluffy ruff collar doesn’t she?
      I think I also prefer the mushroom colour – I was momentarily swayed by one of my Madamoiselles but my instinct is to go with my first choice.

Leave a Reply

