Waiting for the Wadding

After asking you for help making a decision with the border fabric, I decided to go with my first instinct and use the mushroomy grey colour.  So, if you thought ‘cream’,  you didn’t say so and, unlike my daughter who is miffed that I ignored her, you can’t complain 😉

quiltprogress2 (2)

I think it was the best choice.  Please excuse the teddies – they are from a more hormonal time in my life and now share my workroom with me (banned, as they are, from any other room of the house).

I do like to compromise however and, when I realised I didn’t have quite enough of the backing fabric, ended up using the cream to bring it up to size  – so everybody’s happy.

French General Quilt Progress

I must try harder to get that fold out of the middle of the backing fabric.  It doesn’t look that obvious in real life.  Perhaps it will disappear into the quilting.

It is fiendishly difficult (and hideously expensive) to get good quilt batting in France and I’ve had to order it from an obliging seller in the U.K.

So now I’m just waiting for the wadding.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on June 16, 2014 - 20:56

    I’m sure the crease will quilt out, that did not take you too long. Elegant colours.

    • #2 by tialys on June 19, 2014 - 09:39

      The piecing is always my favourite bit and then I get hung up on the ‘putting the layers together’ and the quilting.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on June 16, 2014 - 22:17

    Glad you went with the grey. Much nicer – but also good that the cream wasn’t wasted. About the crease. Put the back on the ironing board with the crease running down the centre. Spray with water and leave it for a minute or so, smoothing the fabric away from the crease on either side and letting the weight of the fabric pull on it. Press with a hot iron on full steam, just putting the iron down and then picking it up and moving it rather than sliding it along. I generally find that gets rid of really stubborn creases. And if all else fails, wash the quilt when you’ve finished it, and that’ll take care of it.

    • #4 by tialys on June 19, 2014 - 09:38

      Thanks for the advice Kate.

  3. #5 by lovelucie1 on June 19, 2014 - 14:15

    Love it. After the wedding …………..

  4. #6 by Carly on June 23, 2014 - 11:39

    Lovely quilt! I’ve finished my first quilt ever today and can’t wait to take photos of it. My piecing is far from perfect but I love the colors and I don’t care! Can’t wait to see your finished!

    • #7 by tialys on June 23, 2014 - 11:50

      I think your attitude is the right one to have. There are some people who are able to execute perfectly pieced and quilted pieces and that is something we can aspire to but it certainly doesn’t mean we can’t love our own ‘less than perfect’ quilts just as much. I look forward to seeing it – I’m following you so I’ll get an email when you’ve posted your pics. I’m still ‘waiting for the wadding’ but I’m expecting it to arrive any day now.

Leave a Reply

