Sugar Plum Flo and Other Dogs

We have masses and masses of plums on our trees at the moment and two of my dogs spend hours foraging for them, eating them and leaving me to clean up after them which, after a diet rich in fruit, is quite time consuming as you can imagine.   Why can’t I have a dog that hunts for truffles making lots of money for me in the process?

Dog Searching for PlumsNote the lushness of the grass in August – normally it is brown and dead – an indication of how pants the weather has been this summer.   I think we might have to move somewhere with a better climate like the U.K.  ;)

Dog Eating PlumsTwo plums spotted.  Note the gleam in her eye.

Talking of Flo, I have mentioned before that we got her from the dog rescue at Carcassonne or the S.P.A.  My friend Karen hosts what has become an annual event at her home whereby people buy a ticket, come and eat some good food, buy drinks for a euro, fork out for some raffle tickets (hopefully) then strut their stuff at the ‘disco’ afterwards  and in the process we raise money for the dogs and cats in the kennels.

S.P.A. Carcassonne Fund RaiserSomebody made this cake and bought it along.  I’m not sure what sort of dog that is but it’s chocolate which is all you really need to know.

S.P.A. Fundraiser July 2014Lovely company, beautiful French scenery (the sunflowers were in full bloom in the local fields, thank you Monsieur Farmer) and, after some rumbles of thunder, it was a beautiful evening.

S.P.A. DogsLots of photographs of dogs available for adoption to make people go ‘aaaah’ and, hopefully adopt or volunteer to sponsor or go and walk the dogs from time to time.

Thanks to everybody’s generosity we made over 1500 euros for the S.P.A.. which should pay for some food, flea collars and veterinary care.

I did my bit too.  I made a non-alcoholic punch for the drivers (like me)  and teetotallers (not like me) , called a ‘Luscious Slush Punch’  because you freeze part of it and then add lemonade when you’re ready, resulting in a chilled,  slushy, fruity punch drink.  However, in my mad rush to get there on time, I  mistakenly grabbed a tub of chicken stock from the freezer instead of one of the three  frozen punch mixtures I had prepared in advance.  Luckily, Mr. T. was one of the barmen and, after looking at the suspicious colour,  realised what had happened and refrained from serving it to anybody.  The resident dogs were pleased with it.  At least it made people laugh although they might not have done if it had got as far as their glass.

Here’s where to find the recipe should you wish to make the fruit version.  It’s American but I substituted jelly powder for the jello – when I wasn’t substituting chicken stock that is – and it seemed to work fine. ( Tip:  Do not add as much sugar as the recipe calls for – at least halve it!!)

I was going to do a bit of a knitting update but that might be a bit too much info in one post so I’ll do that tomorrow instead.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on August 17, 2014 - 16:36

    I love your Flo, she’s such a pretty girl… Shame about the punch, but if it had been beef stock, a quick slug of vodka would have turned it into a Bullshot. Possibly a little too robust for the nature of the occasion!

    • #2 by tialys on August 17, 2014 - 20:37

      I hope you don’t mind me saying – but that sounds truly disgusting. Mine’s a vodka and orange please.

      • #3 by katechiconi on August 17, 2014 - 23:44

        I agree, but it used to be a gentleman’s solution to the morning after!

  2. #4 by Jan Marriott on August 17, 2014 - 21:02

    I had no idea that dos ate plums, ot any other fruit.
    weather is pretty bad here too….I am sick of my sister in Kent banging on about her tan/raspberries/roses/days at the beach.

    • #5 by tialys on August 18, 2014 - 19:49

      Well mine do. One of them loves carrots. Two, with more expensive tastes adore figs. Our old golden retriever used to wander through the raspberry canes and eat the fallen ones and all the ones she could reach on the canes. I don’t think it’s all dogs though. When I tried to give my mum’s dog a carrot he looked at me as if I’d lost my senses and then spat it out.
      All you need when you’re having bad weather is family members telling you how good it is where they are. Take heart, I was in the U.K. last week and they are generous in what they label a ‘heatwave’. You can’t really begrudge them though, us Brits are pleased to see a bit of sun when it comes out.

  3. #6 by lovelucie1 on August 18, 2014 - 14:01

    The weather has well and truely changed here in Yorkshire. Fleecy dressing gown on this morning for my trip downstairs to feed the cat and whizz up some juices.
    Your chicken stock story did make me laugh! Perfect doggy cocktails!

    • #7 by tialys on August 18, 2014 - 19:50

      I love the autumn though – if it’s a good one. Nice, sunny days, not too hot and a little nip in the air in the evenings – enough to warrant a cardi and a pair of cosy slippers.

Leave a Reply

