Refashioning, A Mini Knit and the Obligatory Baby Photo

Do you remember the knitted jacket I made recently which had the huge sailor collar or perhaps you shuddered and wiped it from your memory.  Here it is again for your delight.

Sailor Collar Jacket (1)It hasn’t moved off the mannequin since and not only because it is summer in the south of France and therefore too hot for a knitted garment of any sort even though this summer has not been up to much.  I knew, as soon as I sewed that collar on, I would never wear it.  Not even in the house which is where most of the things I knit get worn.  So, I needed my mannequin back and, even though that damn collar took me ages to knit in it’s blasted seed stitch or whatever it was, I decided if  it were to get any wear at all, it’d have to come off.  So it did.  Then I just picked up the stitches and knit a band to match the cuffs and waistband.

Sirdar Crofter DK Cardigan Rehas

Better?  I think so.  I might even wear it up the hill to walk the dogs when the mornings get a bit nippier.

As I mentioned before, I do love knitting but rarely wear anything I knit so perhaps I should stick to miniature things in the form of baby clothes.  Not necessarily easier but certainly quicker and cuter.

Baby Jacket Drops Big Delight

Here it is on my creepy baby mannequin – although I have spared you and removed the head and replaced it with a finial from my slightly less creepy toddler mannequin.

Knitted Baby Jacket

My eldest turned 21 last week.  I am certainly old enough to have a 21 year old but it still came as a bit of a shock  that so many years can go by so quickly and a tiny baby can become a full grown woman in the time it seems to have taken me to learn how to conjugate a few French verbs, put an invisible zip in and finish reading The Lord of the Rings.   So it was inevitable  that  I would trot out those same old lines that everybody does

 ‘where did the time go?’

 ‘I remember your first pair of shoes’

‘you were such a good baby’

‘why don’t you call home more often’

etc. etc.

Anyway, the fact remains that Mlle. Tialys the Elder is now 21 and has the key of the door and everything else that she probably got when she turned 18 but, no matter.    So, for the obligatory baby photo, here is one where she looks so happy I could cry.

Baby Mlle. Tialys

As you can see, I was no slave to dressing only boys in blue which, considering she didn’t have much hair until she was around two years old, might have led to some confusion.  Her hilarity was because, or in spite of the fact, that our big german shepherd cross used to barge through the doorway as if  there was not a baby hanging there in a bouncer,  which would set off a new bout of  bobbing up and down and swinging about.

Aaaaah, where did that time go?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on August 18, 2014 - 20:39

    You are getting quite nifty at unpicking and re-doing. Wait till your granddaughter is 19 and living in Paris THEN you will wonder where the time went.

    • #2 by tialys on August 19, 2014 - 13:52

      I started on the motherhood business a little later than was popular at the time, though very common now, so I may never get to have a grandaughter of 19 but, if I do, I hope I’m as able and willing as you to travel around and visit, especially if she’s in Paris!

      As for being nifty at unpicking and re-doing – I can only say ‘needs must’.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on August 18, 2014 - 22:54

    I didn’t hate that cardigan quite as much as you did, but I can see that it’s a bit more wearable like this. Certainly it deserves more than dog walking, surely? The baby cardigan is extremely cute, and I’d quite like one my own size, but that’s never going to happen in this house. Congratulations on achieving a 21 year old who appears to be independent – I think a lot of parents are having trouble with children who fail to launch and hang around for years eating them out of house and home and generally being a large pain.

    • #4 by tialys on August 19, 2014 - 13:58

      Well, that remains to be seen Kate. She is at Uni at the moment and will need to get a job afterward if she wants to stay in the U.K. but the incentive is high. The trick is to move to a rural backwater in another country with very little social life or excitement during the formative years, give her a taste of the nightlife and social scene at University and then know that she will move heaven and hell not to have to move back home permanently.

      Actually, that little jacket would look quite good sized up wouldn’t it. I have just realised though that the felt flower won’t be able to go in the wash – duh! I might have to rethink it.

      • #5 by katechiconi on August 19, 2014 - 14:03

        The felt flower may be OK so long as you used a cold and gentle wash for the cardigan. It’s hot water and bashing about that damages felt. Sounds as if you have the offspring strategy well under control…

  3. #6 by lovelucie1 on August 19, 2014 - 13:23

    The cardi is now definitely better than for dog walking! You are too harsh on your knits but then we are very good at criticising our own stuff.

    • #7 by tialys on August 19, 2014 - 14:02

      We are – maybe it’s because we subconsciously want to get in before anyone else says something. I am much more fussy about the stuff I make than the stuff I buy in shops. I am, as I type, wearing a sloppy, off the shoulder style t-shirt that I bought in New Look which has a lovely bird print on it but, on closer inspection, the birds are upside down. If I’d made it I would have been upset and considered it a fail but they actually had it for sale and, even more ridiculous, I actually bought it. Another indoor item!

      • #8 by lovelucie1 on August 19, 2014 - 15:49

        Surely they are just flying south?
        I picked up a lovely navy and white stripy heavy knit dress from Asda (you’d never know!) the other day. I went through them all to find the best stripe match. I would never have done that before.

  4. #9 by Zoe on August 21, 2014 - 20:47

    Aww, that little baba cardi is sooo sweet. Your little (big) girl was a totally adorable baby xx

  5. #10 by tialys on August 21, 2014 - 22:17

    Thanks Zoe – she’ll kill me if she knows I put that photo on here. Although it could have been sooo much worse😉

Leave a Reply

