Taking Liberties with Coco

Liberty Coco Dress

Yes, it’s another Coco dress .  Sorry to be boring but these have no buttons, no zips, many variations, are comfortable and quick and fun to make so how can it be wrong?

This time I used some Liberty of London jersey that I had bought to make a little girl’s dress but was tempted by the way it went with the black ponte roma jersey and made an executive decision.

Liberty CoCo Dress (2)

I changed the original pattern just slightly for this version by cutting the sleeves a little slimmer and the neck a little scoopier (new word) and actually traced the relevant bits of the Lady Skater Dress pattern to make those alterations.  Because I used my overlocker to sew the side seams, they were 3/8 inch instead of the  5/8 inch allowed in the pattern so, as it was a little spacious, I just overlocked the seams again,  with that clever machine just cutting off the excess as it went.

Liberty CoCo  Dress(3)

I used the twin needle to finish round the neck, the sleeves and the hem and, the only problem with colour blocking these dresses, this involved numerous changes of bobbins, two reels of thread, etc.  I did however, find it all too much of a chore to change the overlocker threads so I’m afraid, should you peek inside, you will only see dark grey.  Ask me if I care.

Liberty CoCo Dress (4)

I lengthened the hem by 3 inches as usual because the creator of this dress pattern  – Tilly and the Buttons – is about 100 years younger than me and can still reveal her knees with impunity.

This is now my 5th Coco dress.  I only count it as my 3rd however as one was made for  Mlle. Tialys the Younger and another was stolen  appropriated by the Mlle. T. the Elder.    I made this with 3/4 length sleeves as the summer – such as it was –  is drawing to a close and it might get a bit nippier soon.

I also have a Deer and Doe Reglisse dress on a hanger – just waiting for some elastic and some bias binding to finish it off but the only available shop was closed yesterday and today so I couldn’t finish it on time to post about it.

I don’t know how many more Cocos I will make – I really like the funnel neck one I did and will probably make another for this autumn/winter but I will soon run out of titles which play on the ‘Coco’ theme and that might be the time to stop or at least stop blogging about them.

Sorry for the uncharacteristic ‘photos of me’ heavy post – I was going to put the dress on a mannequin but I tried it on, saw the camera, hung it round my daughter’s neck and ‘voila’.  I was just in that sort of mood today.

LIberty Coco Dress Tialys

Even though it looks like I have my very own sword of Damocles dangling over my head it is, in fact, only a wind chime.

(must re-press that hem)

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on August 31, 2014 - 18:45

    You are getting clever with all the pattern alterations.
    I say, make Coco until you no longer have any ideas and are bored of it.

  2. #2 by tialys on August 31, 2014 - 21:35

    Well, I rather fancied attending a workshop taking place in the U.K. which teaches you how to take a favourite garment and copy it. I do this already but I’m pretty sure that there are better ways of doing it than the random methods I use. I thought I might combine it with a visit to my Mum but, alas, it was no sooner advertised than full!

  3. #3 by katechiconi on August 31, 2014 - 23:47

    This one’s my favourite so far. I can’t see anything wrong with a live model for clothes, and it is, after all, your blog! If I wasn’t about to pack the overlocker, I’d be tempted to haul it out and make something after this bit of inspiration, but I have to bite the bullet and fill more boxes.

  4. #4 by tialys on September 3, 2014 - 20:26

    Thanks Kate – I will definitely get some wear out of this. As for the live model, It’s just that I really hate having my photograph taken and it shows so I’ve started to try not to care and they seem to be coming out better.

Leave a Reply

