Suddenly, There’s a Nip in the Air

I know I haven’t told all yet about the big braderie I went to in Lille a couple of weeks ago but, since then, my Mum has come to visit plus Mlle. Tialys the elder came back for a weekend of home comforts before starting a year’s internship so I’ve been a bit busy but, suffice it to say, it was big, it was expensive, it was crowded, it was an experience.  I will elaborate soon when I’ve worked out how to get the photos off my phone – I could’t spare the luggage space for my proper camera and I don’t usually use my phone to take pictures.

Here’s one thing I bought.

Jockey Publicity (3)

Don’t ask me why – it just appealed.

What I have been doing though is companionably knitting with my mother and making some infinity scarves or cowls or whatever they are called at the moment, for my shop.  Mlle. Tialys the elder is usually a good model but she moaned a bit this time  – and it showed in her expression – so I used a vintage mannequin too.  These scarves appeal to the patchworker in me as I like coordinating the fabrics which can then be reversed and mixed to good effect as you puff up and arrange the scarf to your liking.

Cowl Infinity Scarf Hearts & Skulls

This one is almost a duplicate of one I’ve made for my resident goth (aka Mlle. Tialys the Younger)

CowlShadesofGreen (2)

A mélange of greens

CowlShadesofgreenModel

which you can reverse to this combination.

CowlShadesofPurpleModel (2)

Ooer! Looks like she’s thinking about those early mornings and getting on the London Underground in rush hour.

Back to the mannequin….

CowlShadesofPurple (2)

The title is to do with nothing much really except I’ve started making scarves and it’s autumn and there actually is ‘a bit of a nip in the air’ – suddenly.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on September 28, 2014 - 21:28

    Oh dear, I am not getting the photos. It may be my computer, or/and the fact that Sunday afternoon is notoriously slow . I’ll try again later. I wonder what you bought??

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on September 28, 2014 - 21:30

    Yikes….now I have them, much larger than usual. How big is your jockey?

    • #3 by tialys on September 29, 2014 - 08:05

      He isn’t that big Jan – the glass measures around 25 x 16 cm. It’s a bit dirty on the back but I’m scared to clean it as I don’t know what they use to transfer the image on to the glass and I don’t want to do any more damage to it. I’m trying to think what date it would be – I’m thinking late 50s, early 60s – I wasn’t yet looking at men in pants then!!

  3. #4 by katechiconi on September 28, 2014 - 21:43

    They’re fun. I wish the climate here was amenable to wearing one, but I’d be ripping it off 2 minutes after putting it on. Personally, I like the Goth one – it’s the skulls and roses fabric!

    • #5 by tialys on September 29, 2014 - 08:01

      Yes, I like that one too. I sent my eldest back to the U.K. with one made from fabric featuring VW Camper vans, as you do. Does it not get cold at all in Australia – I remember another of my blogging friends over there posting a photo showing a very light dusting of snow last year although the fact it was blog post worthy seemed to indicate it’s a rarity.

      • #6 by katechiconi on September 29, 2014 - 08:57

        Lots of bits of Australia do get snow: Tasmania, lots of Victoria, the mountains, and some parts of the interior. There’s actually some quite good skiing to be had. But here we’re above the Tropic of Capricorn, and on the coast. Snow will not happen…

  4. #7 by itmustbetuesday on September 29, 2014 - 12:24

    Love those infinity scarves! I wear one almost every day up here in Belgium. We also visited the brocante in Lille and your description is perfect. Big, crowded and expensive. Still, so much pretty to look at!

    • #8 by tialys on September 29, 2014 - 16:21

      Thank you! Yes, even though it was expensive, I did see lots of things I could have hauled back down South with me if the baggage allowance was more generous! As it was, we gave Security at the airport some interesting things to look at as the bags were passing through the scanner.

  5. #9 by Lisa on October 2, 2014 - 21:46

    Beautiful scarves! I like the green one best.

Leave a Reply

