Dressing Up Dogs for Money

 

Hot on the heels of pole dancing cats here’s another title to tempt you into reading but, this time, it’s for a good cause so I’ll let the dogs do the talking.

Hello! Flo here again, that’s me on the right, occasional guest blogger here.

Rescue Dogs

 You may know that, before I was living in the lap of luxury and spoilt to death, I was found wandering on the streets and taken to a dog shelter where the Missus and her family came to find me last New Year’s Day.  That’s Stan on the left and he didn’t get as far as a dog shelter because the Missus found him running in traffic and rescued him herself after the registered owner (he was microchipped) didn’t care to have him back.  Taz is our other brother and it was a similar story with him.  Anyway, the Missus says she can’t possibly adopt  any more animals or she will go crazy and, although I can’t begin to understand why that would be, I know she likes to help raise funds for the S.P.A. (Société Protéctrice des Animaux) in Carcassonne, France and she does this with a group called Dog Rescue Carcassonne.  You can read about some of the work they do here.  Just think, my picture was on there once but I was called Froggy then as they thought the way I sat with my back legs sticking out made me look like a frog.  As if!

The Missus likes to sew and she thought she would make some bandanas for stylish dogs, like myself, to wear when we are out to impress.  Stan is wearing a rather fetching red one above but, as you can see, I am naked because, although I am the most beautiful of the Missus’ dogs,  I can’t  possibly stay still long enough to be photographed properly.

Flo in Bandana

See!

So, even though Stan isn’t as gorgeous as me, he will do anything for a tennis ball and, if one is held aloft, he will sit and stare at it forever in the hope that it will eventually be thrown for him.  This is what makes him a good model

Dog Bandana

 These fit the sort of collars that our  size of dogs wear but the Missus says she will even make them for ‘handbag dogs’ whatever that means.

Marvel Comics Dog Bandana

Then she says she will give the profits to the Dog Rescue Carcassonne to help other dogs find homes and also so that the dogs can be sterilized in order to prevent more unwanted dogs being abandoned and  ending up playing with the traffic.

Aztec bandana for dogs

 I must say that Stan looks almost handsome and he can’t lose his bandana because his collar threads right through it and, if he rolls in fox poo or goes swimming in the river, the Missus can just wash it in the machine.

Dalmatian Dog Bandana

That is Stan laughing at the suggestion he might roll in fox poo but I know it’s true because I’ve seen him do it .

Dog Bandanas for Dog Rescue

 I quite fancy that cute one with the deer and owl and kitten so I hope one of those is for me.  I don’t know who that is in the photo – perhaps it’s one of those handbag dogs.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on November 7, 2014 - 18:50

    nice to see you are enjoying your dogs…..are you going to sell those special bandanna on etsy?

    • #2 by tialys on November 8, 2014 - 10:06

      I am Jan. I’ve linked the photos to my shop. I’ve just sold my first one to a coach station in the U.K.🙂

  2. #3 by Trishia Jacobs on November 7, 2014 - 19:36

    My kids still tease me about the time I almost ran over an old lady and her dachshund in Carcasonne. … LUV your guest blogger and think it’s great that you are doing this to help raise funds for their SPA.

    • #4 by tialys on November 8, 2014 - 10:03

      That would be it Trishia! Somebody just adopts a dog from the shelter and somebody comes and runs them over😦
      I can’t take any more animals on myself – I’ve got 3 dogs and 4 cats (plus some chickens) – so I try to help in other small ways.

  3. #5 by katechiconi on November 7, 2014 - 22:51

    Flo, a lovely bandanna will make you look so chic, you must hold still long enough to put one on.

    • #6 by tialys on November 8, 2014 - 09:59

      Thank you Kate, she is a wriggly, squiggly dog – an absolute nightmare at the vets.

  4. #7 by sew2pro on November 8, 2014 - 00:56

    I’d like to place an order please! Extra small for a friend’s Dachshie!

    P.S. Stan is very handsome!

    • #8 by tialys on November 8, 2014 - 09:58

      That’s so nice of you Marianna. I’ll reply to your email.

  5. #9 by Jodie on November 8, 2014 - 05:03

    Hahaha great post ! Your dogs are super stylish.

    • #10 by tialys on November 8, 2014 - 09:57

      Thanks Jodie. My dogs wear one when we go ‘visiting’. It usually makes people smile.

  6. #11 by sew2pro on November 20, 2014 - 15:55

    Received my Kaboom Bandana ( well, it’s not really mine but… )!

    It’s very cute and so sweetly packaged that I don’t want to spoil the gift by opening the cellophane. Which means I can’t closely inspect your stitching🙂 but it looks perfect!!

  7. #12 by Wendy Searle on December 3, 2014 - 01:15

    Hey the coach station was me! Yogi loved hers so much I had to get one for her friend Franky and Dalmatian Lilly, thank you so much they look great, and the little stickers and lovely card were much appreciated I hope you make bags of cash for the doggies.

    • #13 by tialys on December 3, 2014 - 08:30

      Thanks so much Wendy – I’m so pleased you like them. There is a Christmas fair this weekend and the Dog Rescue has taken a stall so I will be supplying them with some bandanas to sell there. Last year I adopted another dog from them during the holiday period but I have three now so I had to think of another way to help!!
      p.s. If you get any photos of your dog and her friends wearing them, I’d love to see them. Just say and I’ll send you my email address.

Leave a Reply

