My Second Sock Selfie and Another Disturbing Image

Off to the U.K. for visiting, theatre going, shopping, art gallery viewing, fish and chip eating and general catching up and seeing what I’ve been missing (if anything).  I won’t dwell on a dentist appointment I’ve booked myself in for as it can’t all be fun I suppose.

I couldn’t go without showing you these.

TwoatatimeToeupSocks (2)Yes, these are the bottoms of my legs but what I’m really showing you are the temporarily abandoned but finally finished two at a time, toe up socks.  I am so in love with them that I never want to wear them.

Do you know what I mean when I say that?  If I don’t put them away somewhere safe they might get spoiled/dirty/lost/eaten by a dog.  Please say I’m not the only one.

Anyway, here’s another view where I didn’t have to put my legs up in the air whilst holding a camera at a funny angle, as you do.

TwoatatimeToeupSocks1

Just in case you are wondering, I am not a master of intarsia knitting, this is the way the wool knits up.  It’s like magic!  I’m so chuffed they match although I did have some input into that.

Now that I have finished these, I can cast on for another project free of guilt.

I have been making dog bandanas like a crazy woman for the fund raising efforts of my local Dog Rescue group as mentioned in my last post and I have turned to festive fabric as one does at this time of year, such as these.

Festive Dog Bandanas

Whilst the trusty Stan was modelling for pet accessories in the hope that I would throw a ball for him at the end of it, I happened to get a disturbing photograph of him which revealed he has a much longer tongue than I gave him credit for.  It is a rubbish photograph of the bandana but I include it here for your edification.

Dogs Long Tongue

I’ll be back in a week or so having hopefully replenished my wardrobe, fabric stash, cholesterol count and cultural education.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on November 13, 2014 - 19:53

    Impressive…..I never did get the hang of knitting socks ( or gloves) even with that computer dyed wool.

    • #2 by tialys on November 13, 2014 - 21:05

      I didn’t realise a computer was involved but, now that I think about it, I suppose it had to be.

  2. #3 by Thimberlina on November 13, 2014 - 20:01

    Love the Socks, I’ve yet to try knitting them yet, but after mastering-ish crochet this year I think I need to learn how to make socks next.
    Hope you have a fab trip, it’s a bit chilly over here so you’ll need your woolly socks on – they’re too nice to hiding in a drawer. 😀

    • #4 by tialys on November 13, 2014 - 21:04

      These are only my second pair. I used the tutorial on Heidi Bears blog and also several other tutorials involving knitting using the magic loop, casting off with Jenny’s (I think it’s Jenny) Surprisingly Stretchy Cast Off and other marvels available on the internet. It was never boring!!

  3. #5 by Trishia Jacobs on November 13, 2014 - 20:05

    LUV those socks!!:) And could you please ask Stan his secret for such a lovely pink tongue. I use a tongue scraper and mine still isn’t that pretty.

    • #6 by tialys on November 13, 2014 - 21:01

      Life’s just not fair is it?

  4. #7 by katechiconi on November 13, 2014 - 22:37

    Thank you for that slightly disturbing photo, which made me laugh till I cried and set me up a treat for my day in the kitchen! And those socks are much too nice to bury in a drawer, they need to be swankily displayed!

    • #8 by tialys on November 14, 2014 - 11:01

      My pleasure Kate!

  5. #9 by Carole Mayne on November 14, 2014 - 00:27

    My mom knit me two pair of socks exactly like these… I LOVE and wear them all winter (such as it is in So California!) . (-:

    • #10 by tialys on November 14, 2014 - 11:00

      Lucky you Carole. I won’t be able to bear to part with mine so I’m scared to show them to my daughters.

Leave a Reply

