Bird Calls

 I love the winter days when the sky is blue, the air is crisp and you can see snow but it’s not right on your doorstep.

Pyrenees in January

   The skiers are complaining as there’s not enough snow but that’s fine by me.  I find skiing too much of a faff – far too much equipment to grapple with, too many clothes to get on and off, the roads are slippy and dangerous leading up to the slopes and it’s too cold for my liking.  Those mountain tops are a half hour’s drive away and I’m satisfied with just looking.  I wish the French would bury their wires though😦  I could have got a view without the wires from higher up in my garden but I was in my bedroom, the camera was to hand and, anyway, this is the reality.

Still, with all that on my doorstep, I do get homesick from time to time so I have inflicted this reminder on the local wildlife.

British Telephone Box for Birds

It was a toss up between this one and Dr. Who’s Tardis.  Maybe I should have gone for that as it would probably have been bigger on the inside😉

Can anyone explain why the birds are leaving those fat balls alone in favour of the sunflower seeds yet, at other times, it seems to be the other way round?   We get blue tits, nuthatches, robins, coal tits and finches mostly.  If it’s very cold the occasional blackbird and dove fly up on to the balcony.   Unsurprisingly, we get lots of sunflowers springing up under the balcony in the summer.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 14, 2015 - 09:27

    I’m glad there’s someone else being sensible about ski-ing. Besides, it scares me silly! But it is nice to watch Ski Sunday from an armchair in the warm.

  2. #2 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 14, 2015 - 09:29

    PS I’ve given up on the burying wires campaign – last year saw the opening of a much protested about double line of huge pylons taking HT cable from le Hague through our entire departement and on Southwards. We get the ugliness but not the power!

    • #3 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 11:04

      Oh no, that’s terrible. At least my ugly wires provide me with my internet and electricity.

  3. #4 by Ami on January 14, 2015 - 09:54

    You know I’ve always wondered whether I would like skiing because I love the snow and that feeling of being all warm but with cold cheeks but the idea of all the ‘faff’ you described has always put me off a bit, that and the high probability of broken bones!
    You have the perfect balance from your window!
    Love the phone box birdfeeder!! :)) how odd about the varied uptake!

    • #5 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 11:03

      I think, if you are really into skiing, the faff becomes unimportant. However, if you are only mildly into it, trying to get out of ski gear in the public loos where the floor is awash with melted snow (hopefully that’s what it is!) was the final straw with my attempts. Previous attempts were blighted by being stuck on the nursery slopes for hours with my youngest daughter while my husband and other daughter took themselves off for a proper ski and nail biting, skiddy drives up the icy roads after stopping halfway up to grapple with putting snow chains on the tyres. However, on a sunny day, when the queues for the chair lifts aren’t too busy, it is a great feeling – rosy cheeks guaranteed!

  4. #6 by Lynne @ boutschoisis on January 14, 2015 - 09:58

    Hmmm – the mystery about which foods the birds fancy! In Normandy the peanuts don’t get eaten – the birds wolfed them down in the UK! The goldfinches here get through masses of nyger seed – we are refilling the feeder on an almost daily basis! I think I’ll add that telephone box to my ideas list for Xmas presents 2015 – an early start! Happy New Year! Lynne.

    • #7 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 10:55

      Make sure you hint heavily. I sent the link to all interested parties when they asked me what I wanted for Christmas 2013 and it never materialised. Then, on a visit to the U.K. in October, I was out shopping in Brighton with my daughter and we saw it and I nearly bought one but thought I’d hint again and see what would happen. I’ve come to the conclusion that subtle hints don’t work with my family as I thought I would be getting a Kindle from my husband at Christmas, having mentioned I’d like one back in the summer, but he had forgotten😦

  5. #8 by katechiconi on January 14, 2015 - 10:00

    Love your view, absolutely splendid, and as you say, the snow is far enough away to enjoy without the inconvenience!

    • #9 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 10:50

      There isn’t as much snow as usual by any means. The weather is so mild at the moment that, what there was, is melting fast. I think it must be because I put on my winter tyres – just like I wash the car if I want it to rain.

      • #10 by katechiconi on January 14, 2015 - 11:15

        Or carrying an umbrella, or hanging out the laundry….

  6. #11 by Lynne @ boutschoisis on January 14, 2015 - 10:03

    Oh, and I’ve always thought the “après-ski” might be pleasant, drinks by the fire etc – but without the dangerous and energetic stuff first!

    • #12 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 10:48

      Who would know if you turned up in ski gear – splashed with a little snow for effect – and had the après ski without the avant? If anybody asks you can just throw in words like, ‘off piste’, ‘slalom’, ‘black run’, etc. and nobody would be any the wiser.

  7. #13 by Louise Heffernan on January 14, 2015 - 10:56

    I think the reason your birds don’t eat the fat balls sometimes, are the fat balls themselves. I’ve bought some that the birds won’t eat but other brands are no problem. So I won’t buy the ones they won’t eat anymore, Regards, Louise >

    • #14 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 11:07

      You might well be right Louise – I’ve just got to try to remember which brand I bought last time – I think they are last year’s so that might be a reason in itself.

  8. #15 by sew2pro on January 14, 2015 - 20:59

    I don’t do snow either and must have inadvertently passed on the cold-phobia to my kids because they refuse to go ice skating, even when there’s a birthday party and a bunch of friends attached. We’ve been having (another) warm winter too. The memories of two years ago when it went on and on are becoming faint.

  9. #16 by tialys on January 14, 2015 - 22:07

    I seem to remember, a couple of months ago, the met office predicting an extremely harsh winter with snow. Maybe they meant a bit later on.

  10. #17 by Lynn on January 15, 2015 - 03:31

    Totally agree about skiing, snowboarding or any of those snow related sports. Lovely to look at from a distance, but grappling with the boots etc with cold hands, er… I’ll pass too. I have always fancied staying at a scenic snow resort though, as I think the food, fondue etc, and warm toddies might be more my scene, and I could sit bundled up looking at the scenery.

    • #18 by tialys on January 15, 2015 - 08:29

      If you wrapped a foot up in a bandage and wore a look somewhere between embarrassment and regret with a touch of pride you could install yourself next to the log fire and have those things bought to you by rosy cheeked snow lovers with cold hands and smears of strange coloured chapstick on nose and lips. As I suggested to somebody else, remember to learn a bit of ski lingo first lest you are revealed as a fraud.

Leave a Reply

