Knitted Sunglasses

My replacement 20mm circular needle has not yet arrived in the post so I can’t get on and finish my humungous blanket .  However, the wool for my second blanket came yesterday..

Chunky Yarn for Blanket

The light’s not great today and this is not as grey as it looks here but a soft, duck egg blue colour with flecks of brown, black and beige.

In the meantime, to fill the time, I have gone to the other end of the scale and got out my 2.5mm circulars to make another pair of socks.  I’m supposed to be knitting these along with my friend but I’ve raced ahead a bit because I know, once those big needles arrive, I’ll be back under the blanket.

Two at a time Toe Up Socks

Another pair of two at a time, toe up socks.  I love photographing them at this stage as they look like a little bikini top or a pair of sunglasses!

It took me so long to get a colour match with this wool (Drops Fabel) that I almost gave up.  I had to unravel a lot before I could find it and then the unraveled yarn got into a great big tangle and I had to spend ages undoing knots and sorting it out.

I must be getting better at knitting on magic loop because I managed to get as far as this whilst watching my Dexter box set which, if you’ve seen it, is quite incredible really as it’s hard to take your eyes off the screen when engrossed in the goings on in the life of a likeable serial killer😉

, , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 16, 2015 - 18:15

    I laughed at your phrase “a likeable serial killer”. Your sock toes look lovely, but will mostlybe hidden in shoes. I bought Jock 3 pairs of Argyll socks, and the middle pair had the pattern on the foot part and the leg part was plain. I’d bought them mail order from the UK and couldn’t be bothered to return them. Jock doesn’t mind – he never looks at his clothes.

    • #2 by tialys on January 17, 2015 - 16:15

      Actually Viv, I wear my knitted socks to do my yoga and pilates classes – at least at the beginning and end when we are warming up and cooling down respectively – so they get full exposure. Jock sounds like a man after Mr. T’s heart although he does wear a suit during the week for work so likes to go to the other extreme at weekends, or so it appears.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on January 16, 2015 - 22:24

    They do look exactly like sunglasses! I like the sneaky hexagon quilt background for the ball of yarn, too!

    • #4 by tialys on January 17, 2015 - 16:11

      It’s sweet isn’t it although not one I can lay claim to. I bought it at a craft fair years ago, before I had even entertained the idea of messing with hexies, and it was so cheap with such a gorgeous backing fabric that I couldn’t leave it there. It is only teeny though – old fashioned cot size perhaps.

  3. #5 by Jane's sew & tell on January 17, 2015 - 11:16

    Those 20mm needles don’t last long do they? I managed to go through 2 pairs making a bag, both of different makes, both snapping between the needles and the cord

    • #6 by tialys on January 17, 2015 - 16:09

      Aaaargh! Jane! Don’t say that. My new circs have just arrived and I must say the difference in the quality is huge. I am hoping to complete this blanket (only 16 giant rows to go now) and at least one other with them.

Leave a Reply

