A Quilt Question

I’ve pieced a top using some strips of Liberty fabric that I bought on a visit to the Liberty store a year or so ago.  They came in a pack under the ‘Worn and Washed’ label like this.

Liberty Worn & Washed Pack

I’ve made a quilt using Worn and Washed fabrics before.  They are good for making quilts you want to look as if they have already had a bit of a life and, when used with cotton batting, and washed to shrink just a little, they can look a bit vintage.  Here is one I made with a bundle of those fabrics a few years ago – actually, thinking about it, probably around 11 years ago now, eek!.

Worn and Washed Quilt

Not a great picture – I find it really hard to photograph quilts properly – plus we are having a very grey day today – but you get the idea – it already looks as if my grandmother might have made it (which would make it very old indeed and also very unlikely as my grandmother never sewed a thing in her life as far as I know!)

Anyway, the lady behind Worn and Washed which you can read about here, has a link with Liberty now and you can buy some of her bundles there.  Otherwise, for non Liberty bundles, I think it is best to buy from the shows she attends as it is best to see and feel the fabrics which, by their nature, are quite individual.

This is the quilt top I have made with my pack – I’ve kept it very simple to highlight the fabrics and it will be backed with a silvery grey plain cotton.  I took it into the fabric shop with me to match it with a plain for the back and the staff were stroking it because it is sooo soft and smooth, being tana lawn and also having had a bit of a wash I suppose.  If you click on the photo it will allow you to zoom in a couple of times so you can see the fabrics better.  I love the poppies and the sweeties at the bottom.

LibertyWornandWashedQuiltTop

 

My question for other quilters is how do you think I should quilt this?  I have a roll of Hobbs cotton batting and that needs to be quilted with no more than a 2 inch gap so I won’t be doing it by hand.  The back is plain so parallel lines across the width would look boring.  Also any bad stitches would be very obvious!  I’m not very good with free motion quilting.  Would diagonals work?  Any ideas?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on January 18, 2015 - 18:43

    I always revert to diagonal cross hatching in situations like this! Something about 1.5″ apart would look good without being too stiff. If you can’t face that, how about gently waving lines about 2″ apart. Start by drawing one down the centre of the quilt, and then echo the shape on either side. You don’t need to be accurate, as the curves will look organic. That’s a sweet quilt, and I just love the fabrics. You can’t go wrong with anything Liberty, I find.

    • #2 by tialys on January 19, 2015 - 09:07

      Wavy lines vertically?

      • #3 by katechiconi on January 19, 2015 - 09:52

        Yes, across the direction of the strips. And keep the curves gentle so you can do it with a walking foot instead of free motion quilting with a darning foot. Much easier to prevent puckers and get a tidy result.

      • #4 by tialys on January 19, 2015 - 10:06

        O.K. I’ll get my walking foot out and give it a go. I’ve got some Aurifil ‘invisible’ thread in a silver grey so, hopefully, any wobbly bits won’t show much on the back.

  2. #5 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 18, 2015 - 18:58

    I’m with Kate – I think the straight lines need the contrast of curves, so wavy lines would do fine.

  3. #6 by Ami on January 19, 2015 - 23:08

    That peach quilt is the stuff that dreams are made of. I agree about wavy lines.🙂

    • #7 by tialys on January 20, 2015 - 08:34

      Thanks Viv and Ami, I am about one third of the way through with wavy lines. Apart from a couple of hiccups with my invisible thread, it’s going well. That thread (by InvisaFil not Aurifil as stated above) looks great and, for somebody like me who is not the world’s most gifted quilter, it is very forgiving. However! It is like sewing with hair.

  4. #8 by Lynda Kling on March 22, 2015 - 01:20

    I quilted my Worn and Washed quilt with pearle cotton using a big stitch. Fairly quick and looks very vintage. I also embellished it with embroidery to personalize it! Working on more now, of fabrics I have collected myself at the charity shop….

    • #9 by tialys on March 22, 2015 - 13:53

      It sounds wonderful. I’ve got lots of different colours of the perle cotton and I have also used it to do big stitch quilting. I really like the effect you get with it. I am seriously thinking of cutting some of my sheets into strips to use for a quilt – I just need to get more of the same sort of ‘tones’ together so that I end up with a vaguely coherent colour scheme.

Leave a Reply

