A Bit of Home Décor For A Change

I finished my mammoth blanket last night

Giant Hand Knitted Blanket Herringbone Tweed

      Once I swapped these

for these

It made life much easier

I love it! It makes me want to roll myself up in it and drink hot chocolate.

Hand Knitted Blanket First Try

For scale, that’s a 2-seater sofa I have artfully fartfully draped it across.

The dog looks like she wants to wrap herself in it too but I’m not sure how the open knit texture would respond to dog claws – not too well I suspect so it will be a human only blanket.

Once my shoulder has recovered from the slight ache caused by the weight of the thing towards the end, I’m going to make another in a flecked duck egg blue.

Looks like knitted blankets might be fighting for space with quilts in my house from now on.  Won’t Mr. Tialys be pleased as, like most men, he does love a cushion and a throw😉

By the way, if you fancy giving it a twirl yourself you can find the pattern here or on Ravelry under the designer Erin Black.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on January 20, 2015 - 18:21

    Oh my goodness, that is gorgeous! Those poor animals will feel so deprived. I would love to own something like that and if I saw it in a shop, I’d look for the price with trepidation.

    • #2 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 09:03

      Thank you! Those ‘poor animals’ have already commandeered numerous blankets, quilts and cushions . This one I’m keeping for myself.

  2. #3 by Ami on January 20, 2015 - 18:32

    If anything is ever going to make one long for cold nights it is that blanket. Incredible!! Duck egg blue sounds beautiful too!

    • #4 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 09:04

      I have nothing in blue in the living areas so it will be the perfect excuse to make one for the bedroom. Even if I don’t us it on the bed I can just look at it – and maybe stroke it occasionally.

  3. #5 by Lynnx on January 20, 2015 - 18:35

    Beautifully draped, very impressed and like the new needles X

    • #6 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 09:05

      They’re good aren’t they. I like the totally unnecessary flecks of gold.

  4. #7 by PendleStitches on January 20, 2015 - 19:04

    I’m not normally a huge fan of knitted blankets but this one would definitely change my mind…it’s beautiful!

  5. #9 by lovelucie1 on January 20, 2015 - 20:23

    Wow! This is very impressive! Was it expensive to make? Looks very expensive;)

    • #10 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 09:07

      Thanks Lucie – it wasn’t too bad, considering. It cost somewhere between £50 and £60 – aside from the needles which I will be using again so I’m not counting them.

  6. #11 by katechiconi on January 20, 2015 - 23:35

    That’s fabulous! And I want it, even though hot chocolate drinking is not on the cards right now, nor indeed is snuggling under anything much heavier than a sheet. Well done on the mammoth job, I hope the shoulder gets better soon.

    • #12 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 09:09

      I thought of you sweltering in your heat and humidity and guessed that, just looking at it, would make you a bit hot and bothered. It’s definitely a knitting project for the winter months – whenever your winter happens to be. The shoulder is already recovered, thank you.

      • #13 by katechiconi on January 21, 2015 - 10:22

        It’s so beautifully and artistically posed. You should turn it into a postcard…. Winter, btw, is May – August.

  7. #14 by Thimberlina on January 21, 2015 - 00:03

    I love it! Ive made knitted blankets but not soo big. What pattern did you use? 😀

  8. #16 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 21, 2015 - 20:09

    An outstanding piece of knitting. Bravo.

  9. #17 by tialys on January 21, 2015 - 23:22

    Thanks VIv. I’ve just been wandering around the house wondering where to ‘place’ it. It can’t stay on that sofa because I have more than a sneaking suspicion that one of my dogs gets up there after we’ve gone to bed at night and I didn’t knit it as a dog blanket!

  10. #18 by Zoe on January 23, 2015 - 22:45

    Wow! That’s incredible xxx

  11. #19 by tialys on January 24, 2015 - 15:13

    Thanks Zoe

  12. #20 by Carly on January 25, 2015 - 14:31

    It looks amazing!

  13. #21 by mandymunroe on February 5, 2015 - 14:26

    Love it, and duck egg is a great choice for the next one!

Leave a Reply

