A Boyfriend Blazer

I know boyfriend jeans and boyfriend cardigans exist but, until now, I wasn’t sure about boyfriend blazers.  Anyway, I appear to have knitted one.  Which is unfortunate as I haven’t got a boyfriend.  I have got a husband but he’s 6’4″ so that might be a bit of a stretch – literally.  Plus, I’m not sure it’s his colour.

BlackberryShaleJacket (1)

I’ve had some trials and tribulations with this jacket and, if you are interested, I have gone into more detail on my Ravelry page here .

Suffice it to say, I won’t be putting in a back vent again

BlackberryShaleJacket (3)

Why?

and I won’t be dividing the sleeves for cuffs again just sewing on buttons in the appropriate place.

BlackberryShaleJacket (2)

Love that double moss stitch and those buttons though.

The reason it I’m calling it a ‘boyfriend blazer’ is because it’s too big for me – mostly in the sleeves.  Maybe my fault as I used a different yarn although I did do a swatch beforehand and the gauge seemed fine.

I will wear it though as I love it.  The stitch and the chunky yarn really make it feel like a jacket rather than a cardigan.  I’ve ordered some more yarn, this time in a denim blue colour.  I will do another swatch and make the next size down.

The pattern is Shale by Kim Hargreaves from her collection called ‘Storm’ – a great collection of patterns, almost all of which I’d like to knit.

The recommended wool is Rowan Big Wool, I used Sirdar Denim Ultra in blackberry (much cheaper and is great to knit with).  It’s on 8mm needles, though I used 7mm to get the right gauge.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on January 23, 2015 - 08:57

    Fabulous colour, gorgeous nubbly stitch. I wish I lived somewhere cool enough to wear something like that…. Doesn’t the button at the back make an uncomfortable bump when you sit, or is it carefully placed to avoid the problem?

    • #2 by tialys on January 23, 2015 - 09:15

      Well, I haven’t actually tried it out yet but the knitting is thick and the button is quite thin so I don’t think it will be a problem. The button is not an original feature of the design but I thought it would make the back vent look as if it really ought to be there rather than as if I’d made some terrible mistake with the cast on.

      • #3 by katechiconi on January 23, 2015 - 09:37

        It does look good, but I worried it might stick in a bit!

  2. #4 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 23, 2015 - 10:09

    It looks lovely and warm, as well as smart, great for a Northern winter!

    • #5 by tialys on January 23, 2015 - 10:25

      Yes, and plenty of room for multiple layers underneath if necessary!

  3. #6 by PendleStitches on January 24, 2015 - 01:39

    This is gorgeous. Big Wool pills if you look at it so substituting the yarn was a great idea. I would wear this all the time!

  4. #7 by tialys on January 24, 2015 - 15:11

    Thank you! I don’t mind buying the ‘right’ yarn for projects but I read some reviews on Ravelry about Big Wool and thought it wouldn’t be worth paying double the amount I paid for the Sirdar which I have used before and like the feel and look of. No point throwing money away!

Leave a Reply

