Wild Thing

I’ve got three dogs and, although we walk through woods at the back of our garden so they are rarely on a lead, I like them to wear a collar with an I.D. tag just in case.  They are micro-chipped but, if they were to get lost, not everybody would bother to take them to the vets and have them scanned whereas they might just phone a number.

I’m always buying new collars for them so I thought I’d have a go at making my own.  I ordered all the hardware and spent ages choosing grosgrain ribbon to make the webbing look pretty.  This is my first attempt and Flo graciously agreed to be the model on this occasion..  This was a very brief moment of stillness –  I chose that ribbon with her in mind.

Flo Wild Child

What do you think?  I might start making these, along with my dog bandanas, to help raise funds for the Dog Rescue Carcassonne Group here in France.

Here are some Chelsea Football Club supporters who were recipients of specially requested dog bandanas for Christmas.

Dog Bandanas - Chelsea Fans

I wonder whether they know they support Chelsea?

And not to be too biased towards dogs – after all, I do have cats too,  I took this photo of my big pyjama case cat, Henry, avidly watching a programme about cats.  I thought animals couldn’t recognise stuff like that but he definitely did.

Cats Watching Other Cats

Please excuse the proliferation of gaming gubbins, wires, speakers, remotes, etc.   Nothing to do with me.  I only know how to work the telly although, since they moved the satellite, we have to do all sorts of twisty turny technical things to receive t.v. transmissions so I had to get a bit more tech savvy quickly if I wanted to watch Downton Abbey and Broadchurch.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 26, 2015 - 22:43

    Great, so long as they don’t get chewed! Our cats have all adored One Man and His Dog. Make of that what you will.

  2. #4 by katechiconi on January 26, 2015 - 23:34

    The collar is great, and perfectly suited to the recipient! I’m pretty sure dogs will support any team in the world that involves a ball….

    • #5 by tialys on January 27, 2015 - 08:58

      True – I love it when, as happens from time to time in televised matches, a dog breaks onto the pitch and runs around after the match ball. Not that we have footie matches on in this house as I have that rare beast – a husband who isn’t interested in football.

      • #6 by katechiconi on January 27, 2015 - 09:03

        I’ve got one of those too. Non-footy Husbands, that is, not ball chasing dogs.

  3. #7 by Frivolous Monsters on January 27, 2015 - 01:45

    Sometimes our cats see the TV. Most the time not though. Anything that sounds animal gets their attention though and anything with a crying baby makes them go nuts.

    • #8 by tialys on January 27, 2015 - 09:04

      I hope you don’t have ‘Call The Midwife’ on in your house then – a series that also serves to drive my OH and daughters nuts and so ensures a bit of me time and a sofa all to myself.

      • #9 by Frivolous Monsters on January 27, 2015 - 16:04

        My parents do have Call the Midwife on, but I make it out of the door before the cats do. When the first series got repeated, after all the plaudits, I decided I should catch up and watch it. Didn’t even make it through one episode. I tried, but it seems not even the pull of Jessica Raine could keep me in… and I’m really confused how they’ve carried on without her seeing as old her is supposed to be narrating it. Never mind.

  4. #10 by sew2pro on January 27, 2015 - 22:03

    Great pics! We have cable spaghetti too, nothing to do with me.

  5. #11 by tialys on January 28, 2015 - 09:15

    I’ve had to become more ‘hands on’ with it all as watching U.K. T.V. here is no longer a question of pressing the ‘on’ button. We have to have a laptop beside the telly with an HDMI cable and I have been instructed not to use the DVD player but to watch DVDs through the Playstation doodah now. There also appears to be a Wii console and a GameCube one too. Imagine all the remotes! It does make me much fussier about what I watch and don’t watch now.

Leave a Reply

