Flo Takes Another Liberty

Dog On QuiltMuch as I love this dog, I don’t really make quilts, especially not quilts made from Liberty tana lawn, for the benefit of my pets.  Instead, I go to the local charity shop once every few months and buy up some used blankets which I put in their beds and, once they have been chewed, ripped to shreds or made ‘dog smelly’,  I dispose of them and go back to the charity shop.  However, Flo had other ideas and took advantage of the fact that I was doing some artistic ‘draping’ for purposes of photography to dive on top.

Liberty Worn & Washed Outside

Although I used the fence around the chicken hut to lay the quilt over, the chickens don’t seem to feel the need to lay on soft blankets so the quilt was safe for the outside shots.

As a point of interest and not really relevant to this blog post, one of the words I have soooo much trouble with in French is ‘poulailler’.  Now, most people could probably survive without ever having to say it but, as I keep chickens, and as it means ‘henhouse’, it is a word that I sometimes need to say, much to the amusement of anybody French that is listening at the time.  The other word I have difficulty with, which also contains lots of the letter L, is ‘rouille’ as this also necessitates rolling the ‘r’ in front before twisting your tongue around the ‘ou’ sound and that double ‘L’.  As ‘rouille’ means ‘rust’ it is a word that, for various reasons, I do find myself using quite frequently.

Anyway, I digress.  As suggested by several of you when I asked for advice on this particular project, I quilted it using wavy lines which I think works well.  Somebody said they would look ‘organic’ but, as I didn’t mark anything out apart from the distance between the lines and really just followed my (wonky) eye down the quilt, vaguely trying to echo the line before, I think that might be quite a flattering word for it.  I’m going to stick with it anyway.

LIbertyWorn&WashedQuilt (1)

It appears that one of the advantages of using bands of fabric the width of the quilt means that, when folded lengthwise and placed on a sofa or chair or wherever, you are able to see the full range of fabrics used which is not always the case with more complicated designs.

Persuaded by a friend of mine to start a new quilt together, I have resolved to finish the last bit of hand quilting and add the binding to one I had almost completed but, as I had draped it over a chair in my workroom, it became to look like part of the furniture so I sort of considered it finished.  It wasn’t!

Handbag Quilt

So this weekend should see the ‘handbag quilt’, first blogged about an embarrassingly long time ago, completed and then I won’t feel guilty about starting a new one.

Meanwhile, I must remove a dog from a quilt.

LIbertyWorn&WashedQuilt (2)

No use pretending to be asleep.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on January 31, 2015 - 16:06

    Beautiful Liberty fabrics. Miss Flo has good taste but no commonsense; self preservation alone should have told her you’d be descending like the wrath of God when you saw her lounging on it! I’m liking the look of the ‘handbag’ quilt, too, and hope that’ll be finished soon so I can ooh and aah at it.

    • #2 by tialys on February 2, 2015 - 09:23

      I finished the binding yesterday – are there really only 4 sides to a quilt, it seemed like many more! – so I’m waiting for a bit of good light to take some pics.

      • #3 by katechiconi on February 2, 2015 - 10:39

        Can’t wait to see the finished thing. Strange, isn’t it? I love binding!

  2. #4 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on January 31, 2015 - 18:09

    Wavy lines is about the only thing I can do in the realm of machine quilting, and even that only on small stuff! Otherwise it’s hand quilting for me. Looking forward to seeing what your new quilt is going to be.

    I bought two FQs in a very sharp green this morning, to give a bit of zing a mostly black wall hanging. I was going to start today but ‘orrible computer glitches and having to empty the dresser, (clean everything while Jock moved it along the wall so that the last stray bit of furniture would find a home, and then put everything back) all that has worn me out..

    • #5 by tialys on February 2, 2015 - 09:22

      My hand quilting isn’t too good but I do actually prefer it to the machine as I feel more in control. I wouldn’t be have the patience to closely hand quilt a large one though so I do usually have to resort to the machine. I hope you’ve had time by now to do something with your new FQs – a wall hanging sounds lovely.

  3. #7 by PendleStitches on February 1, 2015 - 16:57

    what a gorgeous quilt! She has excellent taste. Our dog has commandeered a quilt and everyone is always astonished that i let him get away with it. One day I’ll rescue it. One day…..

    • #8 by tialys on February 2, 2015 - 09:19

      Thank you! I would like to drape more quilts (and knitted blankets!) around the place but I have the sort of dogs that go out and get dirty and Flo has only recently stopped tearing blankets up. In my next life, when I am only going to have small, clean, neat dogs, I will be able to drape to my heart’s content.

  4. #9 by Jan Marriott on February 1, 2015 - 22:20

     back in the land of the living ( with internet that is) Did I ever recommend this blog to youhttps://ca-mg5.mail.yahoo.com/neo/launch?.rand=cci61jjpce1ul#866602050

    tim latimer quilts, think you would like itJan

    |   | |   |   |   |   |   | | Yahoo – loginYahoo makes it easy to enjoy what matters most in your world. Best in class Yahoo Mail, breaking local, national and global news, finance, sports, music, movies and more. | | | | View on ca-mg5.mail.yahoo.com | Preview by Yahoo | | | |   |

     

    • #10 by tialys on February 2, 2015 - 09:17

      It’s a fascinating site Jan. I watched his ‘big quilting stitch’ video as I’ve just used that method on another quilt I finished at the weekend but, unfortunately, my big stitches are nowhere near as neat and even as his *sigh*.
      I hope you’re having a good time in New Zealand. x

  5. #11 by Jan Marriott on February 1, 2015 - 22:22

    this might be a better linkTim Latimer – Quilts etc j |   | |   | |   |   |   |   |   | | Tim Latimer – Quilts etcHand Quilting, Vintage and Antique Quilt Top Restoration, Gardening, Floral Design…etc | | | | View on timquilts.com | Preview by Yahoo | | | |   |

Leave a Reply

