More Handbags?

 My husband thinks I have too many handbags.  I haven’t of course but that seems to be his perception. Bless him, he once bought me a very expensive handbag for Christmas and actually thought that I would never need to buy another.   It doesn’t work like that though does it?  Actually I have many, many more shoes than handbags and what with my lifestyle these days, wear hardly any of them, certainly not on a regular basis, as the ones I prefer have heels and, for practical purposes, I wear flats, boots and wellies more than anything else.

A quilt with a handbag design seemed appropriate and I finally finished hand quilting this one the other day, found a suitable binding locally and, voila.

HandbagQuilt (1)This is a design from a book called More Layer Cake, Jelly Roll and Charm Quilts by Pam and Nicky Lintott  which aims to help you use the pre-cut fabric packs that look so tempting but you are not quite sure what to do with after buying.  Or is that just me?  This quilt is made using a Layer Cake which consists of 42 x 10 inch squares of fabric.  The pack I used here is from Basic Grey for Moda and the design is ‘Little Black Dress’.  Here is a single block and it consists of four pieces of fabric cut to different sizes plus an appliquéd bag ‘handle’ to complete the handbag shape.

HandbagQuilt (3)

I used ‘big stitch’ quilting for this as it seemed to suit the design and, if I’m honest,  all my hand quilting appears to come out as a big stitch anyway🙂  I echo quilted the inner seams of each bag and around the handle.  It works on the front but not so well on the back as I’ve used a plain fabric and all my stitches are very obvious which is not necessarily a good thing.  Hence the lack of rear view photography.    Also, it probably isn’t quilted heavily enough but it will only be used as a throw, or even a wall hanging in my workroom, so it won’t get enough rough treatment to shift the batting.  Unless the dogs take a fancy to it of course.  I used a variegated perle cotton for the quilting which is why, if you zoomed in and wondered, the colour of the stitches varies between white, grey and black.

Here it is , in its entirety with, not a plain black border – that’s just the dark wood of the cupboard I’ve hung it up against – but a black and off- white binding with musical notes on it.  It was the only fabric I could find locally which would do for the binding but, even though there is nothing to do with music anywhere else on the quilt, I think it works anyway.

HandbagQuilt (2)

 

Here’s the obligatory ‘sofa shot’ and, this time, I waited until the dogs were out in the garden although, actually,  Flo would have coordinated with this very well being black and white.

HandbagQuilt1

 Having made two ‘greyish’ quilts my next project is much brighter.  It is from the same book and is called ‘Friendship Braids’.  I’m using a Moda Jelly Roll this time in a design called ‘Gypsy Girl’.  Again, I will be going great guns until I get to the quilting part and then I will be in a quandary again.  Still, that won’t be quite yet.

FriendshipBraidQuiltPrep (3)

 

to be continued…………

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 8, 2015 - 15:29

    That’s a great idea to use up those interesting pre-cut pieces. I make a lot of handbags, and even bigger carry-on bags, but never thought of making a quilt with bags on! Big-stitch quilting is my style, too.

    • #2 by tialys on February 9, 2015 - 11:08

      I do like using the pre-cut packs because you get so many different coordinating fabrics without having to buy lots of different yardage. Also, it does save time on the cutting part, although the ‘friendship braids’ one I’m doing next did involve cutting the 2.5 inch strips into trapezoids and reverse trapezoids – about 320 of them actually:/

      • #3 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 9, 2015 - 12:45

        Wow! Yes, it’s the cutting that hurts my fragile spine. I’ve been cutting this morning, and now it’s pill time!

  2. #4 by PendleStitches on February 8, 2015 - 18:01

    Oh this is another stunning quilt. I absolutely love it!

  3. #6 by katechiconi on February 8, 2015 - 22:00

    Oh, lovely! I’ve been eyeing up that pattern for years but never got round to it, and I think your fabric choices are much nicer than the ones in the book! I also like that your handles are more ‘natural’ than the book ones; you can see they’re supposed to be handles instead of perfect arcs. Perhaps you should open the next quilt up to suggestions for quilting when the time comes, and just pick the one you like, instead of wondering and stressing about what to do?

    • #7 by tialys on February 9, 2015 - 11:05

      I love your comments as they give me new words to describe my imperfections. Now my wonky handles are ‘natural’, just like my random wavy lines were ‘organic’. I will definitely be asking for quilting suggestions for the next one as I won’t know what on earth to do. The only problem with the book I mentioned is that, after they have pieced the quilts, they have them quilted on a long arm machine which I haven’t got and am not really that willing to pay somebody else to do, so I will be on my own once the sandwich is ready.

      • #8 by katechiconi on February 9, 2015 - 11:32

        Glad to be of assistance with the descriptors! What does the next one look like? I might have a thought or two about what might look OK but not be too much work. And I personally think getting a quilt done on a longarm by someone else is, well, cheating a bit, as well as making it too stiff and a bit unnatural… But that’s just me!

      • #9 by tialys on February 9, 2015 - 12:07

        The last photo on my post is a close up of part of the first braid I’ve put together and here’s somebody who has made one and it also shows the one on the cover of the book. She has hand quilted it very heavily and, although it looks gorgeous, that would be way beyond me. I will definitely use a patterned backing this time – don’t know what yet. It’s the plain, wide border that worries me most. http://www.thequiltedpineapple.com/2011/04/oh-beautiful-braid-quiltquilted.html

        Oops! My mistake – she used a longarm machine. I thought an ‘LAer’ meant she was from Los Angeles!!

      • #10 by katechiconi on February 9, 2015 - 12:11

        Gotcha. I have a suggestion: Straight lines only, in chevrons in the reverse direction to the braid, so where the braid is points down, the chevrons would be points up, and at double the width of the braids. Cross hatching in the border. You could do something swanky in the corners if the spirit moved you…

  4. #11 by Jan Marriott on February 9, 2015 - 03:15

    I am a sucker for a handbag motif…..and shoes and chairs.

    • #12 by tialys on February 9, 2015 - 11:01

      Ooh! Shoes! I think I’ve seen a pattern block for shoes but not sure about chairs. I did start one from a Kaffe Fasset book once which featured hatboxes. I only got as far as one block but it did look lovely in the book.

  5. #13 by lovelucie1 on February 9, 2015 - 12:42

    As usual, super stylish. I hope all the furniture in your house is as classy as your sofa. I am very slowly building up a wonderful picture. I can see why you might need to move onto something colourful next.
    I have always wondered if you needed to go the ‘another person doing the long arm bit’ to a quilt. It is what has put me off in the past. I would need to do the whole thing myself from start to finish.

    • #14 by tialys on February 9, 2015 - 13:04

      I think sending your quilt off to be quilted is more popular in the U.S. than in the U.K. Most people do their own from start to finish – including me and my quilting is not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but at least it’s mine. Just sometimes, when I see those heavily quilted ones with the fancy patterns I do get a bit jealous but some people don’t actually like them as they think they are too stiff and feel it’s a bit like cheating.
      That sofa was bought from somebody who was downsizing into a small apartment and it had already lived a full family life. The leather has some stains and will probably get more but at least I don’t have to be too precious with it and I like things that already have some character

Leave a Reply

