Dogtooth

In somewhat of a coincidence, seeing as my last post was about dogs and teeth, my most recent finished garment that I have got around to photographing, is in a dogtooth check.  You couldn’t make it up.

DSC_0019

This is another short sleeved Coco dress which I made from a metre of 3.99 jersey I found on Ebay and so the fact that it’s not my favourite of all time, bothers me not at all because it took me a couple of hours from start to finish and, at that price, I can wear it to flit about the house in and be comfy.

There are several reasons it’s not my favourite and one clue is in the above photo where I have hacked the style of the neckline – which should be flat – because, once again, I overestimated my size and made it too big.  Then I had to do all sorts of taking ins and faffing abouts to get it to fit me and I ended up changing the shape somewhat.  I call them ‘design features’ though others might call them ‘mistakes’.

DSC_0023

Also, I think the dogtooth check is one of those fabrics that, from a distance, will just look dull and boring and ‘beige’.  Maybe it calls for a belt?

I have cut myself off at the knees as they are not yet tanned and, in fact, looked bluish in this photo so I have spared you the sight.

So, leaving dogs, teeth and doggy dodgy checks behind, I decided make a bag in a bright and cheerful linen mix fabric.

This is a pattern I bought from UHandbags and it does indeed look quite professional as she promised it would.

DSC_0032

The resin handles have something to do with that as well as the super duper foam fusible interfacing she suggests (and sells) which makes the bag firm but still satisfyingly squidgy at the same time.

The tiny seam allowance – 0.5cm – worries me a little but I guess that is to minimise bulky seams as there are two layers of fabric a layer of medium weight interlining and a layer of the foam too.  So you just have go be careful there.  Also, the thicker the ‘sandwich’ when you poke it into the frame, the better, as it gives those tiny screws something to bite into.

DSC_0027

I actually used a linen blend for the exterior and a quilting cotton for the interior and I did have to beef up the edges a bit to get them to stay in the frame.  Next time I will use thicker fabric for the exterior and use something like the linen blend for the interior (as was actually suggested in the pattern) and I think this will make it all more manageable and easier to achieve the best possible finish.

Resin Handle Handbag

 

It’s a good size bag although, I must admit, the frame doesn’t open quite as wide as I had hoped  but then I do like to have a good old rummage around in my handbag which means I like to get practically my whole arm in.  This is not necessarily a good thing as all sorts of stuff ends up in the furthest corners of my handbags never to be found again so this might force me to be a little neater.

I am going to send this over to the U.K. for Mlle. Tialys the elder to take to work for a week and let’s see how it holds up on the London Underground, the tram, holding her lunch and generally being ‘used’ for a week or two.  If it passes the endurance test, I’ll be making more because I really love the way it looks.

What do you think? Do you like?

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on March 9, 2015 - 18:18

    I adore buttons……the ‘detail’ is most alluring.

    • #2 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:51

      I especially like buttons when no buttonholes are involved.

  2. #3 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on March 9, 2015 - 18:28

    I love your “design features” and the bag is deliciously squidgy.

    • #4 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:50

      Thanks Viv and it’s always good to have an opportunity to use words like ‘squidgy’ and ‘squishy’ isn’t it?

  3. #5 by PendleStitches on March 9, 2015 - 19:03

    I love the neckline…it’s a really great detail. And the houndstooth reads elegant to me..not boring at all. Love it!

    • #6 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:49

      I’ll take ‘elegant’ – thank you!

  4. #7 by Thimberlina on March 9, 2015 - 20:03

    I’ve made a few cocos but only one without the funnel neck, and I had the same problem with that one. I added a neck band to mine, it’s ok and I wear it a lot but it bugs me like mad. I think yours looks like a good solution without altering the pattern.
    Love the bag! I thought it was going to be small and dinky until I saw the photo of you holding it, then it seemed massive! 😀

    • #8 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:48

      I’ve done it the other way round – a few cocos but only one with a funnel neck and I must admit the way the round neck is finished did worry me when I first attempted this pattern and I wondered whether to put a band on. However, usually, it works out fine but I have lost some weight recently and I didn’t go down a size when making the dress so the baggy neck was the result. My fault!

      • #9 by Thimberlina on March 10, 2015 - 09:33

        In that case, I’d be wearing a badge saying “its baggy cos I’ve lost weight” and miss off the buttons! Well done! That’s my next challenge to loose a few pounds now I’ve completed a whole year off the weed 😀

      • #10 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 10:46

        I didn’t actually plan to lose any, it just happened when I changed my diet to try to remedy some digestion problems. Cutting down on the wine didn’t go amiss either!😉 Anyway, well done you on giving up smoking – it’s hard, I know, I’ve been there. I see you plan to make the Ginger jeans in 2015. Will you wait until you get to the size you want to be or dive right in?

      • #11 by Thimberlina on March 10, 2015 - 21:17

        Oh I’ll be diving in, as soon as I’ve found my fabric. If I make the skinny ones I’ll be chuffed to bits if they end up baggy! 😃

  5. #12 by katechiconi on March 9, 2015 - 21:05

    Love the bag, and love your innovative solution to baggy neck problem. Not dodgy at all!

    • #13 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:45

      Thanks Kate. Next time I’ll make the right size though!

  6. #14 by sew2pro on March 9, 2015 - 21:20

    It’s a lovely bag and the cockatoo fabric is very sweet. If I see on the tube, I’ll know it could only be Mlle.

    Nice to see your face too, for a change!

    • #15 by tialys on March 10, 2015 - 08:45

      That would be great wouldn’t it? I can just imagine the conversation as you explain how you knew it was her! Perhaps I’ll warn her that her bag has been ‘published’ and to expect recognition🙂

  7. #16 by Zoe on March 13, 2015 - 14:42

    That design ‘modification’ makes it way more interesting than a regular Coco, IMO! Your bag is also A-MAZING. Funnily enough, I used to be good friends with the owner of U-Handbag. Their stock room is a treasure trove. You’ve been very busy! xxx

  8. #17 by springystitches on March 22, 2015 - 15:07

    I love your ‘design feature’ and I think it adds something a little different to your Coco! That bag is great too. I’m so pleased that I have found your blog!🙂

    • #18 by tialys on March 22, 2015 - 15:21

      I bet if I tried to do it on purpose it wouldn’t work out.
      Thank you for the compliments and the follow.

Leave a Reply

