A Bit of Baking and a Couple of Poppies

Sometimes I fancy doing a bit of baking even though I’m more of a ‘savoury’ person than a ‘sweet’ person and it’s usually when I spot a tempting photograph on somebody else’s blog.  So, a couple of days ago I came across a recipe from somebody who obviously takes cookies seriously and has even done a taste test amongst her friends and family in her quest to find the best one.  Sounds like a brilliant excuse to bake – and eat – loads of them so I thought I’d smash a chocolate bar into bits – I’m too mean to buy chocolate chips – and give it a go.

Soft and Squidgy Cookes

I like these because they are the soft and chewy variety.  They are enormous.  They are easy to make.  They have peanut butter in them.  Did I say they are soft and chewy?

Anyway, I had already halved the ingredients in the recipe because I didn’t want twenty odd cookies as I’m not expecting hordes of visitors until the week after next at least.  Then, I put the dough in the fridge overnight and cut that in half so I would end up with just six for now.  The rest of the dough, which apparently is good for 72 hours in the fridge, I will either freeze or make some more cookies with it tomorrow.

You can find the recipe here if you find yourself in the mood for baking.

If I had been in the U.K. I might have made these to sell for Red Nose Day  (aka Comic Relief) which, if you haven’t heard of it, raises lots of money every other year for charities both at home and abroad whilst entertaining with special T.V. programmes,  fund raising events,  special t-shirts etc. etc.  Fun fund raising. **  Anyway, there was a bit of an upset in blogland recently when a magazine was produced by ‘craft people’ and other ‘craft people’ were invited to contribute to it in the form of free patterns to raise money for Red Nose Day.    Some of the patterns were donated by people in the U.K. and some by people from other countries.  It then went up for sale in one of the big supermarkets.   One of my Australian blogging friends donated a pattern and received a few nasty emails saying she shouldn’t be helping an overseas charity when there were plenty of Australian charities she could support.  This, despite the fact that Red Nose Day helps people – mostly children – all over the world.  The person who edited the magazine apparently received complaints and some abuse because people couldn’t get to the supermarket to buy the magazine or it had sold out, or whatever.  There are some funny people about.

Anyway, to redress the balance – if it needed doing – I have answered the call of another Australian blogging friend who passed on a request for help from Aussie Hero Quilts for quilters to make blocks in a sort of poppy design, which will be used to make Fallen Warrior Quilts for the families of servicemen and women in the Australian Forces who have lost their lives in the line of duty.  Quick and easy, I had some suitable fabric, I can send it off for the cost of an international stamp plus I like the fact that it’s not me that will have to join them all together and quilt them.  You can read about it here if you want to join in.

Poppy Quilt Block

Having said all that, I wonder if there is a similar scheme in the U.K.  Does anybody know?

** Thanks to reader Frivolous Monsters who reminded me that Comic Relief (or Red Nose Day) alternates with Children in Need another U.K. based fund raising effort which helps children both at home and abroad.  They have the same sort of format and methods of fund raising so I got the two confused.  Now I live in France I don’t get the same sort of exposure to it as I used to just the odd T.V. programme.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by PendleStitches on March 14, 2015 - 21:42

    The saying “there’s nowt as queer as folk” springs to mind. (“nowt” = nothing)
    Beautiful poppies.

    • #2 by tialys on March 15, 2015 - 08:53

      So true. It’s a shame that people who were trying to do a good thing had to suffer abuse and complaints.

      • #3 by PendleStitches on March 15, 2015 - 09:25

        It’s awful. I cannot comprehend what goes on in some people’s heads.

  2. #4 by katechiconi on March 14, 2015 - 22:20

    The cookies look fabulous, shame I can’t eat them! The poppies are lovely, and with them you’re helping to console a grieving family. I can’t think of a better purpose, wherever the family is. Thank you for posting the link, and for making them. At this rate, Jan-Maree’s going to be getting random poppies from all over the place!

    • #5 by tialys on March 15, 2015 - 08:47

      I was thinking that the poppy block, sized up to 12 inches as on the Craftsy instructions, would be a good one for the F2F challenge too.
      I did come across a gluten free, lactose free banana muffin recipe the other day – I’ll send you the link if you haven’t already got such a thing in your repertoire.

      • #6 by katechiconi on March 15, 2015 - 09:09

        I’m experimenting with using coconut milk for lots of things where the flavour won’t matter. And actually the lactose free milk you can get here isn’t too bad, just a bit expensive. But thank you for the offer! I like your idea about the poppy block – of course, being me, I’d want to fiddle around with the petal fabrics, etc. I’m feeling pretty sure I’ll be doing scrappy blocks for everyone to try and reduce the bulging boxes and bags in my cupboard.!

  3. #7 by Frivolous Monsters on March 15, 2015 - 01:05

    Comic Relief is every two years. In between it fits in with Children in Need. They do do a lot in Africa so it’s definitely an international good cause. They just passed the billion pound mark over thirty years.

    • #8 by tialys on March 15, 2015 - 08:44

      Oops – I stand corrected. I sort of get the two confused but they don’t wear red noses when it’s Children in Need so you’d think it would be obvious to me.

      • #9 by Frivolous Monsters on March 15, 2015 - 12:56

        It’s all right as they all blur together. You never know what’s coming.

Leave a Reply

