Weaning Myself Off Coco

I know I’m a bit addicted to making this dress but I have loads of stretch fabrics in my stash and it only takes a mo.  Also, this one is for my youngest, not me, and as she refuses to model and it doesn’t fit me I had a good excuse to use the mannequin.  I have decided that I’m not totally happy with the way the neck is just turned over on this pattern because it does seem to stretch out a bit as you work on it so, if I make any more in future, I think I’m going to make a neckband as in the Lady Skater dress.  This one does actually lay flatter on the neck when it is on a real life person but the mannequin is a little under-endowed in the bosom department so she’s not filling it out adequately.  Honest!

Tartan Coco Dress

I hope you are suitably impressed that I have tackled the tartan again.  I made absolutely no attempt to match it this time because I am a stingy, penny pincher who only wanted to buy one metre and was determined to get the dress out of it come what may and I had to do all sorts of tricksy layouts and cutting to achieve it.  So, all things considered, I don’t think it looks too out of whack.

Anyway, I must get back to more challenging things with zips and buttons – I feel a bit lazy and my overlocker and I have become inseparable (until it becomes unthreaded and then we have to have words – and they’re not polite ones).

By way of a change I thought I’d make another couple of sewing boxes as my last one was recently packaged up and sent  off to the States. Hexagon Sewing Box - French MercerieI’ve started to make two at once because some of the steps involved need a few hours drying time before I can continue and it seems to make sense.  Also, I only make them occasionally and when the mood takes me so at least I end up with two to tide me over until the next time I get sewing box withdrawal symptoms – an actual psychological condition I believe.

I have been cutting out the card shapes today.  When I bought the kit for this a squillion years ago, it came with pre-cut card shapes which was a luxury.  Now I have to cut my own and it is a bit of a pain.  At the moment I have some 3mm card for the exterior which makes for a very good, strong box but I feel I need some sort of power tool to get through it.  I used a Stanley knife in the end as my rotary cutter gave up the ghost and had to be passed over each line about ten times before even making an impression.

Hexagon Sewing Box Construction

These are the pieces for two boxes.  The same will have to be cut in fabrics and wadding but I shouldn’t need the Stanley knife for that.

I’ve chosen the fabric – unless I change my mind again before the cutting stage – and this one will be good for those who like a cup of tea with their sewing.  Hopefully I have enough left of the little buttons fabric for the interior as I used it for my last box so I might have to swap that one for something different.

Teacups Fabric

This one is a linen blend fabric which I actually bought to make a lampshade and then changed my mind.  The little scissor fabric will make a nice interior I think.

Hexagon Sewing Box Tialys

Actually, now that I’m looking at the photos, I think I might swap the interiors round and have the scissors with the teacups and the buttons with the birds and music.

What do you think?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by lovelucie1 on March 17, 2015 - 18:46

    Do you think the birds might get lost on the finished box? It’s quite a large pattern.
    I like the tea cups and buttons combo and also think the scissors might look great on the outside.
    You did ask…….

    • #2 by tialys on March 17, 2015 - 19:16

      I did ask Lucie and it’s always interesting to hear what other people think as I know you know from asking a similar question on your own blog!
      The bird pattern isn’t actually quite as large as it appears – those scissors are teeny tiny – and I would probably fussy cut it in order to place certain bits of the pattern prominently on the lid and sides. So far, I’ve only cut out the buttons fabric for an interior, so I’m still open to suggestions and a change of mind. I’ve just remembered that I have some fabric with dress forms on that would go well with the tiny scissors – I might see what I think about that before I do anything drastic.

      • #3 by lovelucie1 on March 17, 2015 - 19:35

        Ahhh. I was comparing the scale of the birds to the image of the tea cups above. That’s why I thought they looked big. I should have known you wouldn’t have choosen too big a print!

  2. #4 by lovelucie1 on March 17, 2015 - 18:46

    I forgot to comment on the dress. I love it. I could see my daughter in this.

    • #5 by tialys on March 17, 2015 - 19:27

      Thank you. They do the same fabric in red but I think the green is more subtle. As I only had a metre I had to make it for one of my daughters because I usually lengthen the Coco by a a couple of inches for me and I wouldn’t have had enough fabric!

  3. #6 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on March 17, 2015 - 19:11

    I love the shape of the dress. Being a cheapskate cutter myself, I’ve made lots of dresses out of 1 metre. The pattern not matching wouldn’t pass the Sewing Bee judges, but who cares – you’ve made a very wearable garment. I’ve never made boxes, and don’t think I have the patience!

    • #7 by tialys on March 17, 2015 - 19:32

      Mine sometimes wears thin when I’m trying to attach the band around the lid at the end with tiny stitches – however, it’s the last thing to be done so that helps me persevere.

  4. #8 by Jan Marriott on March 17, 2015 - 19:51

    have you got enough for 4 boxes? Boxes are very sweet, sure beats an old shoe box or biscuit tin

    • #9 by tialys on March 17, 2015 - 23:43

      Enough what Jan? Patience? I think they definitely beat shoe boxes but I am partial to some of the old biscuit tins.

  5. #10 by katechiconi on March 17, 2015 - 22:51

    Buttons out, birds in, teacups out, scissors in… But I expect you’ll go with whatever feels right in the end… Pretty tartan dress, gorgeous boxes!

    • #11 by tialys on March 17, 2015 - 23:45

      Sounds like a barn dance! I think the teacups will be out and the scissors in and the birds out and the buttons in. Because the birds fabric has a linen look and feel it will work better on the outside I think.

      • #12 by katechiconi on March 18, 2015 - 00:01

        Getting different opinions always helps to clarify one’s own, doesn’t it?

  6. #13 by sew2pro on March 20, 2015 - 20:15

    You have mastered tartan. Well done. You are now ready to advance to the next level; a V Westwood style plaid jacket (with shoulder pads.

    Sorry, was I being scary there?!

    Nice work on the boxes!

    • #14 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:33

      Mastered is definitely too strong a word. Funnily enough I was looking at my daughter’s ‘lounge around trousers’ as we call them at breakfast this morning. They are commercially made from a reputable shop and absolutely no attempt has been made to match the tartan at the leg seams. Yet somebody, not me, bought them for her without blinking an eye. Why do we worry so much?

  7. #15 by dezertsuz on April 28, 2015 - 22:49

    I am suitably impressed. =) It doesn’t seem to me than even expensive clothes try to match the plaids any longer which, I was told as a youngster learning to sew, is absolutely the only way to do it.

    • #16 by tialys on April 29, 2015 - 09:27

      However, I do use that fact to excuse myself when I don’t manage a good match.

  8. #17 by Alayna on May 12, 2015 - 04:05

    Do you know the name of the bird fabric? it’s gorgeous!

    • #18 by tialys on May 12, 2015 - 07:33

      Hi Alayna. I’m afraid I don’t know the name of this fabric. I searched all my Etsy and Ebay purchases in case I bought it online but I think I must have bought it on a trip over to the U.K. I had a sewing box in mind for it all along. I’m sorry I couldn’t help!

Leave a Reply

