Witchipoo Sock Syndrome

Anybody remember H.R.PufnStuff?  A sort of weird, psychadelic, Saturday morning cartoon from 1969/1970 with a young Jack Wild.

WItchipoo

This is the wonderful Witchipoo and she’s wearing what appear to be my last pair of socks.

TwoatatimeToeupSocks (2)

I’ll spare you a YouTube link because you will have the theme tune in your head for ever more – as I do, along with the one from the Banana Splits.

This is my latest finished pair of socks – they are on sock blockers in case you were wondering whether I’d been run over by a steamroller.

Striped Socks Toe Up

I’ve written before about ‘second sock syndrome’ – where you finish one sock and can’t be arsed to make the next one – which is why I always make two at the same time but now I appear to be suffering from ‘Witchipoo sock syndrome’.  Will the pointy hat be next?

raspberry sock blockers

These are my bright and lovely sock blockers from this Etsy shop.  Now that I have them I must make more socks but perhaps my next ones will be plain – I’m going to be singing that song for at least a week now.

Have you got any songs from the T.V. programmes of your youth that you can still remember all the words to?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on March 20, 2015 - 13:39

    I know every word of the M*A*S*H theme tune…. I wish I could knit well enough to achieve some Witchypoo socks…

    • #2 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:48

      That’s cheating! Didn’t they release it as a single? As for socks – I refuse to believe you couldn’t knit socks if you put your mind to it – you can do anything.

  2. #3 by The Secret Kingdom on March 20, 2015 - 13:59

    Witchypoo socks – I love it! Every so often I ask my husband to sing the HR Puffnstuff theme… he knows all the words.

    • #4 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:45

      I’m intrigued as to what prompts you to ask him. Do tell!

      • #5 by The Secret Kingdom on March 22, 2015 - 16:30

        Childhood was a magical time. My husband and I are both artists. When he sings the theme for HR Puffnstuff… I guess it takes me back to that place where the seed of creativity was first planted. These deep roots of imagination are something my husband and I share. A warm, nostalgic feeling. Also, he has an adorable singing voice 🙂

  3. #6 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on March 20, 2015 - 14:10

    Hudreds! and like Kate, M*A*S*H is high on the list – we’re addicted to the re-runs on FreeSat 142 at 7 every night!.

    We used to combine ad jingles “boom boom boom boom, ESSO BLUE -made to make your mouth water”

    I love your socks. I may have to go back into sock production when I’ve finished my current quilt. The only problem is that I have to wear prescription compression stockings and I don’t know how to knit those…..

    • #7 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:43

      You could wear the socks over your stockings to cheer them up. Might be a bit warm once the summer gets going though!

  4. #9 by Jan Marriott on March 20, 2015 - 14:31

    Here comes Muffin, Muffin the Mule
    Dear old Muffin, playing the fool
    here comes Muffin, everybody sing
    Here come Muffin the Mule

    dates me, I know.
    sung and played by Annette Mills as Muffin clopped across the piano top.

    • #10 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:42

      Just pretend you watched the repeats Jan. I’m sure they must have repeated things in those days as, some of the ones I remember, were originally broadcast before I was born or when I was two or three and I’m sure I wouldn’t have been watching T.V. that young or, if I was, be able to remember it.

  5. #11 by sew2pro on March 20, 2015 - 20:10

    The blue combination has the colours of my summers in Dalmatia; the blues of the sea and the greens of the pine. They’re lovely!

    For the first 10 years, I watched Yugoslav tv and can distinctly remember the enitre theme tune of a cartoon about a ‘drawn’ boy called Ivica (which means Johnny). Decades later, in the days of youtube, I discover it wasn’t a YU cartoon at all but dubbed. The original is British and called Simon in the land of Chalk Drawings!

    • #12 by tialys on March 21, 2015 - 14:37

      I vaguely remember the title of that show but I’m older than you so I wouldn’t have watched it myself. Why did they use ‘Johnny’ instead of ‘Simon’. Does Simon mean something rude in the Yugoslav language?

  6. #13 by Oh Sew Tempting on March 21, 2015 - 23:13

    Too late to spare me the theme tunes. Now I’ve got HR Puffnstuff, Banana Splits, Mash, Double Deckers, Roobarb and Custard….the whole lot in my head LOL. As for the socks, they’re FANTASTIC!!

    • #14 by tialys on March 22, 2015 - 13:44

      Sorry about that! You can wallow in a bit of nostalgia for a while now though.

  7. #15 by dezertsuz on April 28, 2015 - 22:46

    When you find something you like, you should make more. =)

    • #16 by tialys on April 29, 2015 - 09:28

      Definitely. I apply the same principle to baked goods 🙂

Leave a Reply

