Back With Some Boxes

In case you were wondering, I haven’t suffocated under a pile of dogs and cats but have been over to the U.K. for a workshop, some long overdue visits, some successful and not so successful fabric shopping and some fish and chips by the sea.  My Mum came back with me for a week so I have been spending some ‘quality’ time with her and have not back into my usual routine – such as it is.

Just to check in, I thought I’d show you those finished sewing boxes I was making even though you will see that I ignored all your advice about which fabric to match with which and stuck with my original plan but at least I asked!

Cuppa Sewing BoxSo, I matched the little teacups with the buttons

CuppaHexagonalBox (3)

and the birds and sheet music

Birds&MusicHexagonalBox (3)

with the teeny scissors

Birds&;MusicHexagonalBox (5)

Did I do wrong??

This lovely toadstool fabric will be the exterior of the my next sewing box as you can see by the progress pic below.

Toadstool Box WIP

I am photographing all the stages as I complete them because I am thinking of turning it into a photo tutorial along the lines of the tute I have already produced for the small boxes I make.

Small box tutorial

If I ever get it done, I will be looking for a couple of testers to make sure my instructions make sense.  Just let me know in the comments if you like messing with cardboard, glue,  fabric and can manage teensy stitches and would like to be considered.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on April 24, 2015 - 14:20

    Me, me! Please miss, me! I’d love to be a tester. Love the toadstools, by the way; what are you planning to line that one with?

    • #2 by tialys on April 24, 2015 - 20:05

      If it comes to fruition, you will be my premier tester.
      The lining for the toadstools is going to be a red and white checked fabric.

      • #3 by katechiconi on April 25, 2015 - 05:49

        Lovely! Very tiny neat stitches, I promise!

  2. #4 by sew2pro on April 24, 2015 - 15:00

    Ooh, tell me about the workshop you went to? Anything sewing-related?

    I have wondered about how you make your boxes (would a beginner take ages longer?) but sadly I think I’ll be to over the place to commit to pattern-test.

    • #5 by tialys on April 24, 2015 - 20:07

      It was Tilly and the Buttons ‘Copy Your Own Clothes’. I really booked it for my daughter’s benefit but I thought it would make a nice mother/daughter afternoon activity whilst I was over in the U.K. – which it did. I’ll probably blog about it soon.

  3. #6 by Jan Marriott on April 24, 2015 - 15:36

    I DID wonderwhere you were and am glad all is well.Beautiful sewing boxes.

  4. #8 by lovelucie1 on April 25, 2015 - 08:40

    I’d love to test for you when the need arises. My stitches can be very titchy.
    You boxes are beautiful and yes, you made perfect fabric choices.

  5. #9 by tialys on April 26, 2015 - 13:45

    Thanks Lucie – another perfect candidate. I have to keep trying to remember not to complete another stage without taking the photographs to go with it so it’s slow going but I’m sure I’ll get there soonish.

  6. #10 by dezertsuz on April 28, 2015 - 22:40

    Those are wonderful boxes! I do that sometimes, too, ask for opinions and then do my own. I don’t think there’s a thing wrong with that … obviously. =) How nice to have time with your mother.

  7. #11 by Anita Trickey on June 5, 2015 - 14:54

    I love these boxes! My daughter had one made for her many years ago. Are you selling patterns or tutorials pose. How much material will I need? Thanks

    • #12 by tialys on June 5, 2015 - 17:08

      Hello Anita and thank you for dropping by. I do sell a tutorial for a smaller box here https://www.etsy.com/listing/56064161/tutorial-for-small-etui-box-sewing-box?ref but if the hexagonal box is the one you like I am currently working on a tutorial. I have taken all the photographs and just need to write the text and get it tested by two of my readers who have volunteered and it will be ready. You need about 0.5m of fabric for the exterior and a fat quarter for the interior. As soon as I have the pattern ready I will be announcing it here on my blog and, now that you have kindly signed up to follow me, you will be one of the first to know.

  8. #13 by Anita Trickey on June 9, 2015 - 12:01

    Thanks that’s brilliant…Yes it is the hexagonal one I want pse 😀

Leave a Reply

