Must Love Dogs

Tialys said I could be the guest blogger today because she says I am adorable, affectionate, calm, playful and gorgeous and can’t understand why, even though everybody who knows me loves me, I keep being overlooked when people come to the kennels to adopt a dog.

This is me. My name is Blacky.

blackyblog12

When I was 5, there was great excitement at my house.  A big van came and lots of things were put inside and there were lots of suitcases and so I thought the family must be going on their holidays.  They didn’t normally take the sofa, the table and the beds though.

Soon, I was put in the car and driven somewhere a little far away.  It didn’t look like the usual kennels I stay in for my holidays.

blackyblog2

I put on my best smile as I find, when you are nice to them, you often get a few extra treats.

blackyblog8

 The family went on holiday for a much longer time than usual and one day

blackyblog7

I realised they were never coming back.

blackyblog5

Now I have been here for three years but, even though there are lots of kind people who come to take me out for walks now and again, it still doesn’t feel like home.

blackyblog15

I don’t much like sharing my kennel with male dogs but I do love the ladies.  The female dogs are usually adopted pretty quickly so I am often left alone again.

blackyblog14

Last time this happened I had a bit of a cry and had to have a good cuddle to cheer me up.

blackyblog10

Tialys’ friend Karen is my sponsor and she likes to dress me up in bright bandanas to help me attract attention to myself.  She sometimes has a little cry too.

blackyblog9

I have my own method of attracting attention which involves seeing how far I can put my tongue out.

Apart from the fact that I am a bit naughty around cats and prefer the ladies to the boys, I am a good dog – people here are always calling me that.  I can offer affection, some nice cuddles and playtimes and a calm temperament and really, that’s all I ask for in return.  Well, that and a comfy bed and a few treats now and then.

blackyblog13

For now, thank you for reading my story.

SEE HERE FOR UPDATE 

The Dog Rescue Carcassonne is a group consisting mainly of expats and some French nationals that raises funds for the S.P.A. Carcassonne (la Société Protectrice des Animaux) and this sometimes makes it possible for volunteers to transport dogs to their new homes within France and occasionally elsewhere in Europe.

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on April 26, 2015 - 12:03

    Made me cry too, but we couldn’t have a dog here, even if I could persuade Jock (which I couldn’t). I’d love to have another dog, and it’s sad that those happy days are in the past for me now.

    • #2 by tialys on April 26, 2015 - 12:47

      Not even a small couch potato of advancing years??

      I am always complaining about my dogs but I can’t imagine living in a home without them. Actually, I can. I would have cream carpets, lots of breakable items at waggy tail level and a vacuum cleaner that doesn’t have to do the job of an industrial one. But would I be happy?

      • #3 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on April 26, 2015 - 12:54

        It’s not my decision, but Jock’s. He won’t even have another cat.

      • #4 by tialys on April 26, 2015 - 13:00

        You hold him down Viv and I’ll apply the thumbscrews😉

  2. #5 by katechiconi on April 26, 2015 - 12:55

    What a lovely girl. I can’t believe she hasn’t had someone jumping at the chance to take her. So sad…. One day, we may get another dog, but not for a few years yet. I’m unlikely to be able to help the SPA, though, living where I do!

    • #6 by tialys on April 26, 2015 - 12:59

      It’s actually a boy Kate which is one reason for the difficulty. Female dogs get rehomed much more easily. Not sure why really. I have 2 males and 1 female plus cats otherwise Blacky would probably be on our sofa by now! I don’t think our fund raising efforts would run to transporting a dog over to Australia but I’m sure, if and when the time is right for you, you’ll find the perfect pooch.

      • #7 by katechiconi on April 26, 2015 - 13:16

        Yup, now I, er, know what to look for, I can see he’s a boy. I just looked, and saw a big friendly girl…

  3. #8 by Jan Marriott on April 26, 2015 - 19:08

    Oh dear, you sure know how to tug the heart strings.

  4. #10 by sew2pro on April 28, 2015 - 17:32

    He’s absolutely lovely: I love mongrels and this one looks like a bit of a sage.

    Though sad, I really enjoyed reading. You’re very good at this sort of thing! Good luck and please post about Blacky again if there are updates.

    PS My daughter had a cat called Blackie (short for Blackadder). Years later, I still miss him, though he was with us a short time.

    • #11 by tialys on April 29, 2015 - 09:02

      He does look ‘a bit of a sage’ come to think of it. There is an Open Day at the Kennels this Sunday so. we all have our fingers crossed.

  5. #12 by dezertsuz on April 28, 2015 - 22:38

    What a great post. I don’t even want a dog, but if I were there, I’d be SO tempted. He looks like a nicely well-behaved one with whom I could get along. I hope someone adopts him soon. That’s a long time to be without a family and a home.

    • #13 by tialys on April 29, 2015 - 09:01

      Especially when he’s such a good dog!

Leave a Reply

