Taking It Outside

Now the weather has cheered up immeasurably, I followed my blogging friend Kate’s advice and took my grey looking duck egg blue blanket outside for another attempt at a photo where, voila, it is now showing its true colour.  (have a look at my last post  if you want to see the difference)

Huge Cable Blanket

I’ve finished another hexagonal sewing box but not just any old sewing box because this one has been my model for the tutorial I’m thinking of producing.

HexagonBoxToadstools (3)

I thought these lovely bright colours would show up well in the gazillions of photos I’ve taken of each cutty, sticky, teeny stitchy step.

HexagonBoxToadstools (1)

  I love those toadstools and, even though the interior check made my eyes go funny when I was working with it, the good matching cannot be denied.

Hexagonal Box Toadstools

I couldn’t resist a ‘nature’ shot.

So, Kate and Lucie, start girding your loins, saving good bits of card and stocking up on glue because I might be taking you both up on your offers of being tutorial testers for me before too long.

I have stopped procrastinating – well, a bit anyway – and removed the two lengths of  fabric I bought to make trousers for Mlle Tialys the younger from the carrier bags they have languished in since I returned from the U.K. and, whatsmore, I have actually washed them.  I just need to decide now whether to use Sewaholic’s Thurlow pattern

sewaholic thurlow

or this vintage(ish) Burda pattern.

Vintage Burda Pattern

Which one do you think would be better for a ‘generous’ hip and thigh area?

I could have shown you a pup photo again today because I found two Husky dogs in my garden this morning but a friend recently mentioned my blog was getting a bit ‘doggy’.  I know I talk about sewing and knitting and crafting and dogs (nearly said dogging! :o) and other more general things on my blog but, I don’t want to become too much of  a ‘dog botherer’ so I’ll keep that story for another day and show you a picture of my old cockerel instead.  I think he’s about 8 years old.

Cockerel 8 years

He is still staggering around, despite the fact that, when I thought he was on his last legs a couple of months ago I Googled ways of humanely euthanizing him.  I was quite traumatized by the experience. I found various ways of dispatching him including the usual neck wringing, chopping off of head and snipping the throat stuff.  In some methods guns were involved  :o   An ingenious one seemed to be standing him in a sealed container on a tray with bicarbonate of soda beneath whilst trickling vinegar in and lastly, and possibly the most interesting for any curious passers-by,  putting him in another sort of container and taping it up to the exhaust pipe of the car.

Needless to say, he is still with us and I just hope that, when his time comes he will go peacefully in his sleep which is all anybody can really wish for.  Now, I bet you wish I’d shown you the Huskies instead😉

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on May 12, 2015 - 19:13

    Your cocky is still very handsome.

    • #2 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:00

      He is – and still very noisy!

  2. #3 by zaynabsophiarose on May 12, 2015 - 20:10

    The blanket looks great, what a big difference natural lighting makes.

    I think the Sewaholic pattern would be more flattering, I think I remember hearing that the patterns are geared for more pear shaped ladies.

    Eagerly awaiting the sewing box pattern, I could do with one….or two!

    • #4 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:07

      I think you’re right about the Sewaholic patterns being suitable for pear shapes and I’m leaning towards using that one at the moment especially as it’s in English whereas the other one isn’t!

  3. #5 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on May 12, 2015 - 20:27

    A very handsome fellow. I like the second pair better – I am over-endowed in the hip and thigh area, and I know which would be better!

    • #6 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:11

      Yes, I think it’s the plain and flat appearance of the cut around the waist and hips that would make that pair good for the ‘over-endowed’. However, I’m just not sure they aren’t a little too wide in the leg for her to be comfortable with.

  4. #7 by Thimberlina on May 12, 2015 - 21:16

    Stilling loving the blanket! I’ve sourced the huge needles required on Amazon. Now on the look out for wool.
    If your cock ever looks like he’s struggling more than normal how about trying him with liquid paracetamol? My sister gives it to her foes. I should image a small dose of 125mg would perk him up. A bigger dose might do the opposite…..🐓 (ps I’m not a vet! This is lay man advice!!)

    • #8 by Thimberlina on May 12, 2015 - 21:17

      Productive text,,,,,!?!? My sister gives it to her dogs!! 😳

      • #9 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:15

        Drat! I had this image of your ‘evil’ sister going around dosing up her enemies with over the counter painkillers.

      • #10 by Thimberlina on May 13, 2015 - 08:21

        Haha….😄

    • #11 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:12

      I can’t wait to see the one you make. What colour are you going to go for? My next one is going to be a rusty orange colour.

      • #12 by Thimberlina on May 13, 2015 - 08:24

        We’ve just decorated the lounge & our new couch is a soft grey colour. We’ve not decided what out ‘accent’ colour will be yet but I’ll link it up to you when it’s done. I
        If it’s knitted with 6 strands, how many balls did you use altogether? Which wool do you use? 😀

      • #13 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 08:40

        You use 6 balls of 400g. I arranged them with each separate ball in a carrier bag within a large cardboard box – this way you don’t get any (many!) tangles. For the first, grey one, I used Hayfields Bonus Aran (400g) and for the second, duck egg blue one, I used James C. Brett Rustic Aran (400g). I think the Hayfields gives slightly better definition on the cables but I found the James C. Brett slightly easier to knit with but both are good as they are mostly acrylic – so washable – but with 20% wool content. You can get good deals on both those from pro sellers on Ebay or, if you prefer, from LoveKnitting or Black Sheep Wools – both of which have very good services.

      • #14 by Thimberlina on May 13, 2015 - 08:45

        Thanks for that….brilliant, I’ll have a look 😀

  5. #15 by sew2pro on May 12, 2015 - 21:48

    Huskies are photogenic internet tarts so your cockerel deserves a little limelight. Sorry to hear his passing is… almost scheduled.
    We had an ill chicken once and my mum made me hold the body while she chopped the neck with a machete (we were living in Africa where everyone had a machete). ‘Don’t let go’ she said, but forgot to add ‘for a while…’ I let go and the headless creature began to sprint round the garden. It was terribly grotesque and more than a little funny.

    Before you cut your fabric, I suggest making a muslin (the Sewaholic pattern looks more current). You may find some figures just don’t suit pants (I’m one of them. I never got past the muslin stage when making Clovers). Good luck!

    • #16 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:23

      EEK! That is exactly why I don’t feel able to do it. When we were in the U.K. I took one of our poorly chickens to the vet to be ‘put to sleep’. Can you imagine doing that in France? I have a neighbour who tells me she is ‘good at it’ but she is very elderly and I’m not sure she’d be strong enough to ‘do for’ a full grown cockerel efficiently and painlessly. Their cockerels are dispatched as soon as they get to the crowing stage – you only hear them start to crow for one day and then, I imagine, they’re in the pot.
      A muslin – I know I definitely should – but will I?

  6. #17 by Ann on May 12, 2015 - 21:48

    I always smile in anticipation whenever a Tialys email drops into my inbox – you did not disappoint. I vote for the second pants pattern (and think I may have even owned it!)

  7. #19 by katechiconi on May 12, 2015 - 23:27

    I have my box making kit at the ready! And the duck egg blue is truly lovely in daylight where it was just sad under artificial light – I always try to wait for sunshine when photographing my quilts, it really does make a difference. Nice bench, too! I think the Burda pattern is more suited to a generous hip department, as Viv said, and for a first time trouser maker, avoiding pockets is probably a good plan. And the suggestion to make a muslin is also good, but I always find myself wishing I’d just taken the plunge and used the correct fabric if the muslin turns out OK, because now I have to make the pattern twice!

    • #20 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:28

      I actually took some photos earlier in the day but then the effect of dappled sunlight didn’t work – the bench is on my terrace which is partially shaded by a hazelnut tree – so I took it back outside in the early evening.

      I’m with you on muslins. I usually try to make one in less expensive fabric which I still quite like so that, if it turns out O.K., it’s wearable. However, that’s not as easy to do with trousers as it is with a blouse or even a dress so I might just go for it which I know is not sensible at all.

      • #21 by katechiconi on May 13, 2015 - 11:04

        One blogger who really takes fit seriously is Emmely over at Infectious Stitches. She did a series of posts about creating her own custom jeans pattern, and the stages she went through to get a perfect fit. If you’re at all interested, the series starts here:
        https://infectiousstitches.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/sewing-jeans-muslin-2
        The steps and attention to detail can be applied to anything, and because English isn’t her first language, the instructions are very clear and simple, not too technical.

      • #22 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 14:55

        I will go and have a look. Clear, simple and not too technical sounds right up my street!

  8. #23 by Beth on May 12, 2015 - 23:58

    Wow that sewing box looks amazing! I’ve not seen anything like it before!
    I’ve never sewn a Sewaholic pattern myself (I’ve never sewn trousers actually…) but know they’re good for pear shapes so bigger hips!

    • #24 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 07:31

      Thanks Beth – I’ve been intermittently making the sewing boxes for a long time now. They are quite labour intensive but fun to make and a bit of a change from making clothing.
      These would be my first pair of trousers too although I have made shorts with pockets, fly opening and belt loops so it would just be like shorts with longer legs, right?

  9. #25 by lovelucie1 on May 13, 2015 - 13:28

    Love the new box and yes, I am waiting your instruction. Sturdy board is no problem but what glue would you advise. I like to be prepared! I usually favour a pritt stick type glue for sticking fabric onto card but also have a fabric glue too.
    Can’t advise you on trousers having never made any. But I would google both and view the images that come up. I find this invaluable and can quite put me off or set me up for a new pattern.

    • #26 by tialys on May 13, 2015 - 14:54

      I use both glue sticks and a strong all purpose glue that I have used for jewellery but is also suitable for fabrics so you will be fine with what you have.
      As for looking at images for patterns, I do this too although, in the case of a recent Colette one, I did it too late and only decided I didn’t actually like it after printing off pages and pages of the PDF pattern and taping it all together.

  10. #27 by claire93 on May 29, 2015 - 11:48

    what gruesome ways to ends a cockerel’s days ( car exhaust????? that’s horrible!).
    I live in France and if/when I need to find a humane way to dispatch of my hens, I will have no qualms about paying the vet to stick a needle in them. I don’t care that I come across as that insane English woman ^^

    • #28 by tialys on May 29, 2015 - 19:52

      I must admit Claire that, despite all my Googling efforts, that is exactly what I will do.

Leave a Reply

