Hot Dogs and Cool Cats

I think I chose the hottest day of the year so far to go and walk some dogs at the dog shelter at Carcassonne yesterday.  At first, they thought it might be too hot for the dogs to go out but, a tiny breeze sprung up and it was decided that it would be O.K. as long as we didn’t go too far.

We tested out a dog’s tolerance of cats by taking in him in the cat house to see how he got on.   Filou, as the little dog in question is called,  didn’t seem bothered at all and the cats seem to sense this as several were rubbing themselves against him and purring and generally being chilled as only cats can be, even in 30 degrees or more.

filou

I took my camera and, because I am in ‘dog botherer’ mode at the moment, as always after a visit to the kennels, you can read more about the dogs I’ve featured by clicking  on the photos.

Gus (1)

Handsome isn’t he?

Hindy (4)

I just love those ears.

Gordon

Gorgeous Gordon who is at a disadvantage here in France because they tend not to like black dogs.

Puppies

Hopefully these 5 month old beautiful black pups will fare better.

Too Shy

Some were just too shy to come out of their kennels

Rescue Dog Beauceron - Fanta

and some weren’t shy at all!

dogrescuecarcassonnesign1

Normal (sewing, crafting, knitting and general musings) service will be resumed shortly but thanks for reading and for looking at my photos.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on June 3, 2015 - 15:18

    Oh you lucky girl! Warmth and doggy kisses and walking in Carcassonne – what more could anyone want!

    • #2 by tialys on June 3, 2015 - 16:03

      That is actually my friend Sabina in the photograph getting a doggy kiss. She sponsors little Filou and buys him flea collars and takes him to be groomed etc. I did get some love too though – just nobody lurking nearby with a camera – thank goodness!

  2. #3 by sew2pro on June 3, 2015 - 15:26

    These always make me a bit tearful (that’s not a criticism, keep ’em coming!). Do you write the biographies? There are so many beautiful animals. Brownie looks like Rowlf, the piano player, in the Muppet Show. Gus is my favourite, but mostly ’cause he’s the first I saw.

    • #4 by tialys on June 3, 2015 - 16:09

      YES! He does look like Rowlf, you’re right. I saw him ‘in the flesh’ yesterday and was admiring him in his kennel. Gus really is gorgeous. Big and powerful, he nearly had me off my feet at one point and my (stronger ‘cos she works with horses) friend had to come and rescue me. We need more male volunteers to walk the dogs really otherwise the larger ones don’t get taken out. Mr. T. would be ideal but, as he works away during the week, he has lots of chores to catch up on at the weekend and we live over an hour away from the kennels so it would take up a big chunk of time. Also, and more to the point, he goes all silly and just a little bit tearful when he visits the kennels and I’m scared we wouldn’t come home with an empty car boot:/

  3. #5 by Jan Marriott on June 3, 2015 - 18:05

    Well done, I admire your commitment. Now I have to figure out how to put names on photos, as well as giving links to shop.

    • #6 by tialys on June 3, 2015 - 18:20

      Hopefully a ‘Blogger’ person will help you as I don’t know what goes on over there. However, the writing on the photographs is done in a photo editing programme. I use Gimp (it’s free). Hours of fun (and a bit of frustration) to be had on there😉

  4. #7 by katechiconi on June 3, 2015 - 22:21

    Too far away… Love those pups.

    • #8 by tialys on June 3, 2015 - 23:13

      Yes – I think we’ll have to stick to Europe. Our fund raising efforts have a way to go before we can afford to transport any of them to Australia😉

  5. #9 by Jodie on June 6, 2015 - 13:51

    Oh I wish I could win lotto and buy .. How much do you think ? A hundred? a thousand acres? And give all the cats and dogs a home. You could come and visit. I could build you a house ( I will be a gajillionairre) and we could have a live in vet. Maybe some horses and cows and ducks and chooks too. Not that I have thought about this much at all.

  6. #10 by tialys on June 6, 2015 - 14:21

    That would be wonderful. It might even tempt me to get on a plane for longer than the couple of hours I usually limit myself to. I have a nephew who’s a vet and a good friend who knows all about horses so we’re almost there really. Just need to win that money!

Leave a Reply

