Trying To Make Sense

Last time I made one of my hexagonal sewing boxes I took photographs at each stage so that, as requested, I could produce a tutorial.   I even asked for testers.  Then I sort of forgot about it for a bit but, when I started making another box I got out my notebook and began writing the instructions that will, quite soon hopefully, be married up with the photos to form a tutorial which will eventually be available in my Etsy shop.

WritingHexTutorial

Because I have been making these for such a long time, it’s difficult to think like a cartonnage ‘virgin’ so that’s why I needed people who don’t usually make them to give it a try before I release my instructions to a (hopefully) wider audience.

So, Kate and Lucie, if you are still up for it, get your glue sticks and cardboard ready and choose your fabrics as the day draws closer when I will ask you to ‘get sticky with it’ and try out my instructions.  I am sure you will be able to give me lots of constructive criticism and I just hope I can remember which file I put all the photographs in and how to put a PDF together.

What do you think of the latest combination of fabrics by the way?  I like the Parisian theme going on – you can’t have too many Eiffel Towers, French typography and handbags can you?

This morning, I woke up really early – 5.30 – and couldn’t get back to sleep so I cut the fabric out for another box with a slightly different feel to it using this Michael Miller fabric as I thought it would make a change from the more ‘traditional’ fabrics and be fun maybe for a young sewing enthusiast.

-Michael-Miller-retro-comic-fabric

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by lovelucie1 on June 13, 2015 - 09:38

    Yay! I can see at least 3 Christmas presents sorted with this. Can’t wait to get started. Looking forward to trying something different.

    • #2 by tialys on June 13, 2015 - 17:31

      Ooer! I’d better get a move on then.

      • #3 by lovelucie1 on June 13, 2015 - 17:33

        Hopefully you are aiming for something sooner than December?

      • #4 by tialys on June 13, 2015 - 17:44

        I am. It’s done – ‘just’ needs transferring onto the computer and transforming into a PDF.

  2. #5 by katechiconi on June 13, 2015 - 15:54

    I’m still up for it! All I need is a new glue stick. I’ve always loved the combination of pink and grey, so am bound to find your combination irresistible! I have an Auntie birthday coming up soon, so whenever you’re ready…. How much fabric, roughly, do you think will be needed – just so I don’t fall in love with a scrap that’s just not big enough?

  3. #6 by tialys on June 13, 2015 - 17:33

    Half a yard/metre for the exterior and a quarter (fat or normal) for the interior.

    • #7 by katechiconi on June 14, 2015 - 10:38

      Great, that tells me what I *can’t* use in the scrap department!

Leave a Reply

