Off The Cuff

 

 Sometimes Often I go into my workroom for one reason and end up doing something completely different.  Something I hadn’t even planned to do.  Yesterday was one of those times.  I have a pair of trousers – half done – which I keep seeing out of the corner of my eye and I know they need finishing but,  because they need altering and faffing with, I just can’t get my head round messing with them at the moment.  So an unplanned project got done instead.

Some might call it procrastination.

Sewaholic Renfrew Top

I made a Sewaholic Renfrew top.   Are you thinking that fabric is a bit ‘urgent’?  It is quite busy for me but I bought the fabric on Etsy a few months ago and thought I would move it on from my stash – I need the space.

Renfrew Short Sleeve Top

This is me in my customary ‘bring on the firing squad’ pose with the fabric appearing a bit pinker than in reality as I had to mess with the lighting a bit.   It is actually more of a salmon pink as in the other two pics.  I couldn’t go any further up or down as I was still in my early morning dog walking leggings and my dog walking hair and face, none of which is a pretty sight.  There’s no need for you to suffer and anyway it’s the top you are interested in if you are interested in anything at all here.

Matching the Side Seams!

Because of my abysmal attempt at matching one of my side seams on my Reglisse dress (see post), I wanted to  show you that I can actually do it if the stars are aligned correctly and I concentrate.  Sorry it’s on a mannequin – her neck is even scraggier than mine but she is probably more than 100 years older than me so I’m not judging – but I couldn’t really model the side seams and operate the remote gizmo of the camera at the same time.

I was in two minds whether to put the cuffs on the sleeves and round the bottom – more matching hell – but, in the end, I decided to go for it because I think the cuffs make it look more like a ‘top’ and less like a t-shirt which is what this fabric called for.  I won’t go on about the Sewaholic pattern because everybody has made it and, suffice it to say, it is fast, easy and gives good results and you can’t ask for more than that😉

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on June 25, 2015 - 09:49

    I love the fabric, it’s elegant, formal and decorative. And you’ve made a good job of those seams, so your reputation is retrieved. Not that your friends give a stuff about seams, we just love the stuff you make!

    • #2 by tialys on June 25, 2015 - 12:05

      Thanks Kate. It’s good to get out of your comfort zone now and again isn’t it? I have a friend who only ever wears grey, black and white. She always looks good but I don’t know how she can resist some of the lovely colours and designs available in clothing. I know somebody else who only ever wears black – even down to the accessories – I suppose it makes mixing and matching easier but, to me, she always looks the same.

  2. #3 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on June 25, 2015 - 10:25

    I could do with one of those. It would be very slimming on me (who needs a bit of slimming). The material is lovely.

    • #4 by tialys on June 25, 2015 - 12:02

      I have just a bit of the fabric left Viv. You’d probably be able to get a boob tube out of it🙂

  3. #6 by jendavismiller on June 25, 2015 - 14:03

    Very nice top. I agree, the cuffs make it more polished. I actually think the mannequin is rather cool and edgy – the neck resembles my own, but we’d need to round her out! How does one find a mannequin that fits?

    • #7 by tialys on June 25, 2015 - 15:05

      Well, these antique mannequins I’ve got are in various stages of tattiness which I love. This particular one is actually shaped for when women used to wear corsets so her bust is all pushed together and outward and her waist is practically non-existant. I do have a modern dress form which can be adjusted to your own measurements. It took me ages to turn all the little wheels, etc. to get it to be my shape but, despite making the chest measurement the same, she didn’t have much of an actual bust poor girl, so I had to put one of my bras on and pad it out. It looks a sight I can tell you. However, since then, I have lost some weight and am going to have to adjust it all over again. I’m working myself up to the task.

      • #8 by jendavismiller on June 26, 2015 - 17:11

        hmmmm, I’ve seen some forms made from chicken wrapped around the body and then wrapped in duct tape. Good gracious!

  4. #9 by lovelucie1 on June 25, 2015 - 14:04

    Lovely wearable top. And I do like the deep cuffs and hem. I’ve not yet made a Renfrew although I do have the pattern. I thought you said it was too hot for sewing? Has it cooled down? We are actually experiencing signs of summer here!!!!

    • #10 by tialys on June 25, 2015 - 15:00

      I have made a few Renfrews – I like the scoop neck. One of the versions is a cowl neck so I’m surprised you haven’t made one yet!😉 It is very hot but, being France and living in a very old house, we have extremely thick walls and shutters so, at the beginning of summer at least, the interior stays quite cool. I have to wait until evening though if I want to knit.

  5. #11 by sew2pro on June 25, 2015 - 18:39

    I was a bit alarmed at seeing the mannequin’s neck … just for a tic, before realizing it’s not human. Really nice work. I noticed when window shopping today that such prints are very current.

    • #12 by tialys on June 26, 2015 - 07:32

      Looks like she’s spent too much time in the sun without the benefit of Factor 30 doesn’t it? It’s good when you accidentally stumble upon what’s current although I’m not sure anybody around these parts will appreciate that. I wore it yesterday which was a bit of a mistake as, after a hazy start, it was ‘scorchio’ and I got a bit hot flushy so I think the fabric is probably best suited for cooler days.

  6. #13 by Liz on June 25, 2015 - 23:21

    It would be Far better modeled on you. You are much more attractive than the mannequin even without makeup or hairdo. We want to see the human making this stuff and wearing this stuff. We like humans, we like you or we wouldn’t be looking at your blog!

    • #14 by tialys on June 26, 2015 - 07:58

      Thanks Liz. I do try to model clothes myself but there was nobody else in the house that day and I was using a remote with the camera on a tripod and, as the room is only so wide, it would have been hard to get all of me in and still show the top off to best advantage. I used the mannequin for the side shot as it looked better than me twisting around with remote in hand. Having said all that, I do absolutely hate having my photo taken. Although, as with the things I make, I’m probably far more critical than other people would be – hope so anyway😉

  7. #15 by Beth on June 25, 2015 - 23:30

    Lovely top! You should wear a busy print more often, it looks great. I’ll have you know not everyone has made a Renfrew…. I haven’t and don’t have the pattern!

    • #16 by tialys on June 26, 2015 - 07:49

      You rebel, you. If you’re into sewing with knits it’s actually a good, basic versatile pattern – scoop neck, v-neck, cowl neck, different sleeves and you can turn it into a dress with an easy pattern hack if the mood takes you.

  8. #17 by Thimberlina on June 26, 2015 - 12:14

    Love the pattern and colours, it doesn’t look too busy made up. It’s been a while since I made a Renfrew, might have to dig my pattern out! 😀

    • #18 by tialys on June 26, 2015 - 13:52

      It’s a nice, quick wardrobe filler and stash buster pattern isn’t it?
      How are you getting on with your humungus knitted blanket – have you started yet? I have another one to show but have to delay the post because it’s a gift and I haven’t given it to her yet and don’t want to spoil the surprise in case she reads my blog.

  9. #19 by Jan Marriott on June 26, 2015 - 21:04

    That is the first time I have heard ‘ urgent’ as an adjective to describe fabric.It must go into my vocabulary

    • #20 by tialys on June 27, 2015 - 09:14

      I don’t know where I got it from Jan – I might even have made it up – but I use it often and people just seem to know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

