Taking It Easy

According to Wikipedia Hot Yoga refers to yoga exercises performed under hot and humid conditions. Often associated with the style devised by Bikram Choudhury, hot yoga is now used to describe any number of yoga styles that use heat to increase an individual’s flexibility in the poses. In colder climates, hot yoga often seeks to replicate the heat and humidity of India where yoga originated

According to me Hot Yoga is when it’s too hot in the loft where we normally practice so you go outside in the garden instead.

Outside Yoga

 

Here we are giving a whole new meaning to ‘putting your head on the block’

It was still quite hot but, apart from a few insects settling on me and having a nibble, the fact I didn’t have any sun lotion on and the ground sloping a bit, it was wonderful.

I am usually slightly more ‘active’ than this photo would have you believe but this was taken at the relaxation stage at the end – honest!

, , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on July 7, 2015 - 15:27

    Are you sure you aren’t having a nap?

    • #2 by tialys on July 7, 2015 - 21:08

      I wasn’t far off to be honest Viv 🙂

  2. #3 by katechiconi on July 7, 2015 - 15:33

    I’m deeply envious of that hip rotation! One of these days, I’ll get to the local yoga studio and see if they can do anything for me…

  3. #4 by tialys on July 7, 2015 - 21:10

    It’s a pose with an unpronounceable name which I like to call ‘Hello Boys’.

    Seriously, you should give yoga a go and see if you can free up those hips and other problem bits. Just make sure you get a good teacher who knows what they are doing.

    • #5 by jendavismiller on July 7, 2015 - 21:41

      “Hello Boys”…. that’s funny! I wonder if I stopped into a yoga class and asked to learn that pose, would they know right off what it is? I’m betting they would.

      • #6 by katechiconi on July 7, 2015 - 23:03

        I’ve checked, and the local studio has a beginner/starter offer of $30 for unlimited sessions in the first 2 weeks, so I could really have a crack at it before I decide whether or not it’s for me. However, it will have to wait until the recent surgery permits me to raise my right arm above shoulder height and I’m off the extra pain meds – I don’t want to be doing new damage I can’t feel! I can already do a Half-Hello, it’s the left hip that’s not so, um, friendly! Flexibility’s never been my problem, lots of double jointedness, but now I’m paying the price good and proper.

      • #7 by tialys on July 8, 2015 - 09:05

        Yes Kate, definitely wait until you are ready. Yoga looks easy but, if you do it right, it can be quite physically demanding. One good thing with yoga poses is that there are usually different levels for each pose so you can start gently and progress. I really think a lot is down to the teacher you have – if he or she is made aware of any difficulties you have they should make sure you do the pose at the optimum level for you or, if necessary, not at all. I’m lucky because our class is small and our teacher very experienced and knowledgeable – they aren’t all like that and when she is away ‘travelling’ in the winter I have struggled to find another class as good. You should definitely give it a go though.

      • #8 by katechiconi on July 8, 2015 - 11:06

        Next week or the week after, once I’m allowed to lift my arm! I’ll let you know how I go.

  4. #9 by Thimberlina on July 8, 2015 - 00:19

    I feel like everyone’s doing yoga except me!! Think I’m going to look into it. Like the sound of hot & sunny yoga best! 😎

    • #10 by tialys on July 8, 2015 - 08:58

      I like it. I do Zumba for cardiovascular exercise but yoga is so good for posture, flexibility and balance. I must admit, I’m not too into the meditative, spiritual side of it but the class I go to is light on that. A lot depends on your teacher so, if you don’t like the first class you do, try another if there is a choice where you are.

      • #11 by jendavismiller on July 8, 2015 - 13:36

        I like it, but haven’t done it regularly. The Y right down the street has several options, it’s probably time to give it a go again. I need some modifications due to arthritis and such, but when I’m diligent, moving is just so much easier. hmmm, there is a class tomorrow night. Maybe I’ll get back at it?

      • #12 by tialys on July 10, 2015 - 13:40

        I seem to have inspired two or three people to give it a try or take it up again. Your hips will thank me!

      • #13 by Thimberlina on July 10, 2015 - 21:43

        I might have a look at buying a DVD. Every week is different cos of my shifts so it’s impossible to do a class if it’s the same time each week.

  5. #14 by sew2pro on July 8, 2015 - 14:53

    Hot yoga sounds great and I’m sure it would complement my running. In fact, I often lie in bed reading (my Kindle…) in your Hello Boys position to stretch out my hips. I’ll sign up when it gets cold again and I want to remind myself what it’s like to feel in the tropics. Can be very expensive though.

    • #15 by tialys on July 10, 2015 - 13:37

      You should try my version – it’s cheaper although harder to find in the winter of course. I hate running – I find it uncomfortable although, strangely, I love my Zumba class which also has wobbly bits flying in all directions.

  6. #16 by dezertsuz on July 17, 2015 - 16:16

    I love that you have a companion with whom to do this. I find it so much harder to do any kind of exercise alone. That looks like a lovely spot for both exercise and relaxation.

  7. #17 by tialys on July 18, 2015 - 08:36

    There are usually more of us in the class – in fact there are 4 other women, not including the teacher, out of camera shot. Our teacher goes ‘travelling’ for several months every winter and we always vow to keep up the good work during her absence but never quite manage it. Last winter I found another class to attend until she returned because, as you say, it is difficult to motivate yourself and, even though one of the other class members is my neighbour so it would be easy to pop next door and do a yoga session, it’s just not the same.

Leave a Reply

