Miss October

I mentioned my tentative foray into block swapping in an earlier post.  It has been organised by Kate over at Tall Tales From Chiconia  and Sue From The Magpies Nest and involves twelve people from all over the World.  It’s called Foot²Freestyle  because each block will have a finished size of 12 inches or a foot, clever eh?   Every month it is the turn of  one of the twelve participants to receive three blocks from each of the other eleven participants so there will be eleven parcels to open.   It’s my turn in October – I’m excited!  I also have to make three blocks of my own, making 36 big blocks with which to make a 72 inch square quilt.

pin up girl

Bearing in mind the year long fabric fast I have just started, it is lucky that everybody chose their colours right at the beginning of the swap so I think I have enough fabric to make all the remaining blocks between now June 2016.

I have made the blocks for Miss September which is Sue, one of the organisers, she’s asked for black and white with a ‘hot’ colour of our choice, but I can’t show photographs of them yet as it will spoil the surprise when she opens her package.

I’ve made the three for my own quilt so I’ll show the photos of those instead.  The colours I chose were dark grey, with light grey, white, turquoise and touches of coral or orange.  Rabbits not obligatory!

Bug Jar Block

I said earlier that I made a ‘tentative foray’ into the world of block swaps and that is because, although I’ve been doing patchwork on and off for years, some of the others have made it into an art form and seem to make a quilt a week.  Therefore, I decided to concentrate on colours and fabrics and keep the designs simple.  Mind you, even then, I seem to cut off points and go ‘wonky’ from time to time.  I’ll never win any prizes but I’m enjoying it.  The bug jar above is a fun design, I think and bottling rabbits is a little different to the usual spiders, etc.

Random Patchwork

Some years ago I made a faux ‘crazy’ quilt using this block.  It’s supposed to look as if it’s been randomly pieced but actually there are three pieces cut with a template and the rest by measurement and they are then joined together to make a block.  In this way, you can achieve a random looking quilt by mixing up the fabrics used for each piece and turning the block around so that the total effect looks ‘crazy’.

Anvil Block

I like the anvil block because it has points, but not too many, and I’ve been making a few of these so I’m managing to keep more of the points in the actual design now!  The grey patterned fabric in the background will be featuring quite heavily in the near future and the reason for that will be revealed in a future post.  However, the words ‘I’m never bothering to make a dress again’ might give you a clue what the subject matter will be.

Do you like the colours I’ve chosen?  I was inspired partly by the Riley Blake fabric below from Sew Scrumptious Fabrics where I am always tempted by the beautiful range.  Note the coral coloured feet and eyes – a contrast I have made more of  in my colour scheme.   I meant to buy this fabric to incorporate into my blocks but didn’t get round to it and now, because of my fabric fast, I can’t😦

Riley Blake Cottage Birds

Actually, now I’m looking again, I think those little feet are pink but you get my drift.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on September 10, 2015 - 17:46

    Well done, specially with the points – a bugbear of mine, even though I know the formula of adding 7/8″ to the finished size of triangles! Somehow I still often finish with blunt points.

    • #2 by tialys on September 10, 2015 - 19:50

      Mine are fine until I trim the finished block to the required size and then, with a sinking heart, I realise they might be lost once somebody joins it to another one😦

  2. #3 by Magpie Sue on September 10, 2015 - 19:00

    Oh ho! Maybe someone else in the swap will find that Riley Blake print and incorporate it into blocks for you! ;- ) Your blocks look great; I love that you thought outside the square and have made a few jars. You might just get a jar or two in return!

    • #4 by tialys on September 10, 2015 - 19:51

      Thanks Sue. It’s good fun rummaging through the stash and seeing what I can come up with to put inside the jars.

  3. #5 by katechiconi on September 10, 2015 - 19:36

    I’m hoping the “I’m never bothering to make a dress again” fabric will hold out till it’s my turn, because I really like it, and it works beautifully in my colour scheme too!

    • #6 by tialys on September 10, 2015 - 19:52

      It will! I had your blocks in mind too.

  4. #7 by jendavismiller on September 10, 2015 - 20:55

    Just a happy bystander here, enjoying the creative process you ladies go through………the gray colorway is marvelous! Are those rabbits chasing fireflies?

    • #8 by tialys on September 11, 2015 - 08:49

      They could be. I’m actually wondering now whether they are supposed to be hares – some of them appear to be boxing. Or do rabbits do that too?

  5. #9 by Jan Marriott on September 11, 2015 - 00:10

    I trust all these fabrics are from your stash…

    • #10 by tialys on September 11, 2015 - 08:51

      They are Jan. I can’t tell you how many emails I seem to be getting at the moment telling me how some of my favourite suppliers have new stock, or a sale, or a ‘welcome back’ discount voucher code. I just have to close the emails without opening

  6. #11 by Nanette on September 11, 2015 - 01:01

    Canned rabbits are a great touch! It’s good to see your colours together before I start your blocks, good inspiration. Love the Riley Blake.

    • #12 by tialys on September 11, 2015 - 09:05

      Funnily enough, I’ve just been reading your post on putting vegetables in jars for sauerkraut. Somewhere I have some fabric with garden peas on it – I’ll have to look and see if anybody in F2F has requested green in their colours😉

  7. #13 by Nanette on September 12, 2015 - 00:14

    🙂 ha ha it’s your signature block, you’l be known forever now as the jar quilter ……..and such fun to hunt for interesting and quirky things to can…..shame you’re not buying😦

  8. #14 by Nanette on September 12, 2015 - 00:19

    and a ps….just saw your September blocks for Sue….oh my, so nice. Love the hot colour….won’t say what in case Sue reads this…..and the way you’ve combined them with the black and white…..stunning!

    • #15 by tialys on September 12, 2015 - 14:47

      Thanks for the encouragement Nanette!!

  9. #16 by knettycraft on September 15, 2015 - 19:24

    Your colour scheme is a real challenge…. Thank you for sharing your own Blocks that early. The Riley Blake fabric is gorgeus, I love it!

    • #17 by tialys on September 16, 2015 - 08:41

      I didn’t really try to present a challenge with these colours but I suppose it is really because grey isn’t something one would normally have a lot of in a fabric stash.

  10. #18 by Nanette on September 24, 2015 - 13:29

    I found THE best fabrics today in some of your chosen colours, neat little critters that might…or might not * )….end up in a jar. And the other good thing is the fabric line is designed by an Aussie woman, with a very Australian feel. I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

