Flo’s Five-A-Day

Hello all, it’s Flo the guest blogger again.  The Missus is in a slight depression because she is on some sort of ‘fast’ – something to do with not buying any fabric for a year or something – so she said I could do the post today.

This is me – gorgeous aren’t I?  I am not on a fast of any sort.  In fact I wanted to make sure that, like me, you are getting your five portions of fruit and veg a day so that you too can be glossy and beautiful with a nice wet nose.

Rescue Dog

I love fruit and will go to great lengths to get it.  I like it when mangoes are ‘two for the price of one’ in the market because the Missus won’t notice if I take one out of the fruit bowl.  I just need to make sure she doesn’t find the chewed up stone on the rug like she did last time.  She said ‘fruit doesn’t grow on trees you know’ which is patently untrue because here is a picture of me posing beneath my favourite tree where the plums hang down low enough for me to reach.  I think she was trying to be funny because she laughed a lot after she said it although the rest of the humans groaned.

Dog with Plums

I was quite upset when the plums were finished but now I’ve found that I love figs.  Apart from the Missus, who eats them with cream cheese and bagels, the humans in the house don’t like figs so she used to pick them and share them with me and my boys and the chickens.  I call the other dogs ‘my boys’ because, even though I’m the youngest and I’m a girl, I’m in charge and I boss them around.  The Missus calls me a ‘dominant bitch’  – is that a good thing do you think?

Dog eating Fig

Here I am with one of the figs that I sourced myself.  I would prefer it with cream cheese too but don’t want to push my luck.

dog licking lips

They really are delicious.  I don’t mind if I get the ones with wasp poo inside either.

Dog eating figs from tree

This is why the Missus doesn’t share with me any more.  I pick my own.

dog picking figs

Sometimes I have to get a bit inventive but it’s all in a good cause.  It is very important to get your five a day.  I actually prefer fifteen or twenty.

Taz

My oldest boy ‘Taz’ relies on me to shake down some fruit for him as he’s not quite as athletic as he used to be.  I don’t mind though because he has introduced me to the delights of windfall apples.

Dog Tennis Ball

The other one is only interested in his tennis ball – you can tell by my face what I think of his silliness.

The Missus says that she thinks I might be addicted but at least clearing up after me in the garden is a much more ‘fruity’ experience which I think might be a good thing.  However, she doesn’t seem quite so pleased about the other results which are often to be heard (and smelt, apparently) when I’m lying on the sofa in the evening.

Maybe you should just stick to five portions.

Do your pets eat fruit? It can’t just be me can it?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by knettycraft on September 17, 2015 - 15:07

    What a cutie!!! I am owned by two cats and they are completely differen in their style of prefered meals: one would never try anything fresh, the other one loves fresh grilled chicken legs (every Saturday!).

    • #2 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:50

      Cats tend to be much more fussy than dogs generally don’t they? I have four and they would all probably kill for grilled chicken legs!

  2. #3 by katechiconi on September 17, 2015 - 15:22

    I think her enthusiasm for fruit is a bit unusual, but it’s obviously doing her no harm, judging by her appearance. Of course, you do have to deal with the ‘tail end’ of the problem…

    • #4 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:49

      Yes, she is ‘audibly fragrant’ at the best of times – puts the boys to shame – but at this time of year, with all the autumn fruit, she excels herself.

  3. #5 by sew2pro on September 17, 2015 - 15:46

    Awesome Flo! Figs are my all-time favourite fruit (well. the Croatian ones in August, I don’t buy them in the UK) and the interesting thing about them is that they have a self-regulating mechanism that prevents humans from eating too many in one go. But we learn the hard way.

    We’re just at the end of the plum season from our single Victoria plum tree. Possibly my second favourite fruit but I’ve had enough now having eaten them every day for a month.

    I love these photos especially of you climbing the tree!

    • #6 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:48

      We have three or four different varieties of fig trees in the garden but the ones with the dark red flesh are my favourites.

  4. #7 by jendavismiller on September 17, 2015 - 16:54

    Flo! What a fine pup you are, with a great writing style and a wicked sense of humor! Eat ’em up, girl, you’ve earned your five (or fifteen???) a day.

  5. #9 by Jan Marriott on September 17, 2015 - 18:15

    Those plums are mouthwatering,lucky you,wish I had a fruit tree.
    I often serve a platter of figs and marscapone cheese as a desert, Yum yum

    • #10 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:46

      Lovely with goats cheese too. I feel quite continental when I go to the market and buy a little pat of fresh chèvre from the producer and put it on a plate with some figs from the garden. More usually though, I just scoff them directly off the tree. Why haven’t you got any fruit trees? Is it the climate or just never got around to planting any?

  6. #11 by nanacathy2 on September 17, 2015 - 18:21

    My dog loved peas, pods and all which he thought were pick your own!

    • #12 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:44

      I expect you were growing them up canes were you? We had a golden retriever who used to harvest the raspberries. There would be an invisible line at golden retriever height – below which there were no more raspberries to be seen.

  7. #13 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on September 17, 2015 - 19:44

    The mind boggles! I was brought up to think that dogs are carnivores, and only eat greenstuff when they need to vomit!
    Brilliant post, though – your Flo is a gited writer.

    • #14 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:40

      Well, they do eat grass when they want to vomit – not a pretty sound (or sight!). I suppose ideas change – remember when everybody used to give their cats milk? Now we’re told it’s very bad for them and to only give them water.

      • #15 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on September 18, 2015 - 09:44

        A bit like all the human dietary advice:, eg butter bad, marge good and vice versa. There’s so much advice these days that we don’t know if we’re coming or going.

  8. #16 by Lynda on September 17, 2015 - 21:20

    My Jack Russell snaffles strawberries off the plants and eats them!

    • #17 by tialys on September 18, 2015 - 09:38

      Jack Russell sized plants! I hope he leaves some for you.

  9. #18 by lovelucie1 on September 18, 2015 - 16:15

    I think we need more posts from you, Flo. You could teach my daughter a thing or two about her 5 a day.
    My cat likes to like out an empty ice cream carton but only plays with frozen peas.

    • #19 by tialys on September 19, 2015 - 12:19

      Has your cat tried yoghurt pots? Those (and cheese) are the things we have to compete with the cats for in our house. Tell your daughter that she must eat her fruit and vegetables otherwise she’ll never have a nice wet nose like mine.

  10. #20 by Bekki Hill on September 18, 2015 - 18:30

    Hey Flo! Mr Hicks here. Good to see you in control of the blog. Fruit is all very well, but I’d prefer horse manure or a good stick.

    • #21 by tialys on September 19, 2015 - 12:17

      Dear Mr. Hicks – I also like the horsey stuff when I can get it but sheep or cat (extra yuk! the Missus says) are both good too. I leave the stick and ball fetching to my boys but sometimes, just for a laugh, I steal the ball and drop it in the fish pond so they have to get wet retrieving it.

      • #22 by Bekki Hill on September 19, 2015 - 15:11

        Oh you’re so naughty Flo – I hope you’d treat me better if I was one of your boys. I do like sheep very much too, but not so partial to cat. I don’t chase sticks btw, just eat them and if Mum’s really lucky I throw them up again all over the floor – ditto tennis balls.

  11. #23 by Oh Sew Tempting on September 18, 2015 - 23:41

    Great post! Fun dogs too 🙂

    • #24 by tialys on September 19, 2015 - 12:13

      Thank you. We have our moments 😉

  12. #25 by nettyg on September 21, 2015 - 00:17

    Hi Flo…this is Mirrhi here, from Australia….I love watermelon and rockmelon. We…the chooks and I sit around my mum and she feeds us these yummy treats. Those chooks are pretty rude though, I like to take my time and savour the melons, but if I’m not quick enough they’ll take the pieces right out of my mouth. We all fight over the yoghurt container too! Not interested in the pooey stuff from other beasts, but love to roll in a dead animal…mum just takes me to the river and says ‘swim’, I think you’re fabulous at climbing trees, I think we could have a good game, you and I, and I could chase the ball with your boy, I’d even go in the pond for it. My mum says she’s glad she doesn’t have to clean up the yard after you, my regular ones are bad enough.

    • #26 by tialys on September 21, 2015 - 08:56

      Hi Mirrhi. I am so jealous of all the fruit you can pick right off the trees in Australia – I hear you can even grow mangoes and avocados over there. Our chickens are in a huge fenced area now because, when I first came home from the Refuge, I didn’t know chickens were family and I might have accidentally caused the demise of one of them. But we don’t mention that 😦 Maybe one day you could tell me how to wean myself off the cat stuff because nobody wants me near them if I’ve been eating it and I do like my cuddles.

  13. #27 by Nanette on September 21, 2015 - 22:09

    Hi Flo….don’t feel bad about the chicken, your mum knows it was an accident, it’s hard not to chase them when they flutter and flap, especially if you’ve never seen a chicken before. It’s my job to round them up here and get them back to their pen at night and keep them safe during the day…..I’m a part border collie/cattle dog, so I know I have to take care of them. My mum taught me the command ‘leave’ when I was growing up, so I know I can sniff stuff but not eat, if she says it in her growly voice I know to back away quickly! I also get a cat biscuit when the girls get fed……just one, and mum lets me lick the tinned food spoon, so maybe because I get to eat whatever’s in the cat stuff, before it becomes yucky stuff, I don’t need to eat it. My mum gives me sardines once a week too, you could ask her for some, you might be craving fish……other than that, I don’t know…..seems you’re stuck with your potty mouth girl and being banished from human company 🙂

    • #28 by tialys on September 22, 2015 - 13:39

      Thanks for the tips Mirrhi – I especially like the one about eating a tin of sardines! The Missus just showed me your Mum’s blog and I saw the photograph of you. It’s a shame you live so far away as I feel we could be good friends x x

  14. #29 by Nanette on September 22, 2015 - 21:56

    Yep, bit far for a play date. Enjoy your sardines Flo …yum:) Let us know how you get on, if it helps your “interesting appetite” 🙂

    • #30 by tialys on September 24, 2015 - 18:05

      Sounds wonderful! I’m getting quite excited now.

  15. #32 by tialys on September 27, 2015 - 10:39

    Are you trying to tempt me from my path Jan? I know this shop because, although I haven’t been to the bricks and mortar version, I have visited them online. There is usually something that puts me off ordering but I can’t remember what it is. I think it’s that they don’t include VAT in their prices until you check out and then it comes as a shock and I get turned off by it and don’t complete the order. However, it’s true they have a vast stock.

Leave a Reply

