F2F Block Swap Colour Perfection

Measure Twice Cut Once

The first ever block swap I’ve ever participated in, called F2F, is well underway and, as it is my turn this month, I have received my first package from Kate who is one of the organisers and also the farthest away – Australia!

I will receive 10 other packages – one from each of the other participants – which, together with three blocks I have made myself will give me 36 blocks in my chosen colours to join together to make a quilt.

I was going to wait until they all arrived until opening but, when Kate’s arrived on Thursday, I couldn’t possibly contain myself so I opened it.

I was chuffed to bits with the contents, three gorgeous blocks with some little extras thrown in like the little tin above which is a handy reminder and even goes with my colour scheme .

Kate's Blocks for Me F2F (3)

I am so impressed with the quality of Kate’s work.  Even the back is super neat.  I have taken photos of the backs too but I thought she might kill me if I published them for the eagle eyed to zoom in on  ;)

Kate's Blocks for Me F2F (2)

It’s so exciting to receive such beautiful blocks and they make me want to up my game and be a bit more adventurous (and skilful!) with my own blocks.  I think I am good with colour but my points matching and general finishing tend to be a bit ‘under par’ so I apologise to everybody sending me their lovely work for the fact that the ones you receive from me will almost certainly not be as well executed as yours.

Kate's Blocks for Me F2F (1)

The above block is a postage stamp block and Kate has linked to a very good tutorial over on her blog.  I thought it looked a bit fiddly for my liking but now that I’ve seen how gorgeous it is I want to give it a try myself.  I know this one is a block she found hard to part with.

Kate's Blocks for Me F2F (4)

Some spare fabrics in my colours, a little zippy handmade purse and another cute one in the form of a postcard made opening this package a bit like Christmas.

The colours are perfect and I’ve hung the postage stamp block up next to one I’ve made just to show how well they go together.

Kate's Blocks for Me F2F (7)

Just to add even more ‘excitement’ and anticipation to the block swap, there has been a mix up with my post (zip) code and I am hoping that the French postal service will be clever enough to realise that – as they already have with the package from Kate – and deliver the other ten safely.  I’ll let everybody know once their blocks have arrived as I know those of you that sent them out before the 22nd will be concerned.

I love waiting for the postman!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ipatchandquilt on October 26, 2015 - 11:11

    Goodmorning Lynn!
    I have your 3 blocks here besides me. I will post them today. I hope they will arrive before the end of the month.
    Kate’s blocks are really pretty! I love all the different fabrics! Happy to see that my fabrics will fit in with these perfectly!😉
    Hugs
    Esther

    • #2 by tialys on October 26, 2015 - 11:27

      Thanks Esther. Don’t worry about their arrival time, I’m just happy you have the correct address now. I’ll let you know when they arrive x

  2. #3 by katechiconi on October 26, 2015 - 11:35

    I think I can safely say that pretty much all the blocks I’ve seen so far will work well, so you should end up with a gorgeous colour co-ordinated quilt! Glad you approved of my backs, nothing worse than a frayed mess. You’re right about the postage stamp block, and I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    • #4 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:38

      I’ve been very good and haven’t peeked. I think I’m going to grill you about the ‘quilt as you go’ method eventually because I think it might work well with the 12″ blocks if I put sashing between. What do you think?

      • #5 by katechiconi on October 27, 2015 - 11:26

        I think so too, and it would definitely make the job of quilting a whole lot more manageable. Also, I think the way the blocks are looking, a sashed top would be very pretty, not least because it gives the eye some quiet space between all the different blocks.

  3. #6 by lovelucie1 on October 26, 2015 - 14:40

    They’re beautiful! This is going to be amazing!

    • #7 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:36

      It is isn’t it? I’m watching the postman every day like a stalker😉

  4. #8 by nanacathy2 on October 26, 2015 - 14:52

    Ooh they are lovely

  5. #10 by Magpie Sue on October 26, 2015 - 18:07

    I’m not surprised by all the quilty goodness Kate sent you; what a wonderful haul! I’m anxious to find out how well the blocks I made for you blend with the rest. Sure hope the postal workers can figure out the way we addressed the package and get it to you in spite of any errors!

    • #11 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:34

      Me too Sue. I’ll let you know as soon as they arrive.

  6. #12 by Bekki Hill on October 26, 2015 - 20:36

    Gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing them all come together.

    • #13 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:30

      So am I Bekki – less so to all the hard work in getting there😉

      • #14 by Bekki Hill on October 27, 2015 - 11:28

        It’s be fun!🙂

  7. #15 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on October 26, 2015 - 20:44

    Lovely colours, gorgeous blocks.

    • #16 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:30

      They are aren’t they. Kate has done a marvellous job and I’m so pleased with my colour choices.

  8. #17 by knettycraft on October 26, 2015 - 21:34

    I hope my blocks will reach you in spite of the mixed numbers in the postal code… perhaps it just takes a bit longer.

    • #18 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:29

      I’ll let you know as soon as they arrive so you can rest easy.

  9. #19 by claire93 on October 27, 2015 - 00:01

    what a Lucky lady you are ^^
    look forward to seeing all the blocks as they arrive

    • #20 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:28

      I do feel very lucky – I’m going to have such a gorgeous quilt🙂

  10. #21 by Nanette on October 27, 2015 - 05:50

    I posted mine today, yay! not last for once🙂 I liked them so much I didn’t want to send them. I love Kate’s blocks, and gifties too, aren’t you lucky. It’s going to be a gorgeous quilt Lynn.

    • #22 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:27

      Thanks Nanette – there was an advantage in being a little later this month due to the postcode mix up! Anyway, I’ll let you know when they arrive.
      I do think it is shaping up to be a beautiful quilt – although I’ve only seen Kate’s so far – I’m so pleased with how the colour combination has turned out. I will fret about the quilting – I don’t want to ruin it – I’m thinking of using the quilt as you go method and put sashing between the blocks but I’ll have to read up about it first.

      • #23 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 10:45

        p.s. – I daren’t look at your latest blog post because it came through in my email but I can tell by your words it might have a photograph of one of my blocks so I didn’t open the email properly in case I spoilt my surprise.

  11. #24 by Thimberlina on October 27, 2015 - 11:46

    Wow! I’ve never heard of anything like this. I’ve just been clicking through the various link and love how it all works and all the different designs! Can’t wait to see all the blocks made up in the end 😀

    • #25 by tialys on October 27, 2015 - 12:50

      It’s the first one I’ve been brave enough to participate in. I’m a bit nervous because some of the participants seem to do nothing else but make quilts and are supremely excellent at it whereas I tend to be a bit more of a jack of all trades and I’m afraid my efforts will not compare. I’m keeping the blocks I make for the others very simple to minimize mistakes. It is making me try harder though – knowing that I’m making for others.

  12. #26 by Nanette on October 28, 2015 - 03:50

    No, no pics of your blocks on my blog post, just a pic of your palette, so it’s safe to go look…. I don’t think you’ll ruin your quilt, you’ve grown so much as a quilter since starting the swap and trying new and more difficult blocks…… that can only continue now as you decide how to put it together:)

  13. #27 by Emmely on October 29, 2015 - 20:02

    My blocks will be a bit late, I hope to complete them during the weekend. Luckily they don’t have to travel too far this time. Life unexpectedly got a bit busy over the past couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

