More Blocks from Across the Pond – F2F Block Swap

 

 

Last week I received some more fabulous blocks for my forthcoming quilt which will be made from blocks sent to me from blogging friends worldwide who are participating in the F2F block swap.  This package came from Christina in the U.S., who doesn’t actually have a blog, and she kindly provided me with the names of each block design.  I don’t usually like to ask, in case it’s something I should already know!Liberated Star Patchwork Block

Liberated Star

Infinity Patchwork Block

Infinity

Rolling River Patchwork Block 

Rolling River

I’m not 100% certain about the way the Rolling River block should be viewed but it looked good whichever way up I turned it so I settled on this one.

The more blocks I see the more pleased I am with the colours I chose and, as it so happens, Christina has chosen very similar colours for herself when her month comes up so that should be easy for me.

I received 3 packages all on one day yesterday so I’ll maybe combine those in one feast for the (patchworkers’) eyes blog in a couple of days time.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on November 8, 2015 - 12:23

    Interesting blocks, specially the first two. Not so sure about the last one, but I suppose it depends very much on choice of fabric.

    • #2 by tialys on November 8, 2015 - 20:07

      I’m so glad Christina named them all for me otherwise I’d never have known. I suppose there are new designs coming out all the time even though you’d think there would be a limit to how many different ways you can put tiny pieces of fabric together.

  2. #4 by sewchet on November 8, 2015 - 12:26

    The rolling river block looks pretty fiddly – very effective though.

    • #5 by tialys on November 8, 2015 - 20:14

      Too fiddly for me to attempt. That’s the good thing about a block swap though, it makes you want to challenge yourself and do the best you can so you don’t let the other participants down (too much ;))

  3. #6 by katechiconi on November 8, 2015 - 13:43

    Lovely fabrics she’s chosen, as well as interesting blocks. They should be a real asset to the finished quilt!

    • #7 by tialys on November 8, 2015 - 20:15

      She has chosen well – probably because they are the same sort of colours she wants for her own blocks🙂

      • #8 by katechiconi on November 8, 2015 - 22:44

        Then you should have no trouble making hers!

  4. #9 by Bekki Hill on November 8, 2015 - 19:58

    More blocks! How big’s this quilt going to be?

    • #10 by tialys on November 8, 2015 - 20:25

      Well, there are twelve participants, each contributing three blocks with a finished measurement of 12 inches each. So, each participant will end up with enough to make a 72 inch square quilt top which could be enlarged by adding sashing strips or adding some more blocks of our own if we want to. This is my month to receive blocks from the other participants and so far I’ve received eight parcels so just waiting for three more and then, with the three blocks I have made for myself, I’ll be ready to join them all together to make what I’m sure is going to be an amazing quilt.

      • #11 by Bekki Hill on November 9, 2015 - 12:18

        It seemed a lot more than that. It’s certainly going to be amazing. Looking forward to seeing it🙂

  5. #12 by Nanette on November 8, 2015 - 23:52

    Love Christina’s fabric choices, that batik is so pretty, I like all the blocks, particularly Rolling River….it’s not one I’ve seen either. I’m always amazed that (clever) people keep coming up with new ideas and new ways to make the old tried and true patterns. It’s good too, to have an idea of Christina’s tastes since she doesn’t have a blog.

    • #13 by tialys on November 9, 2015 - 04:36

      Yes thank goodness for those clever people – they keep the craft fresh and current.

Leave a Reply

