More Messing With Collages

Thank you to those of you who suggested using Picasa 3 for making collages.  I have been playing and messing about instead of doing the housework and folding the laundry but what’s new?  I can see multiple possibilities for this game but, for now, I just wanted to concentrate some more of my F2F blocks into manageable chunks for your viewing pleasure.

These are my beautiful blocks from Emmely in the Netherlands who blogs at Infectious Stitches and managed to squeeze in making these blocks  before submitting her thesis.

EmmelysBlocksforMeCollage

I think the ‘pretend’ layout with the bands between the blocks has worked well as it imitates sashing which is what I was thinking of doing with the quilt that I will eventually make from the block swap.  Now I’m looking at it I definitely think it will look better with sashing  as the blocks are very diverse (although all the same size in ‘real life’)  and so beautiful individually  it will help them stand out more.

These are the three blocks I made for Avis from Oh Sew Tempting who is the recipient of all our efforts in November.  She asked for traditional blocks in bright blues and purples preferably using solids and batiks.  Well, I know the postage stamp block might not count – there are unicorns for a start – but, having learnt how to make that block, I’m now a big fan and the colours in the scraps of unicorn fabric left over from a quilt I made my daughter some years ago just seemed too good not to use.

 

Patchwork Collage Purples

Again, these are all 12 inch sqaure blocks but I used artistic license in my collage making frenzy.

I don’t know whether Avis is planning on putting sashing in her quilt but there’s a little preview in case she needs help deciding😉

Our temperatures here have changed overnight – it’s raining and windy and snow is forecast.  The log burner has been lit for only the second time this year (the first time was when my Mum was visiting in October and she gets cold easily!) and I’m off to search for a woolly jumper to lounge about in.  How’s the weather where you are?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by nanacathy2 on November 21, 2015 - 14:46

    Yum snowy rainy sleet. Love your blocks!

  2. #2 by Thimberlina on November 21, 2015 - 16:16

    It’s going to look amazing! I love Emmely’s blog, it was her blog that got me into crochet

  3. #3 by Bekki Hill on November 21, 2015 - 16:24

    Sashing sounds an excellent plan. Love the magical unicorns in your blocks. Very cold and windy here and sleet falling as I type.

  4. #4 by katechiconi on November 21, 2015 - 20:15

    It does look as if you’ve had some fun playing; such a pity WordPress has cut off the right side of the collages, or is that just my computer? Love those unicorns, how could anyone not🙂 ? It’s going to be another hot one today, not as bad as yesterday, but still too much for working in the garden after 10am.

    • #5 by tialys on November 21, 2015 - 23:34

      Poo! They were fine on my desktop earlier but now I’m looking at them on my iPad, I see what you mean. I wonder what everyone else is seeing. Maybe I should resize them

      • #6 by katechiconi on November 22, 2015 - 01:04

        If you just make them Large instead of Actual size, that normally fits…

      • #7 by tialys on November 22, 2015 - 09:01

        O.K. Can you see them now? They look a little small on my desktop now but if people can’t see the whole thing, my post doesn’t make sense.

      • #8 by katechiconi on November 22, 2015 - 09:03

        Yup, that’s done the trick. All fully present and correct!

  5. #9 by Oh Sew Tempting on November 22, 2015 - 14:56

    Hi Lynn, Thank you so much for the wonderful blocks. I love everything about them and can’t wait to use them on a larger project🙂 Don’t they look gorgeous together?

    • #10 by tialys on November 22, 2015 - 18:04

      You are very welcome – I am so looking forward to seeing what everybody does with their blocks.

  6. #12 by Emmely on November 22, 2015 - 16:08

    Looking forward to seeing all the blocks together in a quilt! Are you going to keep the ones from one quilter together or will they be mixed up completely?
    Right now the weather here is appalling. I was trying to take pictures (inside) and all of a sudden it went from sunny with quite nice light to completely dark and rainy and I can’t get good pictures anymore.

    • #13 by tialys on November 22, 2015 - 18:06

      Ooh, there’s a question. I hadn’t thought of doing that but it’s an interesting idea. I will(eventually) probably lay them all out together and try to work out what to do – it will be fun trying to decide I’m sure. It is a bad time of year to take photographs. Either the sun isn’t out or it’s very low and too bright. My house is old and hasn’t a lot of natural light in any case but I hate using the flash.

  7. #14 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on November 22, 2015 - 20:48

    Now you’re making virtual quilts! They look wonderful. Yes it’s cold here: first real frost last night which didn’t melt until lunchtime, despite the sun.

    • #15 by tialys on November 23, 2015 - 09:42

      The virtual piecing is easy! I wonder if I could do some virtual quilting too😉

  8. #16 by nettyg on November 23, 2015 - 00:49

    Your new blocks look wonderful in collage-form, and the unicorns for Avis are a sweet treat. I liked Emmely’s question about how you’ll place the blocks, lots to think about, but I think they’ll let you know once you have them all together. Hot, humid, high grey clouds, which means someone, somewhere will get rain, but probably not me and just now a lovely cool southerly has sprung up, cooling things nicely.

    • #17 by tialys on November 23, 2015 - 09:43

      I think now might be the time to rig up a design wall. Trouble is, I have so much ‘stuff’ in my workroom, I might not have a spare wall. A project for after Christmas I think.

  9. #18 by nettyg on November 23, 2015 - 10:49

    Sounds sensible. After Christmas is always seems like a good option🙂

Leave a Reply

