Lost Dog Found

Don’t panic, I haven’t added yet another homeless waif to my brood – this one is made of fabric and is one of the gorgeous blocks that Avis at OhSewTempting sent me back in the mists of time – well October anyway – as part of the F2F block swap I’m participating in but, because of a mix up with the postcode, we thought they were lost for all time.

Avis'DogBlock

Thank goodness they weren’t because they are all gorgeous but the dog one especially .

Even though the post office had changed the postcode to the correct one on the envelope, they still sent it back to the U.K. instead of forwarding it on to the correct region of France.  What were they thinking? Still, I’m just grateful they are here now.

My F2F blocks from Avis

The other three blocks are stunning too.  I’m going to have the best quilt in the world and nobody will be able to tell me different;)

Speaking of dogs, which I sort of was, I have been so disorganised leading up to Christmas this year that there has been a run on the dog collars I make to raise funds for the dog and cat shelter and I have run out of webbing.  No hope of new stock getting here in time for anybody ordering them as Christmas gifts, so unless people want red or brown collars, they can’t have one.  What a muppet!! Still, it was my first Christmas making these and I hadn’t really thought of them as being more popular at this time of year.

So, my best seller has had to be taken off the ‘virtual’  shelves

Chelsea Dog Collar

Come on you blues!!

Who knew there’d be so many Chelsea fans in the States?

but you’re in luck if you love a Scottie.

Scotty Dog Collar

For those of you worried that I spent loads of money on a cat tree which will sit sadly, bereft of any living thing, in a corner – worry no more.

9 week old kittens

The kittens have taken to it big time.  Although they do like climbing up the centre of the Jade Tree plant in the conservatory too.  Well, they like climbing up anything really – as kittens do.  Also the ‘Ungrateful Baggage’ mentioned in an earlier post who was showing no interest, has managed to get herself into the very highest basket where the kittens can’t quite yet reach.  She sits there with a regal and self satisfied air which is what cats do.

Top of the Cat Tree

Another week and he’ll be up there.

(Note the thing that had feathers to start with denuded and hanging limply from the top level)

Have you suddenly come to the realisation that there are things you wanted to do for Christmas that aren’t going to happen now?

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on December 9, 2015 - 19:54

    Lots of things, but we’re letting others do them for us this year. Love the smug cat and curly kittens.

    • #2 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:23

      I think you’ve got it right Viv!

  2. #3 by knettycraft on December 9, 2015 - 20:12

    Oh I’m so happy for you and Avis that the blocks at least found their way! So I can save a little hope mine will find their way too! If not I’ll sew three other blocks for you in my Christmas holidays – between Christmas and New Year (it is called here “between the years”). I still saved a bit of your favourite fabric.

    • #4 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:24

      I can’t believe they haven’t shown up somewhere😦 There is honestly no rush to get new ones made and, anyway, I don’t mind helping out and making a block or two myself. Just say.

  3. #5 by Emmely on December 9, 2015 - 21:01

    So glad for you these beautiful blocks still turned up!

  4. #7 by Jan Marriott on December 9, 2015 - 21:34

    you certainly seem to be having a good time with the blocks. I bet those rescued kitties will soon turn in to ungrateful sods!

    • #8 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:27

      I know. When I was first tempted to keep them I kept telling myself they will just grow into another couple of ungrateful lumps hauling themselves between their food dishes, their beds and the garden without a thank-you but love is blind.

  5. #9 by katechiconi on December 9, 2015 - 22:59

    Hurrah! I knew the dog one would be an absolute hit! You are indeed going to have a fabulous quilt!

    • #10 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:27

      I think we all are Kate – I’m really looking forward to seeing what everybody ends up with.

      • #11 by katechiconi on December 10, 2015 - 07:48

        I wonder if you’re interested in a couple of paper piecing cat patterns I have on file? Not cute faces, more realistic silhouettes. You may, of course, be completely sick of cats, given the ungrateful, lazy, cupboard-loving nature of the gang chez Tialys…

      • #12 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:42

        Thanks Kate. They might come in handy for things such as cushions, tote bags, etc. that I could make for the Cat Rescue fund raisers plus I could have a bit of a practice with paper piecing at the same time!

      • #13 by katechiconi on December 13, 2015 - 13:35

        I’ll email them over!

  6. #14 by Oh Sew Tempting on December 9, 2015 - 23:36

    I’m so pleased they arrived in the end LOL. Now, I’m crossing everything that Annett’s appear very soon. The puppy block was inspired by a block I saw over at Sew Fresh Quilts.

    • #15 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:28

      Yes, I think I’m going to go for that pattern – I envisage some cute cushions and tote bags using that face.

  7. #16 by sew2pro on December 10, 2015 - 00:11

    That’s one cute pooch. Will it be the centrepiece?

    Yes, after spending an entire weekend tidying up and writing international post Christmas cards, I now feel entitled to do very little, yet so many other tasks are building up😦

    If all goes to my brother’s plans, I’m going to become an auntie to a Battersea dog soon (don’t yet know anything more about him/her). Which means I might be shopping for a Lynn-made goodies in the New Year!

    • #17 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:29

      How exciting! I want to see photos as soon as humanly possible.

  8. #18 by jendavismiller on December 10, 2015 - 00:30

    I hope the blue pooch becomes the center? Maybe? He is very sweet. hmmmm. Wonder if any of those kitties will be memorialized in the quilt? They’d look great in blue, too. Glad they are enjoying their new perch. As to Christmas, it has totally gotten away from me this year, curses! But I’m on it now!😉

    • #19 by tialys on December 10, 2015 - 00:35

      I’m going to make a design wall in the New Year and lay out all the blocks to see how they best go together so who knows where that little face will end up.
      I’ve just finished a marathon session with Amazon and I’m off to a big Christmas market on Friday so I think I’m on it too now.

      • #20 by jendavismiller on December 10, 2015 - 17:37

        I keep telling myself that I thrive in chaos and pressure…………not certain that is working for me.😉

      • #21 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:35

        I used to say that when I was at work but I was younger then……

  9. #22 by Thimberlina on December 10, 2015 - 01:06

    Hurray for them turning up! And hurrahs for the cats too learning to love their new apparatus!
    Can’t wait to see how you put all your blocks together..it will be the best in the world! 😀

    • #23 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:41

      There may be a bit of a wait to see the finished item but I’ll get there eventually.

  10. #24 by Dartmoor Yarns on December 10, 2015 - 09:34

    Great to hear the blocks finally arrived – of course I too like the dog one best. Had to laugh at the ungrateful baggage in her crows nest🙂

    • #25 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:40

      The kittens have now worked out how to get up there so she’s been ousted.

  11. #26 by poshbirdy on December 10, 2015 - 11:33

    Love the blocks, but the stars here are the kittens. They are wonderful, and it’s so good that the cat tree is so well-used. You’re right about Xmas though. Sitting here at work with a migraine this morning, thinking about all the stuff I didn’t manage to do (again). Oh well!

    • #27 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:39

      Exactly. In the end, who really cares if you haven’t made your own Christmas puddings and mince pies?

  12. #28 by lovelucie1 on December 10, 2015 - 15:27

    Your quilt will indeed be amazing! What a worthwhile project! Christmas creeps up faster every year! I wish I had the sheer anticipation that my daughter has instead of that feeling of a drastically emptying purse, no cards written and an upside down half decorated house!

    • #29 by tialys on December 13, 2015 - 11:37

      I know Lucie but, in the end, I’m sure it’s only ourselves putting the pressure on. My Mum and my eldest daughter arrive next Saturday and I’ve convinced myself that, as long as they have clean bedding, a pretty Christmas tree and some nice food, they won’t care there’s a bit of dust and un-ironed laundry hanging about. Off to write some Christmas cards😉

  13. #30 by dezertsuz on January 1, 2016 - 20:38

    What gorgeous kittens, but I love the regal queen at the top. My kinda cat. =) I’m SO glad to learn that the blocks arrived at last! I’ve been so behind on reading blogs the last few weeks, I missed it.

    • #31 by tialys on January 2, 2016 - 13:17

      Unfortunately for her, the kittens have become strong enough to reach the top now so the queen has been deposed.

Leave a Reply

