Stitching Santa Goodies

This year I entered two secret santa type blog swaps kindly arranged by Sewchet.  One was the Stitching Santa and the other (because I can’t have too much of a good thing) was the Knitting Santa.  The idea is that you are paired with another blogger and, having read their blogs and sussed out their likes and interests as best you can, you make up a parcel of sewing (or knitting) related gifts for them to put under the tree to open on Christmas Day.  If you have friends and family who don’t sew or knit, this is brilliant as you can be sure of getting some things from somebody who knows what another crafter would want.

First to arrive – so early in fact, I had to hide it away in case I was tempted to tear it open – was my Stitching Santa gift.

Christmas Gift

This came from Susanna over at Pins,Needles and Thread and the festive bag was full to bursting.

Handmade Buttons

Some really pretty handmade, fabric covered buttons ….

Fabric Bird Hanging

A gorgeous little fabric hanging birdie who is swinging from my Christmas tree now….

Dressmaking Patterns

Some patterns to tackle in the new year.  I particularly love the Cynthia Rowley dress and so does my daughter –  I’ve had to hide it from her……

DSC_0112

and, as those of you who know about my year long Fabric Fast will appreciate, some very welcome fabric in various sizes suitable for patchwork and larger projects.

I also have some gorgeous things to show you from my Knitting Santa which arrived on Boxing Day –  not a public holiday in France so the postman could deliver it.  Actually, it was nice to have an extra gift to unwrap the day after.  However, it is my Mum and eldest daughter’s last day here before returning to the U.K. tomorrow so I’ll go and spend some more quality time with them and show you my gifts from SewingNikki in a couple of days time.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Postcard from Gibraltar on December 28, 2015 - 12:23

    What beautiful gifts – I love the whole Stitching Santa idea.

    • #2 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:25

      Great isn’t it? I’m going to sign up for next year too as I enjoyed it so much.

  2. #3 by katechiconi on December 28, 2015 - 12:43

    I’d be hopeless at this, always certain I’d get it wrong and my unfortunate partner would be deeply disappointed! Those buttons are extremely lovely, and the birdie is very cute.

    • #4 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:24

      I really can’t imagine anybody being disappointed with anything you sent Kate – you are too modest.

      • #5 by katechiconi on December 28, 2015 - 23:09

        Too neurotic, more like, obsessive about ‘getting it right’🙂

  3. #6 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on December 28, 2015 - 13:02

    I guess your Santa sympathised with your fabric fast. Lovelygifts

    • #7 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:23

      Who wouldn’t sympathise with a fabric fast? I’m going to go completely berserk when my year is up.

  4. #8 by Thimberlina on December 28, 2015 - 13:51

    Oooo! Lovely! And such restraint, it would’ve driven me slightly mad if mine would have come too early! Bet that fabric doesn’t stay in your stash long, looking forward to see what you make 😃

    • #9 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:22

      I love the sewing box you received from Sewchet – I can personally vouch for how much work she put into it😉 – and the fabric she used was perfect. Do you love it?

      • #10 by Thimberlina on December 28, 2015 - 18:24

        I really do! I recognised it but it didn’t dawn on me straight away why! My sister who hardly ever sews has been admiring it today ✂️😃✂️

  5. #11 by Dartmoor Yarns on December 28, 2015 - 17:04

    Lovely. I especially like the birdie. Look forward to seeing the knitting Santa gifts, which I’m sure I’ll want all of🙂

    • #12 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:21

      Everybody did very well with their swaps from what I’ve seen so far. I’m definitely in again for next year.

  6. #13 by mommermom on December 28, 2015 - 17:41

    What lovely giift ideas for any sewer. I will remember these for next year.

    • #14 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:20

      It was definitely a fun swap to be involved in.

  7. #15 by Jan Marriott on December 28, 2015 - 18:33

    So glad you received some fabric medicine. Now, if only I could go on a yarn fast in 2016.

    • #16 by tialys on December 28, 2015 - 18:56

      I’m wondering why, against all sane advice, I said one year instead of six months. It is much harder than ‘Firsty February’ when I pledge to go without alcohol for the month. Notice I choose the shortest month of the year😉

  8. #17 by Abigail on December 28, 2015 - 19:58

    Ooh those patterns are lovely!

    • #18 by tialys on December 29, 2015 - 19:04

      A bit ‘different’ too aren’t they. One or two seem to have found their way into my daughter’s suitcase when she went back to the U.K. today.

  9. #19 by Fred the Needle on December 28, 2015 - 22:23

    I am so glad you liked your parcel. x Happy Stitching x

    • #20 by tialys on December 29, 2015 - 19:03

      I did Susanna – thank you again🙂

  10. #21 by sew2pro on December 29, 2015 - 02:53

    The birdie is so sweet. Might make one or two myself for next year, if I get organised in time! Look forward to seeing the CR dress all done and pattern reviewed (yes indeed,. might make one myself!)

    • #22 by tialys on December 29, 2015 - 19:02

      The CR dress pattern appears to have disappeared – funnily enough, I’ve just taken eldest daughter to the airport. I should have frisked her before I let her leave.

  11. #23 by sewchet on December 29, 2015 - 21:21

    Oh, how lovely – a whole bundle of fabric to dive into after your fabric fast, and patterns too! Yet another great #stitchingsanta parcel – I’m loving reading all the posts:)

    • #24 by tialys on December 30, 2015 - 16:58

      It’s your ‘reward’ for all your hard work😉

  12. #25 by jendavismiller on December 30, 2015 - 01:02

    You received such delightful gifts! Relief for your fabric fast, that darling little birdie (make sure to keep the cats away, haha), and great patterns. Enjoy!

    • #26 by tialys on December 30, 2015 - 16:59

      I am beating kittens off with a stick today as I all the guests have gone home and I’m indulging myself with some knitting time – fatal!

  13. #27 by Oh Sew Tempting on December 30, 2015 - 01:28

    Nothing better than crafty gifts🙂 You’ve done very well!

    • #28 by tialys on December 30, 2015 - 17:00

      Yes, my secret Santa aka Susanna must have sensed the desperation in my blogs for lack of new fabric😉

Leave a Reply

