Knitting Santa Goodies – Oh Yes, I Entered Both!

I wasn’t really being greedy by entering both the Stitching Santa and Knitting Santa organized by Sheila of Sewchet because it meant I also had to send out two packages but in for a penny in for a pound as I never say outside of blogland and why have one surprise gift when you can have two?

Knitting Santa

I showed you my gifts from my stitching santa (Susanna)  a couple of days ago here.  My secret Santa for the knitting section turned out to be Nikki of SewingNikki who blogs here and also has a pretty Etsy shop here.  As France does not have a public holiday on Boxing Day like us Brits, the postman came and bought this festive looking bundle.  It was actually really nice to have an extra pressie to open when I’d gorged myself with all the others on Christmas Day.

Felt Bags

Two handmade felt bags were inside the package – lovely in themselves but holding yet more surprises.

buttons

A sweet smelling owl, some buttons –  you can never have enough! – and an intriguing item made from a twisted vintage metal knitting needle.  Is it a hatpin,  a stitch holder – help me Nikki – I love it anyway!

Knitting Needle Roll

Some knitting needles in the roll and, in a blatant attempt to lure me back to the dreaded crochet, a couple of pretty pink crochet hooks.  Also some cute earrings which Nikki also sells in her shop.

Knitted Cushion Pattern

However, my favourite, favourite gift was this splendid pattern for cushions, complete with four balls of navy aran yarn to knit one with.  Spookily enough, I was looking at buying this pattern just before Christmas as I have so much fun knitting my huge cable blankets, I wanted to knit cushions to go with them.  I particularly like the design on the centre one on the chair as the middle cable is one I haven’t tackled before.

Thank you Nikki, I love everything.

Like a fool, I didn’t photograph my gifts before wrapping them up and sending them to the bloggers I had been paired with but, if you are interested, they have both done my job for me and blogged about what I sent them here and here.  I’ll know better next year and there will be a next year as it was a really fun swap.  Thank you Sheila for all your hard work in organising us all.

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Abigail on December 30, 2015 - 17:33

    Lovely!

    • #2 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:44

      It is – I was so pleased with both my packages.

  2. #3 by nanacathy2 on December 30, 2015 - 18:37

    Oh my that is some haul love the cushion yarn.

    • #4 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:45

      I’m looking forward to making one of those cushions – just as soon as I’ve finished the boyfriend cardigan and the cable blanket I’ve got going at the moment. It was really strange that I had been looking at that pattern just before Christmas.

  3. #5 by Dartmoor Yarns on December 30, 2015 - 18:58

    OW! Loads of lovely stuff! A shawl pin is my guess – very pretty. I may need one too. I also need to knit some cushions.

    • #6 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:47

      Aha! A shawl pin is a good guess. I really like the fact that it is made from a coloured metal knitting needle. I did go and have a look in Nikki’s online shop to see if she had them in there and I would find out what it was but she hasn’t any listed.

  4. #7 by katechiconi on December 30, 2015 - 22:49

    Is that twisted needle a thingy for holding stitches when you make cables? Do forgive me if I’m displaying huge knitty ignorance here, but I seem to recall my mother doing something like that when she was churning out one of her innumerable jumpers. Otherwise, maybe it’s something to pin your knitted shawls together with?

    • #8 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:48

      Cable needles usually have a point at both ends. I actually thought it might be a fancy stitch holder when I first saw it but the gap is too closed up so I think you might be right and it’s a shawl pin.

  5. #9 by Oh Sew Tempting on December 31, 2015 - 00:43

    You did really well! I have an aran cushion on my sofa but nobody is allowed to use it LOL.

    • #10 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:49

      I might have to keep mine upstairs when it’s made otherwise it would be far too tempting for little claws.

  6. #11 by nettyg on December 31, 2015 - 05:53

    Lovely loot….I love Christmas swaps…..that navy wool is delicious.

    • #12 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:51

      It is isn’t it? I always think navy is a very smart colour – and not as stark as black – so I’m looking forward to knitting with it.

  7. #13 by bluegraceblog on December 31, 2015 - 10:38

    Lovely – and I’m sure it’s a shawl pin for a lacy knitted shawl.. But if you do envelope style cushions perhaps you could use it as the fastening..

    • #14 by tialys on December 31, 2015 - 10:52

      I think the consensus is now that it is a shawl pin but Nikki hasn’t commented up to now so it will be funny if she comes along and tells us it’s something none of us has thought of yet.

  8. #15 by sew2pro on December 31, 2015 - 20:02

    I think it’s great that you’ve taken part in another secret Santa; what a nice way to ‘knit’ (ahem) a community! Those chunky cushions are very lovely indeed and would go perfectly with your chunky blankets (yes, I’m getting knitting envy).

    Happy NYE! Is it a big event in rural France?

    • #16 by tialys on January 1, 2016 - 11:45

      It is – lots of oysters get eaten – you can’t move in the supermarkets for expanded seafood displays at this time of year. We went to a ‘do’ last night but I have to admit they were nearly all Brits (and a couple of Germans) so not exactly mingling with the locals but there is not a wealth of restaurants, clubs, etc. down this way so most people spend it at home with friends and family and probably watch their own version of Jools’ Hootenanny. I hope you had a good evening and wish you all the best for the New Year. x

  9. #17 by dezertsuz on January 1, 2016 - 20:32

    And you knit, and I don’t! That takes a lot of time, too.

  10. #18 by sewingnikki on January 2, 2016 - 01:17

    Thank you for your lovely comments and I am pleased you liked your gifts. It is a shawl pin I purchased on eBay from seller:genny2828. I did make the other items and am sorry the parcel was late even though I posted it before the uk postal deadline for France. Enjoy the gifts and a Happy New Year X

    • #19 by tialys on January 2, 2016 - 13:16

      Thanks Nikki. No worries about it being late – I saw you had posted in plenty of time and it was a treat to have something extra to open on Boxing Day.

Leave a Reply

