Honey, I Blew Up The Computer

Yes, I really did.  There was a flash and smoke and all sorts of drama.  It all started when the ‘on/off’ button just flashed orange and wouldn’t let me turn the computer on or off.  Mr. Tialys had just left for the U.K. for the week and 5 days of computer free living loomed large.  I Googled the problem.  I followed the advice on a forum.  I unplugged the computer, as advised, and wiggled a switch back and forth.  Then I plugged it back in again.  Cue the fireworks plus all the plugs in that room and my daughter’s bedroom next door being fused.  Oops.  Turns out I should have wiggled the switch back to the 220v setting before plugging it back in again instead of leaving it on 110v so that it got a surge of more voltage than it bargained for.  Oh well, it had been making a funny noise for a while anyway.

The next night the whole house was plunged into darkness when all the power went off.  I went down to the fuse box thingy and wiggled all the switches until I found a combination where the main fuse wouldn’t trip.  Well, I was in the middle of an episode of ‘Luther’ so I wasn’t giving up.  First thing in the morning I managed to get hold of an electrician.  He was here for three hours and fixed the fuse for the plugs – which was my fault – but couldn’t find a reason for all the power going off – which wasn’t my fault.  I had to force that confession out of him so that I could tell Mr. T. that I hadn’t sabotaged all the electricity in the house as well as the computer.  I await the bill.

From then on things continued in the same vein.

I broke a good wine glass and my favourite huge breakfast tea mug.

heron cross button teapot

On the bright side I have replaced it with one from the same company (Heron Cross Pottery) which is covered in buttons.  The picture of the teapot is entirely gratuitous but it is the same design and I am sorely tempted.   The mug hasn’t arrived yet because I had it sent to Mr. T. to bring over with him but, so far, he hasn’t been able to fit it in his cabin bag as it always seems to be full of laptops.  He has a laptop for work and he bought one to replace the blown up desktop but, having spent the best part of the weekend downloading software like Skype, my email server, BBC iPlayer, Spotify, etc. etc. my daughter plugged her headphones in and the port didn’t work.  So it had to go back.

On the personal injury front I was rummaging in a chest of drawers in my workroom when a wooden storage chest fell on my head.  Plus, I have been backwards and forwards to the dentist because I’m having a veneer fitted and the temporary one kept falling off.  It is an hour’s round trip away.

Still……

Things seem to have run their course now.  The new computer is up and running,  all my photos (thousands of them apparently!!) have been recovered from the hard drive, the bump on my forehead has faded to yellow and I now have my permanent veneer.  However, it might explain why I haven’t been blogging, commenting on blogs, unable to send emails, being in a foul mood, etc. etc.

Life – believe it or not – did go on without a computer.

The kittens went out into the world for the first time.

Kittens Exploring

They explored the flora

Mac & Flower

and the faunaKitten with Chickens

but still spend most of their time indoors.
MyF2FBlocksforEmmely (2)

I made green blocks for the F2F block swap which was the colour requested by Emmely and it was a revelation because I didn’t think I liked green.  Now I do.

backing fabric F2F quilt

I decided on these four batiks to back my F2F blocks and started making mini quilts out of the individual blocks in order to try the quilt as you go method for the first time.

Bottle Green Handbag Handmade

Mr. Tialys continues with his leather work and he made this bag.  All hand stitched by the way.  I said that it would need testing as this particular leather marks and will become distressed and we need to know how the appearance will change – hopefully for good – before he uses it to make another.  So, it goes everywhere with me and is flung with gay abandon – as all my bags are – onto shop counters, to teeter precariously on the back seat (or floor) of the car and over the back of restaurant chairs.  It is marking but, I think, in a good way.

I have also nearly finished the boyfriend cardigan I started – I think it was in November – just got to cast off the sleeves and then the dreaded sewing up.  I have to say, I know ‘boyfriend cardigan’ means it’s supposed to look big on you as if you had nicked it off your boyfriend (or husband) but the sleeves are going on forever.  Mr. T. is tall at 6’4″ but I think, by the time I’ve finished it will look more as if I’d borrowed it from this chap.

orangutan

I’ll let you know how I get on!

Have you ever tried to fix something and made things much worse?

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by poshbirdy on February 1, 2016 - 16:03

    Very sorry to hear of your troubles but it did make me laugh. Are we to assume that you were drinking at breakfast (you broke a favourite glass at the same time as your teacup)?! Kittens are looking gorgeous and am dying to see the new ‘longsleeved’ cardi too!!

    • #2 by tialys on February 1, 2016 - 16:24

      I was emptying the dishwasher at breakfast time – hence the appearance of wine glasses – something that won’t be happening for a while now as I am embarking on ‘Firsty February’, my version of ‘Dry January’, and won’t be drinking anything alcoholic between today and 1st March😦

      • #3 by sew2pro on February 1, 2016 - 22:55

        Is that even allowed in France?!

      • #4 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:32

        I have to keep it a secret otherwise I will be drummed out of the ‘local red wine as cheap as you can possibly get it whilst still being drinkable’ club.

  2. #5 by katechiconi on February 1, 2016 - 16:13

    …Not quite that much worse… I’d say you’ve filled your bad luck quota for quite some time. On the upside, you’ve scored a very, very nice handbag which I seriously envy. When will we get to see some F2F quilt as you go blocks?

    • #6 by tialys on February 1, 2016 - 16:29

      I have done eight so far, all backed in the pale grey batik and each quilted slightly differently. I have a sort of design plan for the back which will be a combination of the different colour batiks and then I’m going to use four ‘front’ blocks that are ‘supplementary’ for the four corners on the back. I’ll take a photo of the progress soon but I just wanted to get the first more general blog post after the hiatus written first.

      • #7 by katechiconi on February 2, 2016 - 00:01

        Sounds lovely, looking forward to seeing it!

  3. #8 by nanacathy2 on February 1, 2016 - 17:24

    Commiserations! Having our own chapters of catastrophes at the moment. One day hope I will see the funny side, right now is am shivering whilst our boiler is kaput!

    • #9 by tialys on February 1, 2016 - 17:38

      I’m sorry you are feeling chilly. Now is the time to dig out all the products of your knitting skills and pile them on!

  4. #10 by Abigail on February 1, 2016 - 19:00

    You made me laugh! Your luck is not very good, I’m sorry to say…

    • #11 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:27

      Well, in the scheme of things, they are only minor irritations really.

  5. #12 by lovelucie1 on February 1, 2016 - 19:10

    So very funny/not funny. Glad to see you’ve made it through. I would go and buy a lottery ticket. Your luck has got to change.

    • #13 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:28

      Well, I haven’t blown anything else up yet so maybe that was it for a while.

  6. #14 by Jan Marriott on February 1, 2016 - 20:53

    All’s well that ends well.
    I have never been brave enough to wiggle switches around. I most likely would have put my fist through the computer screen.

    • #15 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:30

      You are much wiser than me Jan. It is not really a good idea to mess with electricity if you don’t know what you’re doing. Although putting your fist through a screen might not yield the best results either😉

  7. #16 by sew2pro on February 1, 2016 - 23:08

    Green is one of my favourite colours yet when I imagine it, I don’t picture many of the shades in your lovely quilt. A great selection of fabrics, well done.

    That’s a lovely teapot (you’re giving me ideas, as my own button mug is now chipped). The mini-satchel is very well done and I’d like to see more of Mr T’s leatherwork progress. Does he follow a pattern as we do with sewing?

    How self-sufficient is your family, with clothing made, blankets, quilts and bags? Surely you won’t be expanding into fur😯

    P.S. Your IT problems were most likely caused by the kittens who chased gremlins into the electrics!

    • #17 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:35

      Mr. T. is making up his own patterns as he goes along which probably makes for more leather wastage than it ought to but I suppose it will all turn out well in the end. As for fur – I’m not keen on the pensive manner he adopts when he strokes the kittens lately.

  8. #18 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 1, 2016 - 23:39

    Wow! You have all my sympathy for the multitude of gremlins that have been attacking you from all sides. I do hope life is properly back to normal now. Looking forward to seeing the QAYG quilt.

    • #19 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:36

      At least it’s all only relatively minor stuff which is the sort of bad luck I can live with from time to time.

    • #21 by sew2pro on February 8, 2016 - 19:23

      Stroking pets is therapeutic and conducive to long-living, they say. I don’t think they say that about stroking coats.

      PS. I went to an interesting leather shop (wholesale) in Hackney on Friday. If Mr T needs supplies, to, like, make you stuff: http://stormleather.com/

      • #22 by tialys on February 8, 2016 - 20:24

        Thanks for the link – I’ll pass that on. He wants to re-cover all the base cushions on our sofa so needs to be able to see and feel the product. He was talking about somewhere much further afield to go and have a look at so this place would be more convenient.

  9. #23 by Postcard from Gibraltar on February 2, 2016 - 00:35

    Sorry to hear about your major tech problems – congratulations on even being able to write this post! Love that teapot!!!:-D

    • #24 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:38

      Thank you. I can see, once the mugs have arrived (I ordered 2 just to be on the safe side) that the teapot might swiftly follow.

  10. #25 by sewchet on February 2, 2016 - 14:01

    Oh dear, although you write an entertaining story about your mishaps! Lovely to see the kittens venturing outside now. Green is an odd colour and I only like certain shades, lime being my favourite. Very calming though, and perfect in a quilt.

    • #26 by tialys on February 2, 2016 - 14:39

      It was a little difficult because I’m not supposed to be buying any fabric and I really had to search through my scraps to find any green because it’s not a colour I usually use. In the end though, I was pleased with the results and, again, the block swap helped me to push my patchwork & quilting boundaries a little.

  11. #27 by jendavismiller on February 2, 2016 - 15:37

    Oh dear me! And please forgive me, but I did giggle a time or two reading your report of recent events. (Your storytelling skill is major) Glad to hear things are getting back to normal.😀 I’d been waiting to hear of kittens’ new adventures, they are so sweet. That bag is so divine, aren’t you to be the lucky one to “break it in”. Love that teapot, I expect it will make a lovely arrangement with the two matching mugs😉 And last but not least, if the cardigan sleeves continue to grow, you may just have to return it to the lovely chap swinging in the trees! Hope you’re having a great day.

    • #28 by tialys on February 4, 2016 - 12:01

      I’m glad I made you smile Jen.

  12. #29 by Thimberlina on February 2, 2016 - 21:30

    They say things come in threes but I lost count with your mishaps! Sounds like you’ve got through it smiling! Very entertaining, and like your other followers it’s made me smile. Some great pics, especially the one where it looks like the kitten is stalking the hens. 😀

    • #30 by tialys on February 4, 2016 - 12:03

      She looks dwarfed by the chooks doesn’t she? They are used to bigger beasts so weren’t bothered by the kittens at all.

  13. #31 by PendleStitches on February 3, 2016 - 14:25

    Good grief! Buy the teapot…you deserve it!

  14. #33 by Dartmoor Yarns on February 7, 2016 - 21:18

    Crickey! You’ve had a bit of a week! Love the tea pot. Buy it!

  15. #34 by Lynda on June 2, 2016 - 14:51

    I found you on Kate’s blog this morning and have been visiting with you for over an hour and now I need to get to work! (Vacuuming, sewing, feed the chickens/geese, etc. though not necessarily in that order…) I am so sorry to read about your cat. I lost mine last year and was heartbroken. It is the worst when they just go missing I think. And I can commiserate regarding your favorite cup too! Mine was one from Los Angeles and featured scenes of the old buildings and Pacific Ocean Park. I must agree with Dartmoor Yarns; get the teapot!

    I admire your creativity.
    Lynda
    (from Life on the Farmlet)

    • #35 by tialys on June 2, 2016 - 15:16

      Hello Lynda and thank you for visiting. For more than an hour too! I love the internet but it’s a big soaker upper of time isn’t it? Probably why not much of my housework gets done these days😉 I see you are one of Kate’s Scrap Happy people. I am on the list too but have only participated once and I always feel guilty when the 15th comes around and she asks me if I’ve done something and I haven’t. 😦

      • #36 by Lynda on June 2, 2016 - 19:50

        Yes, yes, and me too. 😉

Leave a Reply

