My Lucky Guess

A few weeks ago, Ali over at Thimberlina, had a competition whereby you had to guess how many miles had been travelled by all the people who went up to Dewsbury in Yorkshire for a meet up of the Yorkshire Spoolettes.  Only people who hadn’t actually attended were allowed to enter and there were two prizes, one for U.K. based entrants and one for us ‘foreigners’.

I don’t usually bother to enter these things as I never win and, anyway, I am useless at working out mileages and, being a ‘soft Southerner’, have a very sketchy idea of ‘the North’.  However, there weren’t 100s of entries as there often are with these things  and it was the last day so I decided to hazard a guess based on absolutely nothing at all and I won the ‘foreigner’ category* which meant Ali would choose something for me from the enviable range of fabric shops in Dewsbury and send it to me.

*this wasn’t what Ali called it btw

Up North

Only afterwards, when I looked for a map of the area to illustrate this post, did I realise I actually do have some northern knowledge.  Forgive my map scrawling, but the ‘circle’ in the centre represents the venue in Dewsbury I believe and, not far from there is Harrogate,   where my in-laws live.  Over to the East a bit is lovely York where I spent a week at the university there drinking  studying and living like a student in the halls of residence for a summer school when I was doing my O.U. degree   I also spy the Peak District in Derbyshire where Mr. T spent his childhood and Stockport where my Sister-in-law lives and, just off the map a bit is Liverpool where I spent a weekend or two whilst engaged in a very  ill-fated relationship with a local and where I did indeed take the ferry ‘cross the Mersey and wish I’d pushed him in as it would have saved me a lot of trouble.  Anyway, I digress, my guess was wild but successful and, yesterday, my prize arrived.

Prize

Ali had asked for some clues as to what I would like and I did say I had the ‘Agnes’ t-shirt pattern but hadn’t made it yet so some sort of knit fabric would be good.

GiveawayButtons&Bows

As you can see, there were two kinds of fabric and a couple of bags of buttons and bows.

The black and white fabric seems to be a sort of viscose jersey which has a lovely drape but there is enough of it to make several Agnes tops so I will probably make a Lady Skater, a wrap dress or I have seen the ‘Agnes’ lengthened into a dress so I might even look into doing that.

GiveawayWinFabric (2)

Here it is, in all its monochrome glory,  draped over my ‘Mannequin Me’.  I love it.

The other fabric I believe should be a contender to replace the orange prison uniforms worn by women prisoners in the States (if Orange is the New Black is to be believed).  Look!  It has pretty little feminine arrows all over it although they don’t all point upwards (or was it downwards) the way they did in prison uniforms of old – or was that just in films?  Anyway, I jest, this is really unusual and pretty fabric – I love the pink with the navy and I think this would make a great top or, Ali being generous to a fault again, even a dress.

GiveawayWinFabric (1)

It just goes to show that sometimes it’s worth taking a guess, you might just get lucky as I certainly did.  A big thanks to Ali for organising the competition and for picking out just the right things for me.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 28, 2016 - 17:02

    Oh lucky, lucky you. The prize was well worth the winning, and I envy you your OU summer school in York. Mine was in Caen, not the most beautiful of cities and only an hour from home. That said, I did have tutorials in Paris, Florence, Barcelona, Kendal and Berlin!

    • #2 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:48

      Well, you win then Viv as all my tutorials were in Croydon!

      • #3 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 29, 2016 - 11:32

        ::-) My OU years were the most enjoyable and rewarding of my entire life.

      • #4 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 11:37

        What a wonderful testimonial for the O.U.! I really enjoyed mine too but it did seem to go on for a long time. That was because, after the first three years, I had my two daughters in quick succession so took a break for three years before resuming and completing my degree. Totally worth it though!

      • #5 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on February 29, 2016 - 12:36

        I took 7 years, including a year off when we built a new house. I’ve been doing te free MOOC and Future Learn courses ever since, as the normal courses are now proibitively expensive for us expats.

  2. #6 by Beth on February 28, 2016 - 17:07

    Oh wow what an amazing price! You should enter more competitions/giveaways!🙂

    • #7 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:47

      I might well do now that I’ve struck lucky.

  3. #8 by Thimberlina on February 28, 2016 - 17:27

    A worthy winner! The fabric looks lovely draped on your mannequin, can’t wait to see what you make. Camilla from ‘making and marking’ has made something with the arrow fabric which might be in her blog soon! 😀

    • #9 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:46

      I’ll keep an eye out for that – it would be nice to see the fabric made up into a garment.
      Thanks again Ali – excellent choices, as you can tell from all the comments🙂

  4. #10 by nanacathy2 on February 28, 2016 - 17:41

    Congratulations. And if you look on your map along the southern edge of the North York moors you see Pickering where I am 😊

    • #11 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:45

      Aah, the Yorkshire moors. My sister-in-law often talks about drifting about on the moors like Heathcliffe’s Cathy when she was a lass although my husband says she did that sort of thing more in her head than in reality.

  5. #12 by Ann Martin on February 28, 2016 - 18:22

    What nice prizes! I love both fabrics.

    • #13 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:42

      They are lovely aren’t they Ann – I shall try to do them justice.

  6. #14 by sew2pro on February 28, 2016 - 18:51

    Congratulations on your elegant (and very generous) win. It’s such a lovely part of the country: I lived on the edge of the Peak District in Derbyshire for 4 years when I first came to England and my step-dad is from Leeds.

    • #15 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:42

      Yes, Husband is always going on talking about his formative years there and I did go on a wonderful geography field trip there during lambing season when I was at school back in the day. It’s definitely not all ‘grim up north’.

  7. #16 by jendavismiller on February 28, 2016 - 19:16

    Oh you lucky lady! Both of those fabrics are lovely, can’t wait to see what you come up with for them. Keep guessing and entering, it’s working wonderfully for you!

  8. #19 by Magpie Sue on February 28, 2016 - 19:40

    Good on you for your lucky guess! What a treasure trove she sent you! Fun times ahead!

    • #20 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:34

      Yes, it might inspire me to make something to wear again rather than something to lay under!

  9. #21 by Abigail on February 28, 2016 - 21:36

    Lucky!! Wonderful prize.

  10. #23 by Handmade in Israel on February 28, 2016 - 21:49

    Ooh, enjoy your prize winnings! Nice to see a map of all my old haunts. I’m a Yorkshire lass and definitely not a soft southerner😉

    • #24 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:33

      I’ve now also remembered I went on a field trip to the Peak District when I was doing Geography ‘A’ Level – a long time ago now but it was lambing season and the scenery was beautiful. It’s all coming back to me……

  11. #25 by poshbirdy on February 28, 2016 - 22:07

    Lovely. Great prize for you to win

    • #26 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:31

      Yes, she made good choices for me.

  12. #27 by katechiconi on February 28, 2016 - 23:19

    Just goes to show you should always give competitions a try. Most of the time you don’t get anything, and then just occasionally, life comes up trumps!

    • #28 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:30

      Well, to paraphrase some T.V. show or other, ‘you have to be in it to win it.’

      • #29 by katechiconi on February 29, 2016 - 11:47

        That’s the phrase our state Lottery uses… The Husband enters faithfully, I’d rather save the money I’d have spent on entering on something a bit more useful. Like fabric.

  13. #30 by Postcard from Gibraltar on February 29, 2016 - 00:14

    What a fab prize – congratulations!

  14. #32 by Jan Marriott on February 29, 2016 - 05:36

    Well done, and thanks for the link.My daughter lives near Dewsbury so I shall have a good nose round next time I am in the area.

    • #33 by tialys on February 29, 2016 - 10:28

      It sounds as if it is a treasure trove of reasonably priced fabric shops.

Leave a Reply

