Boyfriend Cardigan Finished – Orangutans Need Not Apply

Remember the fuss I made trying to choose between two different colours of yarn to make the  ‘boyfriend’ cardigan from the knitting book Storm by Kim Hargreaves?   I blogged about it back at the end of last year and, having canvassed your opinions, I went with my instincts anyway and chose the dark grey fine mohair instead of the purple to knit together  with the pale grey thicker ‘base’ yarn and here’s the result.

My boyfriend cardigan 1

(Note that I have opted not to frighten the horses and, as promised,  haven’t styled it with shorts and ankle boots as they did with the (very young) model in the book for which, I’m sure you are truly grateful.)

It’s soft and squishy and nicely oversized but not by too much .  My worries about the sleeves only fitting an orangutan were unfounded – it’s just that, being raglan sleeves, they seemed to go on forever when they were on my needles.

Here it looks a bit like your Grandad’s cardie rather than your boyfriend’s but I like the stitch used which gives you that wide rib stitch effect in relief.

MyBoyfriendCardigan (3)

I sewed the silver metal buttons on then, for a touch of femininity and also for strength, I backed them with some little floral buttons.

MyBoyfriendCardigan (4)

MyBoyfriendCardigan (1)

I really am pleased with it and to prove to Kate who always tells me off for being too self critical  that I can, in fact, be proud of my work, I’m not going to point out any faults because there aren’t any.  Ha!!

This is what’s on my needles at the moment but, even though, I like the yarn (James C. Brett Marble Chunky) and it knits up quickly and is reasonably priced and even though it’s fairly unusual to find a knitting pattern for a jumper with a scooped neck and a fitted shape I know I’m not going to love it as much.

James c brett jumper

  The yarn for the cardigan was Rowan Kid Classic – a wool and mohair blend and Rowan Kidsilk Haze, a mohair and silk blend which were knitted together and it has produced such a soft, luxurious garment that anything made with acryclic is going to pale into comparison.  Having said that, the Rowan yarn was expensive – despite me scoring both the yarns on Ebay – so, unless you’re going for a ‘special’ knitted item, I guess the  cheaper yarns will always have their place.  Of course, I do still have the purple Kidsilk Haze I didn’t use for this cardigan so I might keep my eye open for some coordinating Kid Classic in the sales and then I can make another one in a purple shade – if I can face those never ending sleeves again that is.

Mac, the kitten, likes it anyway.  He appeared from nowhere.  Knitting and cats – it really is like moths to a flame.

marble chunky kitten with knitting needles

How do you feel about knitting (or crochet) yarns?   Do you prefer to wait until you can splash out a bit and use the best quality or do you prefer acrylic blends for their easy care qualities which, for some projects is a big consideration of course,  or perhaps you can’t wear wool next to your skin?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on March 6, 2016 - 17:19

    Bravo! For several reasons: the finish, the fabulous soft and fuzzy cardigan, and for not meticulously confessing to every dropped stitch and invisible flaw! It looks gorgeous, and I do hope you can brave the ape sleeves to make a purple version too. Since I neither knit or crochet properly, I only buy yarn that appeals to my eye, start something and then abandon it when it’s clear I *still* can’t knit or crochet properly🙂 And no, I can’t wear wool next to the skin, but not for the normal reason – it’d be far too hot here!

    • #2 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:33

      I must admit that opportunities to wear such a cardi even here are quite rare. In the winter, Mr T. insists on stoking up the log burner as if we were going to run a steam train with the resulting furnace and from late Spring to early Autumn it’s usually too warm. I will have to wait until he’s left for the U.K. – where I could probably wear it all year round – and let the fire go out so I can snuggle up in it. So far I have only stroked it and made cooing noises.

      • #3 by katechiconi on March 7, 2016 - 01:04

        I can quite understand why. Do you think it’s a ‘thing’ with men to want the ambient temperature such that they can wear a t-shirt year round? I’ve heard a similar story from so many other women…

      • #4 by tialys on March 7, 2016 - 09:37

        It might be that or it’s a ‘man makes fire’ primitive thing. The whole cutting up of the logs, stacking them, hauling them about the place and, finally, setting them alight. He’s definitely not the same with radiators.

      • #5 by katechiconi on March 7, 2016 - 13:48

        Back when I was single and it was a case of ‘woman makes fire or freezes’ I had a preference for rugging up and moving around to keep warm vs cutting up logs with the chainsaw, splitting and hauling loads of heavy logs. I dunno…

      • #6 by tialys on March 7, 2016 - 14:11

        That’s what I usually do, during the week when he’s not here, but he’s now taken to cutting me enough logs to keep me going for the week and piling them up by the log burner so I have no excuse really.

  2. #7 by poshbirdy on March 6, 2016 - 17:24

    Love the cardi. I must knuckle down and get knitting again

  3. #8 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on March 6, 2016 - 18:58

    When you’re tired of it,could I have it? It is perfect – I love long sweaters that keep your bum warm. As for that rib stitch – is it the fisherman’s rib where you knit into the stitch below? The whole thing is scrumptious. I NEVER buy acrylic yarn, although a mixture with 80% wool is OK. It’s the same with fabrics – I only wear/sew with natural fibres. I still have knitted/sewn garments that are 30 years old and still good.

    • #9 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:25

      I still can’t work out how this stitch actually turns out like it does. You need a multiple of 4 plus 3. Then the pattern goes like this –
      Row 1 (RS): K1, P1, *K3, P1, rep from * to last st. k1
      Row 2: K3, *P1, K3, rep from * to end

  4. #10 by Dartmoor Yarns on March 6, 2016 - 19:26

    Looks Fab! Shame about those sleeves, you could have sent it to me, if it had been orangutan length.

    • #11 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:19

      Haha! I didn’t even have to turn the cuffs back, although I could do.

  5. #13 by Trisha on March 6, 2016 - 20:24

    Lovely cosy cardigan!

    • #14 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:17

      It really is soooo soft.

  6. #15 by jendavismiller on March 6, 2016 - 21:44

    Well curses, Vivinfrance stole my line….I was going to offer to take it off your hands. But I fear it wouldn’t go around my hips, so I guess it’s moot. Beautiful, long cardigan!! And I love how you backed the buttons, so clever.

    • #16 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:17

      It’s going nowhere😉. I haven’t worn it yet – only stroked it.

      • #17 by jendavismiller on March 7, 2016 - 14:46

        Hehe.
        Good that you went with the gray after all, it’s really lovely. I’m sure it will be a favorite, go-to cardigan!

  7. #18 by nanacathy2 on March 6, 2016 - 21:48

    I will buy nice yarn for me, but affordable easy care wool for the grandchildren, as I knit mostly for them and the garments get some rough treatment. I love your cardigan, it looks so comfy

    • #19 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:15

      Yes. For children you really need something you can fling in the washing machine.

  8. #20 by Wendy on March 6, 2016 - 21:53

    It’s beautiful, I love it, I want one! Well done.

  9. #22 by Jan Marriott on March 6, 2016 - 21:57

    That worked out very well, I always knit raglan shoulders as I prefer the fit.
    Only WOOL for me, I cant stand acrylic.
    Fabulous yarn I have found here in NZ……Zealana……..often a wool/cotton/ possum blend. Not cheap though.

    • #23 by tialys on March 6, 2016 - 23:13

      I cannot believe there is a yarn with ‘possum’ in it – that has made my day.

      • #24 by katechiconi on March 7, 2016 - 02:39

        I have a pair of possum wool socks…. and another which is a mix of merino and rabbit. Both fabulously light and fluffy and WARM. I save them for trips south to cooler weather.

      • #25 by tialys on March 7, 2016 - 09:38

        Possum wool socks!! I haven’t lived.

      • #26 by katechiconi on March 7, 2016 - 13:49

        Soooo soft, soooo cosy. Rabbit’s pretty delicious too, imagine angora on your feet.

  10. #27 by sew2pro on March 8, 2016 - 17:06

    Looks so luxurious, kudos to you! And nice to see more of you in the photo! By the way, in Croatian, the word for ‘ball of yarn’ is virtually as sweet as kittens themselves.

    • #28 by tialys on March 9, 2016 - 09:43

      Go on then…. what is it? They don’t list ‘Croatian’ in the drop down menu on Google Translate.

  11. #29 by Thimberlina on March 14, 2016 - 12:13

    It’s gorgeous, so snuggly! I bet you wear this to death! You’ll be the only person I know not wanting the weather to warm up! 😃

Leave a Reply

