A Tale of Two Kitties – The Final Part (possibly)

Yuki here – I’m guest blogging today.  Do you remember when I was very little and my fur was all scraggy and I had a broken tail and couldn’t eat?  I had just spent some days stuck behind a wall and I cried so much that I strained myself and can’t meow now only a little growl comes out.  The Missus says they should have called me Eartha Kitt but I think that might be a little joke – well it makes her laugh.  If you missed the beginning of my story you can read it here

Tiny KittenI had three brothers and even though they were much stronger than me the Missus decided to take all of us in instead of leaving us to live ‘in the wild’ which sounds quite exciting but I don’t think it would be really.  We were around 3-4 weeks old then.

These are my brothers.

Three Tabby Kittens

We lived in the spare bedroom and after a lot of this…..

bottle feeding kitten

……..and even more of this

Yuki (2)

……..two of my brothers got adopted and Mac and I now live here all the time which is lovely even though the Missus took us somewhere the other day where we met a man who made us go all woozy, then go to sleep and when we woke up it seemed he had been practising doing sewing on us.  Apparently it’s so that there is less chance of more kittens like us being born around here.

 The Mister calls us the ‘Golden Kittens’ because, even though there are four other cats in the house, we are the only ones allowed to stay in at night with a litter tray and we have special ‘kitten food’ and, if we stray too far, there is panic.

Mac&Yuki 6 Months (2)

So, 5 months later, this is us and we have definitely reached the top of the cat tree.

Although I have always had it in me……….

kitten in slipper

…………now I’m older I wanted to learn how to smize* properly so I have been copying Tyra Banks.

tyra banks smizing

Mac&Yuki 6 Months (1)What do you think?  Have I cracked it?

* to smize – smiling with your eyes as advocated by Tyra Banks on America’s Next Top Model.  If you want a laugh to learn how to do it like Tyra just click on her photo above.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by claire93 on March 25, 2016 - 11:10

    what a transformation ^^

    • #2 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:22

      Not quite so cute any more but healthy and with lovely characters.

  2. #3 by Frivolous Monsters on March 25, 2016 - 13:08

    Lovely photos. Glad to see they’re all doing well. What happened to the mother? Is she still out there in the wild?

    • #4 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:22

      I caught the mother a couple of weeks after this litter was born – it was her third that we know about – and took her down the vet’s. She is no longer in the business of production. She and four young cats from her previous litter live in and around next door’s barn and we feed them between us. We got the younger female and two of the males sterilized so they are living a semi-feral lifestyle which, in this case, really only means nobody is treating them for fleas or letting them sleep on their sofas.

  3. #5 by Abigail on March 25, 2016 - 14:34

    So adorable 😍

    • #6 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:15

      They are aren’t they – I treat them a bit like babies – must be because I bottle fed them😉

    • #7 by sew2pro on March 25, 2016 - 22:26

      I’m shocked by how quickly they’ve grown! They’re lovely cats now, and Yuki has a certain ‘Heathcliff’ charisma. Very tigerish! (I like the orange bits around the mouth!).
      Sounds like the mother has a nice kind of retirement but sadly there will be many more kittens soon, meaning more work for kind ladies of Carcassone and many more sorry tales/tails. Which is why I find your updates always uplifting.

      • #8 by tialys on March 26, 2016 - 12:57

        I know – it’s worse than watching children grow up for making the time pass quickly but if you see them next to our other cats they still look fairly titchy. I was round at my sewing friend’s house on Thursday and they have been adopted by a young cat, probably around 7 months old or so. He is very sociable so I think he is either lost or abandoned. I said, if he is there to stay they ought to get him castrated but her husband is one of those that is ‘oh, it’s alright for the females but we don’t want to do that to the male’ types. Grrrrr. I’ve told her to tell him that, if the cat isn’t ‘done’ it will spray around the garden and it will stink and it will wander off to search for females and fights and will probably get run over in the process. He loves his garden and is growing very fond of the cat so she might be able to persuade him. Sometimes you have to be cruel to be kind😉

  4. #9 by Thimberlina on March 25, 2016 - 14:45

    Brilliant! I’ve out of it and not heard of smizing, but the kitty has it off to a tee! Great post and hope it’s not the last in their adventures! 🙂

    • #10 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:14

      My daughter and I used to watch America’s Next Top Model on Sky which was so funny (unintentionally for the most part) and Tyra Banks, the top model who produces and presents it, would tell all the aspiring models to practise ‘smizing’ and demonstrate it endlessly herself. The U.K. version wasn’t a patch on it.

      • #11 by Thimberlina on March 25, 2016 - 15:20

        I’ll have to try it in my blog photos!

      • #12 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:25

        Go on – I dare you.

  5. #13 by katechiconi on March 25, 2016 - 15:18

    Sorry, Yuki, I think you just look like you’re trying to hypnotise the Missus into giving you a kitty treat. “G’wan, give me one, you know you want to, I’m just so fluffy and adorable I *deserve* treats…”. Well, you get the idea. Hope the Missus has plenty of treats in stock🙂

    • #14 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 15:26

      Well, there’s that as well of course. The online pet store has worn a path to our front door so there are always treats for us furred ones.

  6. #15 by jendavismiller on March 25, 2016 - 16:43

    Yuki and sibs are irresistible, aren’t they. “Smizing” or hypnotizing (haha Kate) I do believe you are firmly within their grasp. Please let Yuki continue to give us updates from time to time.

    • #16 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 18:12

      She has promised to update you between catwalk assignments.

  7. #17 by Jan Marriott on March 25, 2016 - 17:31

    Tooooooo cute!. Yes, keep the updates coming.How do the other animals get on with them?

    • #18 by tialys on March 25, 2016 - 18:15

      One of the other cats isn’t keen but then she isn’t keen on anybody. The dogs tolerate them during the day but, in the evenings, Flo lets them do ‘spoons’ with her on the sofa.

  8. #19 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on March 25, 2016 - 20:48

    Thank you Yuki for the great story and beautiful pictures. Hugz, ViV

    • #20 by tialys on March 26, 2016 - 13:02

      You are very welcome Viv =^..^=

  9. #21 by jodie carleton on March 27, 2016 - 11:17

    What a fantastic chapter in the story – of course there will be more !

    • #22 by tialys on March 27, 2016 - 11:29

      More chapters probably, more kittens no!😉

  10. #23 by themateriallady on March 28, 2016 - 11:53

    Beautiful kittens, and a lovely story. I’m glad there was a happy outcome for them, and hope the good work of ‘adjusting the settings’ on the other cats reduces the chances of more.

    • #24 by tialys on March 28, 2016 - 13:15

      I hope so too – I’m running out of space.

  11. #25 by Mr Hicks on March 28, 2016 - 13:16

    Great to hear from you Yuki and delighted to hear you’re doing so well – despite people practicing their sewing up on you. They’ve done that to me A LOT! Not sure about this smizing malarkey. I like to smile with my mouth and my eyes.

    • #26 by tialys on March 28, 2016 - 13:27

      Dear Mr. Hicks, Thank you for your comment. It was nice to hear from you even though you’re just a dog. I have three dogs and they are very messy and sometimes have to have baths and need to be taken out for walks whereas us cats can do those things all on our own. I’m sorry to hear you have been sewn up lots of times – perhaps you ought to visit somebody who doesn’t need as much practice. I have seen your photo and I see that you do smile with your mouth too which is O.K. for dogs as they are always panting and putting their tongues out and generally drooling but I think us cats are a little more sophisticated and subtle. Keep in touch! =^:^=

Leave a Reply

