Finished F2F Quilt – Bring On the Next One

Folded Quilt

What’s that bundle of lovely turquoiseness?*    I hear you ask.

*made up word

Can she possibly have finished putting together those 36 pieced patchwork blocks – 33 of which were sent to her from Australia, the States, Germany, the Netherlands and the U.K. as part of the F2F Block Swap?  Yes,  she has.

12inch block sampler quilt

I had a little help in the last stages

Sewing in the Sun

although as I had to unpick quite a lot of the work I did that day, maybe I should work alone in future

Cat with PatchworkAs will be obvious to most, if not all of you, the design on the back of the quilt had to be reversed – a bit like when you’re printing out something you’re going to transfer on to something else so you have to flip it round.  Well, I didn’t.  So my cunning design on the back was all random and not how I wanted it to be so rows had to be unpicked and re-joined.

Never mind, it’s done now.

Quilt As You Go Sampler Quilt Back View

I used the Quilt As You Go Method which is ideal for this sort of quilt.  Each 12.5 inch square block was layered together with batting and backing and quilted individually.  The resulting ‘mini quilts’ were then joined together with sashing and regular readers will be pleased to know that I remembered to ‘butt up my backing’ this time so no squidgy empty bits in the middle.  This is the best quilting I’ve ever done because it was so easy to get each 12.5 inch ‘quilt sandwich’ under the machine.  That is a Superking sized bed so there would have been a lot of quilt to push around under an ordinary sewing machine.

A risky ‘flung on the grass’ photo shoot.

Sampler Quilt

‘Risky’ because I have 3 dogs and 5 cats who are enthusiastic garden users.

Much less risky and probable, eventual home.

Superking Size Sampler Quilt

Thank you to all the participants in the block swap – as you can see, all your hard work has made for a lovely quilt which will be well used.  Also, knowing there are other people waiting to see the results of their efforts is a really good kick up the arse incentive for getting a quilt finished in a much quicker time than one is used to doing.  No languishing in the WIP pile for this baby.

Not all twelve of us are joining up for the next F2F swap – some have other commitments – but we have a few newcomers and there will be nine for the next one so perhaps I’ll make just a double sized quilt or even a couple of lap quilts .

Speaking of which, I’ve been practising my Paper Piecing and, while still not perfect, I’m happy enough to show you the whole photo this time without censoring the bottom half and it just happens to be in the colours I’ve chosen for the next round which is just as well because it starts next month and my name was first out of the hat to receive blocks.  Eek! Here we go again.

Practising Paper Piecing

Bring it on!

Now, I really must do some housework.  Well, after I’ve had a cup of coffee……

 

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by amelialowden on May 12, 2016 - 17:02

    Wow what an amazing quilt!!
    Your paper piecing looks incredible too:)
    I’ve just started a sample quilt, happy to see your 12 inch blocks as was worried mine were too big but yours look great 🙂

    • #2 by tialys on May 12, 2016 - 17:25

      Hello there Ami, so lovely to hear from you. I expect you’ve been madly busy with baby and everything else you have on the go but I do miss your lovely blog posts. The 12 inch blocks do look scarily big at first but it’s a lovely way to showcase fabrics and designs plus you can avoid too many small, fiddly bits which is always a bonus! Have fun with your quilt and maybe we’ll get to see the finished one some time in the not too distant future. Keep well.

  2. #3 by knettycraft on May 12, 2016 - 17:15

    Wow! Lynn it looks so wonderful!!!!!

    • #4 by tialys on May 12, 2016 - 17:30

      Thanks Annett. It’s exciting to see it come together after everybody’s contributions and I’m just as excited to see everybody else’s finished quilts as I would have had a (very) small stake in them too. Who will be number 4?

  3. #5 by http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com on May 12, 2016 - 17:35

    I am grassy green with envy, both for your quilting skills, and for the finished result. G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S.

    And I am highly impressed with your paper pieced block.
    love,
    ViV

    • #6 by tialys on May 12, 2016 - 17:43

      Thanks Viv – I was so happy to be able to concentrate on the quilting rather than trying to stuff such a big quilt through the machine. I wouldn’t have tackled anything but straight lines if I’d not used this method.

  4. #7 by poshbirdy on May 12, 2016 - 17:36

    Wow! Stunning result. Love the colours, the shapes, the finish. Absolutely stonking!

    • #8 by tialys on May 12, 2016 - 17:45

      I’ll take ‘stunning’ and ‘stonking’ – thanks very much 🙂

  5. #9 by Magpie Sue on May 12, 2016 - 20:34

    Oh, EXCELLENT! It turned out beautifully! Yes, yes, mine is coming along… any day now… ;- )

    • #10 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:10

      I’m looking forward to seeing it Sue.

  6. #11 by Frivolous Monsters on May 12, 2016 - 21:46

    It does make your bed look small, until you notice the cabinets at the side.

    Taking pictures of my cakes I once did a “flung in the grass” shoot for a gluten free Victoria Sandwich. It makes it look more natural, but you do risk the insects. I make do with a wooden chopping board now.

    • #12 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:15

      I had to take the photo from above by standing on a stool at the end of the bed in order to get the whole thing in so it does look smaller than in ‘real life’ but I think the bed is something like 180 x 200cm. I didn’t know you make cakes – why no blog posts?

      • #13 by Frivolous Monsters on May 13, 2016 - 12:03

        Yes, a deceptive scale, like some magician’s trick. And yes I’m a baker and when I started off I think I used to put everything on the blog, including lots of photos, but then some things didn’t go down well, and it was a bit all over the place, so I decided to concentrate on the writing which was the main reason why I’m here.

      • #14 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 13:00

        I went right back to the beginning of your blog and didn’t see any cakes – but a very amusing article on cat shows which was unfairly overlooked. I sometimes think, now I have more followers, of re-blogging some of my older stuff which went unnoticed at the time. Still, I like using my blog as a bit of a journal so I sometimes scroll back through my old posts and at least I can amuse myself.

      • #15 by Frivolous Monsters on May 13, 2016 - 15:28

        Ah, that’s a lot of scrolling. Sorry, I deleted a lot when I had a makeover. I had a lot of photo posts, and diary posts, and things about books. The first post was a paragraph about scientists discovering a new planet. Also, recently, I had an incursion from someone finding their way in who only knows me at another place and I had to removed more of the personal ones.

        The main thing, for me, is that I’ve written them and have them safely saved elsewhere for future use.

  7. #16 by Thimberlina on May 12, 2016 - 22:42

    Ace!! I love it! It’s amazing how it goes together and every block tells a story from around the world 🙂

    • #17 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:16

      Thanks Ali – how are your sampler blocks coming on?

      • #18 by Thimberlina on May 13, 2016 - 10:19

        They’re not 😟 I’ve lost a bit of interest with them being small and time consuming. I don’t seem to have as much time when the sun’s shining 🌞🌞🌞

      • #19 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:37

        Patchwork is certainly not ‘instant gratification’ as making clothes can be and, what with working full time and everything else, I can understand why you would run out of steam with blocks. However, those you have made, you can store away for the cold months ahead – which could be any time in the U.K., let’s face it. Make the most of the sunshine and you can always come back into the fold later on.

  8. #20 by katechiconi on May 12, 2016 - 22:42

    Lovely, lovely work! I feel so proud of you! You were so hesitant at first, wondering if you could keep up and if your blocks would be good enough. Well, just look at you now! Not just hugely increased skills and adventurousness, but also a fantastic and enormous quilt, which I think M. Tialys will have to agree is worth a slight decrease in housework (dust is a great insulator, and you can always find just one more clean plate if you really have to). Please may I have the washing line shot to put in the gallery? The one on the bed is fabulous, but the other one showcases the blocks better. Clever, clever girl! 🙂

    • #21 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:18

      Thanks for all your encouragement and occasional tips and tricks Kate. This swap has really made me ‘get back into’ patchwork again after concentrating on making clothes for a few years. I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to the next round.

      • #22 by katechiconi on May 13, 2016 - 10:20

        You’ve done it all yourself! I like making clothes, but a quilt is a piece of artistry, something in a different league, and yours is gorgeous. Bring on F2F2!

  9. #23 by dezertsuz on May 12, 2016 - 23:00

    I love your quilt! It looks amazing, front and back. It is an incentive. I’m glad my next one is later in the rounds this time, because I have some time to do something with the blocks, and I already know what I’m doing, just keeps getting pushed backward on the list. Or downward, whatever. =) Your paper-pieced block looks super. Not an easy block, and you’ve done it well. I was just looking at your colors yesterday!

    • #24 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:20

      Thanks Susan. You are making quilts all the time for many different causes and swaps so I’m not surprised you haven’t quite finished yours yet. I’m excited to see what everybody else does though. I quite enjoyed the paper piecing – once I had got my head round the ‘in reverse’ thing – so I might try some more patterns if I can find some that aren’t too complicated.

  10. #25 by sew2pro on May 12, 2016 - 23:07

    Turquoiseness, Awesomeness, Gorgeousness! Totally amazing; let me know if you end up with too many and need to hand some over 🙂

    • #26 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:22

      Thanks Marianna – I’m far too slow to have an excess of quilts (although the husband might disagree) but, if it happens, I’ll bear you in mind 😉

  11. #27 by Abigail on May 12, 2016 - 23:18

    Too lovely! It’s gorgeous!

  12. #29 by nettyg on May 13, 2016 - 04:36

    Good work, you clever thing. A beautiful quilt to feel justifiably proud of. Love the colours in your next one and the paper piecing is ace.

    • #30 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 10:24

      Thank-you. I will carry on trying with the paper piecing as I find it fascinating and the results – when you get it right – look so neat (in both senses of the word).

  13. #31 by claire93 on May 13, 2016 - 12:18

    your finished quilt is gorgeous? Well done you!
    I love your paper pieced star too . . . roll on June, eh?

    • #32 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 12:57

      Thanks Claire – you’re the last to receive blocks aren’t you? Still, with only nine of us there won’t be so much time to wait as in the last round.

      • #33 by claire93 on May 13, 2016 - 15:36

        yes, but someone has to be last and I’m happy to be taking part this time ^^

  14. #34 by Oh Sew Tempting on May 13, 2016 - 16:20

    Woohoo! Well done! What a splendiferous result 🙂 Being first in F2F2 has really made you focus on getting this one done and dusted and it was well worth the final push. I reckon Sue will be finished next. Loving your paper piecing too 🙂

  15. #35 by sewchet on May 13, 2016 - 19:04

    Wow – just WOW! I know we’ve seen snippets, but that doesn’t prepare you for the effect of the finished quilt which is just amazing. Well done to everyone involved:)

    • #36 by tialys on May 13, 2016 - 22:07

      Thanks Sheila – I’m looking forward to seeing everybody else’s finished quilts too.

  16. #37 by Carol on May 13, 2016 - 21:06

    Love it…… Gorgeous colour combinations, it really is a wow, wow, wow!

  17. #39 by Dartmoor Yarns on May 14, 2016 - 07:47

    Wow! that is absolutely stunning. And so neatly and beautifully put together. Go you! I’ve always thought quilt as you go left things a bit ‘scruffy’ but obviously not. If I ever make a quilt again, I’ll be putting it together like that – such a nightmare quilting whole quilts, every quilt should be quilted as you go. Hope the cats and dogs are kind to it. The only quilt I’ve ever made is constantly covered in paw prints.

    • #40 by tialys on May 14, 2016 - 09:54

      Thanks Bekki. I think, with a quilt as large as this, I would have struggled to do anything other than straight lines on the machine. My hand quilting isn’t that great and would have taken me forever so that wasn’t an option. Because they were all 12 inch blocks, it was quite an easy process to make them into mini quilts and then I could be more creative with the quilting, trying some free motion quilting for instance, which I would never have done been able to do on a whole quilt. Then all you have to do is use a special method to attach the sashing to the back and front at the same time and it does all end up looking very neat. I tend to keep my quilts upstairs where the animals aren’t allowed but some end up downstairs and, to be honest, I find them easier to wash than those accursed ‘pet blankets’ they make from fleecy material which act as a magnet for every stray pet hair around. Who came up with that idea?

      • #41 by Dartmoor Yarns on May 14, 2016 - 20:04

        Hadn’t though of it like that, but yes, it’s impossible to wash the hair from dog blankets, but they don’t stick to the quilt. Mine is downstairs on the settee that Hicks had stopped climbing on, but the minute the quilt went on he started again. And you know what a soft touch I am, wasn’t going to stop him. Anyway well done again, if I do make a quilt, I’ll be checking in with you about that joining method.

  18. #42 by themateriallady on May 15, 2016 - 14:00

    Absolutely gorgeous. That quilting itch is getting to the point where it will be difficult to ignore!

    • #43 by tialys on May 16, 2016 - 10:42

      I think the time is coming when you are going to have to scratch that itch.

  19. #45 by nanacathy2 on May 15, 2016 - 20:11

    Love love love it!

    • #46 by tialys on May 16, 2016 - 10:37

      Thank you – I’m very pleased with it.

  20. #47 by Postcard from Gibraltar on May 15, 2016 - 21:54

    Wow that’s stunning! What a gorgeous quilt – and I love the look of your garden 🙂

    • #48 by tialys on May 16, 2016 - 10:36

      Thank you. It’s a bit jungly at the moment – we have a lot of space and it’s hard for Mr. T to keep on top of it as he works over in the U.K. full time. I am no gardener – unless it’s picking flowers for vases – and he wouldn’t approve of anything I did anyway and, for the same reason, he won’t let me get a gardener in to keep on top of weeds/mowing etc. It’s also, after the first terraced levels, incredibly steep so a bit of ‘extreme’ gardening is called for from time to time.

      • #49 by Postcard from Gibraltar on May 16, 2016 - 13:21

        Crikey, it must be hard with him away so much. My husband travels regularly but we have him for a few weeks in between. It must be frustrating for him if he wants to maintain it but doesn’t have much time at home. However jungly and wild flowers are a winner in my book 😉

  21. #50 by Emmely on May 16, 2016 - 10:07

    Wow, I absolutely love it!!! So neat to see the finished quilts. I really should get started on mine soon.

    • #51 by tialys on May 16, 2016 - 10:29

      I’m looking forward to seeing your one with all those lovely greens but I expect you have a lot on at the moment don’t you? 😉

      • #52 by Emmely on May 16, 2016 - 15:33

        Yes, life is a bit busy at the moment. I’m not even sure I’ll be able to finish Kate’s blocks in time…

  22. #53 by PendleStitches on May 16, 2016 - 19:26

    Oh it’s glorious. You must be so very happy with it. And I love the new block. Great colours and such precise piecing. My quilting is always so very slapdash!

Leave a Reply

