Not For The Squeamish

This dress caught my eye the other day in a French magazine

Drape Neck Knit Dress

I like the unusual draping effect at the neckline and, as it’s in a knit fabric,  I am once again able to avoid my nemesis, the zip.

I might make it for my youngest or, add a few inches to the hem, and make it for me.  I have just the right fabric.

Jersey Dress Pattern

This is quite fine knit fabric and very drapey and Mlle Tialys likes purple so I thought it would be the perfect project.

Until I saw the pattern.

Magazine Pattern to Trace

Really?!  It’s bad enough tracing off an individual pattern but can there be any excuse for this?  Plus, the instructions are in French of course which is not beyond my capabilities but yet another unnecessary obstacle to be overcome.

Ironically, I think the pattern is by Simplicity.  Anyone know the pattern number so I can buy the blooming thing and not go cross eyed in the process of making it?

In other, totally unrelated, news – my dog, Stan, has something nasty on his paw.  I thought it was just a grass seed causing a boil or some other simple thing but the vet says it’s a mass/nodule/tumour – yes, she variously used all three of those words none of which was less scary than the others.  She gave me some anti-inflammatory tablets and a spray to administer once a day during which time I have to put a sock over his paw and sit with him so that he doesn’t try to lick it for at least half an hour.

image

If it hasn’t gone by Monday he might have to have surgery which worries me as he has had a few fits and I’m not sure whether a general anaesthetic might exacerbate them.

stanreadyforwalk

He’s mostly hopping about on 3 legs at the moment but he’s missing his long walks and, most of all, running after his tennis balls.   Fingers and paws crossed for a non-surgical outcome.

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by poshbirdy on September 22, 2016 - 11:49

    Wow, that pattern looks like our satnav did the other week when we accidentally went off-road near Axat! Good luck with it. But poor Stan, what a terrible thing to happen. It’s quite a dilemma for you and I do hope it responds to the meds first x

    • #2 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 12:12

      Well, I’m no good at map reading either but at least I’m not expected to trace one – although it would probably be less complex.
      Apparently, the meds – mostly cortisone I think – are in the hope that his body might re-absorb whatever the nasty is. I suppose it would only be a fairly minor op – being on an extremity and not an organ – but I’d still it rather not be necessary.

  2. #3 by Emma on September 22, 2016 - 12:31

    Oh dear! That pattern looks like it’s from hell, what were they thinking?! Poor Stan, I hope he is okay, our dog had a grass seed but in his cheek and had to go under general anaesthesia, thankfully he is pretty young so all was good in the end but it was very stressful😦 paws crossed all goes well

    • #4 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 12:43

      All the patterns they feature in the magazine – and there are a few – are drawn out on two double sided sheets of paper. Not only do you have to track down the pattern you want to trace but also the size you want. I like the dress – but not that much.
      Thanks for crossing your paws for Stan and a very Happy Birthday for yesterday!

      • #5 by Emma on September 22, 2016 - 13:44

        Aww thanks a lot 😊

  3. #6 by katechiconi on September 22, 2016 - 12:48

    That pattern is MUCH scarier than the paw. I have a very similar looking pattern from a Dutch dressmaking magazine, and you have to be able to understand which sheet your pattern is on and which colour it’s printed in. Good job I have a bit of Dutch, then… Maybe one day I’ll get round to making those rather nice trousers. Maybe.
    But poor Stan… he doesn’t look too miserable, but I’m sure it must be very sore, and he needs lots of treats…

    • #7 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 13:00

      I have the right sheet – I know the colour – it doesn’t help!! Sometimes, you’ve got to say ‘life’s too short’ and move on.

      • #8 by katechiconi on September 22, 2016 - 13:05

        Time to Google that dress pattern…

      • #9 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 13:25

        OOh!! Found it – it’s Simplicity 1716. It was the first thing to come up when I entered ‘draped neck jersey dress Simplicity’. Isn’t the internet wonderful?

      • #10 by katechiconi on September 22, 2016 - 15:16

        Whatever did we do before it? So glad you’ve found a good solution🙂

  4. #11 by nanacathy2 on September 22, 2016 - 15:01

    Glad you found the pattern, much easier than that scribble in the magazine! Poor paw! Hope he’s better by Monday.

    • #12 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 18:35

      ‘Scribble’ is the word – it makes me go all woozy just looking at it.

  5. #13 by Magpie Sue on September 22, 2016 - 19:09

    Glad you found the pattern number; will you have any trouble laying your hands on the pattern envelope itself? That scribble out of the magazine (I assume) is enough to give anyone an epileptic fit! Our paws are crossed for Stan too.❤

    • #14 by tialys on September 22, 2016 - 19:24

      I found it today on Ebay for a good price and, as it was free shipping, bought another from the same seller which is for a faux wrap dress also in jersey fabric. I hope my overlocker behaves itself when I get around to making them😉

  6. #15 by jendavismiller on September 22, 2016 - 20:43

    Yikes! I’d just to have fold that back up and put it away….but you found the real deal so all is well. Love the neckline! As for sweet mister Stan, I’m crossing up around here for his little paw to be back to normal with ease and no surgery. (My cat Freida is kneading my abdomen as I type this, it’s undoubtedly her effort to send good wishes to your doggie, too. Or perhaps she is trying to do me great personal injury?)

    • #16 by tialys on September 23, 2016 - 07:23

      Thanks Jen (and Freida). I’ll keep you updated on the paw situation.

  7. #17 by sew2pro on September 22, 2016 - 22:09

    Ooh best wishes!! I have heard of people putting a towel around their dog’s waist and carrying their back end while the dog walks on front paws (ok, it’s not a good look)
    .
    Incidentally the Blogstalker has the most horrible wound on his leg: no blood but pink and horribly raw with size of 50p fur missing. I thought he’d been attacked by a blade but £41 later (and an anti-inflame) I got the wonderful news that he’d probably just sat on a hornet or a wasp and then licked himself raw to ease the sting. Silly sausage.

    • #18 by tialys on September 23, 2016 - 07:22

      Poor Blogstalker! You can almost predict the standard sum you have to pay now whenever you go the vets – a consultation fee and the cost of an anti-inflammatory jab and/or tablets – if you’re lucky!! Having felt the rough end of a cat’s tongue – I can imagine the application of one for a long time would indeed make your skin sore – a bit like rubbing yourself with sandpaper.
      I hope you appreciated that I put the slightly yukky photo on just for you after your previous comment that you like to see such things:/

      • #19 by sew2pro on September 23, 2016 - 07:43

        Thank you! (and, good point about tongue, never thought of that)

  8. #20 by sewchet on September 23, 2016 - 08:40

    Just found the pattern number before reading the comments and realising I’m late to the party! You should confront your nemesis and master the zip – they’re easy, really, and open up many more possibilities. Hope the paw is better soon:)

    • #21 by tialys on September 23, 2016 - 09:07

      I know! It’s not that I can’t do them, it’s just that I don’t do them enough for it to be second nature so I usually just follow along with a tutorial each time I need to put a zip in. I did buy a Craftsy course covering the insertion of all the different types of zip but it is painfully slow both in the presentation and the playback which keeps freezing so I get bored. I mean 28 minutes to show you how to put in a lapped zip! Also, there are so many different methods favoured by everybody so I never know which one to adopt.

  9. #22 by PendleStitches on September 23, 2016 - 11:23

    Oh poor Stan. This happened to my cousins dog and it did go away on it’s own. Paws and fingers crossed here. xx

    • #23 by tialys on September 23, 2016 - 12:20

      Thanks for the crossing of fingers and paws. The weird thing is, this morning it seemed to have burst then it came back again which makes me think it can’t be a tumour but then I’m not a vet:/

  10. #24 by dezertsuz on September 24, 2016 - 04:06

    I hope the medication does the trick. Poor guy, has to hurt! I like the dress, too, but that pattern! Ridiculous! I’m glad you found it for a reasonable price, and the bonus of a second pattern as well! I look forward to seeing it one of these days. =)

    • #25 by tialys on September 25, 2016 - 11:52

      This is his last day before he has to report back to the Vet. It does seem to have shrunk and almost disappeared but I’ll probably take him back to see what she thinks.

  11. #26 by claire93 on September 25, 2016 - 19:04

    glad you found the pattern ref! I’ve got several French magazines with dress patterns drawn out like yours and I don’t know why I bought the magazines because I’ll never follow the patterns! However Jaycotts have got a sale on Simplicity patterns at the moment – you might want to look for it there.

    • #27 by tialys on September 26, 2016 - 08:44

      My sewing friend Sandra (French, despite her name) just left for a 12 day holiday and I was going to ask for her help with the tracing as she, unaccountably, always makes her clothes from these magazines. In fact I had borrowed this one from her. I was due to see her the day before she left but she ended up being too busy to have a sewing afternoon as she hadn’t finished packing so that’s when I thought ‘sod that, I’m buying the pattern or not making it at all’. Thanks for the tip about Jaycotts but I had already found it on eBay and it was free p & P so it was well worth it not to have to negotiate that hideous tangle of lines.

  12. #28 by Dartmoor Yarns on September 26, 2016 - 18:38

    So sorry to hear about Stan’s paw. I’m a few days behind, so hoping it’s mending well now. Fingers crossed – as you know I’m only too familiar with how horrible it is dealing with pet health challenges, especially when they’re older and the op itself might be a problem. Will be thinking of you and Stan. Glad you found the pattern number. Now, go face that zipper thing – even I can do those. Not saying brilliantly, but I don’t let them scare me and I know you’re braver than me:-)

    • #29 by tialys on September 27, 2016 - 12:43

      Thanks Bekki. Looks like Stan’s body has re-absorbed the nasty. It’s difficult to see any sign of it now so I think the meds must have worked. I might take him to see the Vet anyway just to make sure – I don’t want it recurring.

      • #30 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 1, 2016 - 20:08

        That’s fantastic news. Given how late I’m running on replies, have you now been to the vets?

      • #31 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:30

        I hadn’t because it had disappeared at the end of the week’s meds but I noticed yesterday that it’s back again although flatter looking. I’ll be ringing for an appointment today😦

      • #32 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 3, 2016 - 21:20

        Oh that’s a shame. Keep us posted on how you get on.

      • #33 by tialys on October 4, 2016 - 14:00

        Another course of anti-inflammatories and she wants to see him again Saturday but at least she only charged me for the pills this time.

      • #34 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 5, 2016 - 18:41

        Fingers crossed it goes for goo this time. And good to hear you only paid for the pills. Still keep us posted want to know when he’s all tickety boo again.

  13. #35 by Thimberlina on September 27, 2016 - 23:48

    Aw, hope your pooch is gonna be ok. Good luck with the pattern hunting 🍀

Leave a Reply

