Fabric Confusion, A Dog Paw and Yellow Coconut

For all of you that were concerned about the nasty thing on Stan’s paw I’m pleased to say that it appears to have shrunk to nothing after his course of anti-inflammatory tablets.  I will keep an eye on it but, for the moment,  he is back to normal which means he is constantly worrying the life out of me to throw a ball for him

diva-ball-junkie

To celebrate I spent some rare moments making sweet things.  I could probably hold the Bake Off in my kitchen with the amount of equipment we have despite the fact we are not really big dessert/pudding/cake eaters – although Mr. Tialys can put a whole McVities Digestive biscuit in his mouth at once – and does – sometimes until the biscuit tin is empty.  Anyway I made these Coconut, Cherry, Chocolate Fingers and very nice they are were too.

cherrycoconutfingers

In the photograph accompanying the recipe I made these from (which you can find below if interested), the coconut part was very white but our ‘home grown’ eggs make everything we use them in turn very, very yellow so that’s why mine don’t look the same.  That, and the fact that I haven’t cut mine into delicate fingers but rather little slabs.

When you see some interesting looking fabric that says 110cm wide x 2.8m long for 4 euros you just have to go for it even if there’s a sign saying you’re not allowed to unroll it.  One of our rare charity shops has lots of such rolls and I suppose, if you ask one of the volunteers to have a better look, they would let you but I like surprises.

Mystery Fabric

It had a sort of Liberty look about it.  Anyway this is the fabric unrolled.

Panel Fabric

The panels run down the length of the fabric.

Panel Fabric

So this is it turned on its side.

It’s pretty but what could I make with it?  I don’t know what the fabric is but it has a very nice drape to it.  The only thing I can think of is a summery maxi dress for next year (or a midi dress as I’m short but not that short) or a maxi skirt also for next summer.  Anybody have any other ideas?  Have you had any experience with this sort of panelled fabric?  They must have a purpose in mind when they manufacture it mustn’t they?

Out of interest, I did a burn test on the fabric to see if I could tell what it was.  I do like an experiment especially if it involves flame but, typically, my results were inconclusive as it seemed not to fit any of the categories given in the burn test list you can find here.  This burnt brightly with a yellow flame and didn’t melt or smell icky but it didn’t leave a soft grey ash.  It left a black residue but it crushed easily so wasn’t a ‘bead’.  I think it must be a blend but there is definitely something natural in there.

Stan is very grateful for you all keeping your fingers and paws crossed for him and would like to invite you for a game of ball any time you have a few hours to spare.

ball-junkie

Be warned, I got tendonitis!!

Coconut, Cherry & Chocolate Fingers

(makes 16)

200g dessicated coconut

85g caster sugar

150g dark chocolate chips

85g glacé cherries, halved

2 eggs, beaten

150g dark chocolate, broken into pieces

Combine the coconut, sugar, choc chips and cherries in a bowl until evenly distributed then mix in the

eggs to make a gooey paste.  Spoon the mixture into a 30cm x 20cm brownie tin that you’ve lined with baking

parchment and spread evenly with a wooden spoon, packing it down firmly.  Bake for 20 minutes at 180°C/Gas 4

until golden brown and set. Melt the chocolate pieces carefully

(in a bowl over hot water or watched like a hawk in 20 second bursts in the microwasve is best)

and pour over the top of baked mixture spreading evenly

over the top.  Leave to cool in tin, cut into fingers with a sharp knife and refrigerate until well set.

Eat.

(Taken from Sesame & Spice by Anne Shooter)

 

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on September 29, 2016 - 09:15

    If it resembled a burn like cotton it might be viscose (not on craftsy’s list). An overlooked fabric, great for dresses and blouses. Interesting merging of graphics.

    Great news about Stan but don’t leave those treats unattended!

    • #2 by tialys on September 29, 2016 - 10:35

      Yes, viscose is a possibility but possibly blended with something else. I like your diplomatic use of the word ‘interesting’!

  2. #3 by itwasjudith on September 29, 2016 - 09:30

    The idea of a summer dress seems fitting, perhaps something in 50s style like these ones:
    http://wheretoget.it/look/1051246

    and cutting across the large flower prints (but leaving out the small print as it doesn’t seem to fit together).
    Or house items, like cushion covers, table mats etc.

    Glad to hear that Stan is back to ball games🙂

    • #4 by tialys on September 29, 2016 - 10:51

      Yes! I think something like those 50s style dresses might work. It would make the sort of quirky dress one of my daughters likes to wear.

  3. #5 by nanacathy2 on September 29, 2016 - 12:01

    Your slabs look delicious. The fabric would be a wonderful maxi dress. Go for it.

    • #6 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:22

      I think I’m going to put it in the stash and see if the perfect pattern presents itself between now and next Spring!

  4. #7 by Lynda on September 29, 2016 - 13:14

    It is very early in the morning here and I was trying to make sense of the math conversion from cm to inches. Based on the photos it simply wasn’t adding up… then I realized that the fabric was draped over a chair and that wasn’t you standing behind it and holding it up with your hands! Guess I should have gotten more sleep last night. 😉 And, I like itwasjudith’s idea for that 50s style dress!

    • #8 by Lynda on September 29, 2016 - 13:18

      I’m glad Stan is on the mend. It is never a good day when our fur-friends are not 100% ❤

      • #9 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:17

        Thanks Lynda – they do seem to have the capacity to make themselves look so pathetic and miserable don’t they?

    • #10 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:20

      Sorry! I do usually put in the conversions but forgot this time – for the recipe also😦 .
      Just been over to lurk in your blog and I’m sorry to hear about your changed plans but, as lots of your regular readers have said, you gave it a go and enjoyed it and now you are ready to embrace another life change which will better suit your circumstances.

      • #11 by Lynda on September 30, 2016 - 13:52

        That’s OK, the math was easy. It was the perspective that eluded so early in the morning! LOL!
        And, thank you.🙂

  5. #12 by Jodie on September 29, 2016 - 14:50

    i say : summer frock !!! Yummy slice and I’ll be over to chuck the ball as soon as I get a sec.

    • #13 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:16

      I won’t hold my breath then Jodie!!

  6. #14 by katechiconi on September 29, 2016 - 17:51

    The part of the print that doesn’t work for me is the itty bitty part at the bottom of the up and down shot, otherwise I’d agree about the dress. My quilter’s eye wants to cut it into strips the width of each section, but perhaps not, if it’s not cotton… Maybe a long-ish skirt…?
    Glad Stan is feeling better enough to pester for ball throwing.

    • #15 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:15

      Funnily enough, I also had that thought about the strips but I think it might be viscose (as suggested by Marianna) or something similar. It actually has the same effect as a quilt I made a little while ago which basically consisted of strips of Liberty fabric – of varying sizes but the same width – being joined together. I bought the strips in the Liberty shop when I was in London a couple of years ago and actually have another set of strips ready to put together. It’s satisfyingly simple and a good excuse to scatter some Liberty fabric around the place. You probably remember it as I asked you how to quilt it and you suggested wavy lines which I did and it worked very well.

  7. #16 by Kim on September 29, 2016 - 19:47

    I agree with Marijana, interesting. I did think it looked like something Horrockses would have used in their dresses – if you Google them they are very distinctive and not unlike the examples so far.
    Very glad to hear that Stan is so much better. If ever I get back to Carcassonne I will be sure to save some ball throwing time! 😀

    • #17 by tialys on September 30, 2016 - 08:10

      Thanks Kim – I had fun reading up about Horrockses and looking at some of those lovely dresses which would be perfect for the retro look popular now. One of my daughters is quite keen on that style but I don’t think that fabric is really ‘her’ so I’ll give it a wash, roll it back up and put it in the stash for now. Maybe inspiration will strike sometime between now and next Spring.

  8. #18 by dezertsuz on October 2, 2016 - 02:40

    Your dessert looks and sounds scrumptious! I love anything with cherries and that outweighs the coconut. LOL The panel, yes a dress or skirt – actually one of those gypsy skirts with gathered rows. But I think if I were making quilt blocks, I’d take advantage of having 4 fabrics that sort of coordinate and use them together. It would be interesting t know what it is, the fiber I mean. Let us know if you figure it out. Love the label of ball junkie on your dog, and I’m so glad he is healed of that nasty looking thing.

    • #19 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:29

      Thanks Susan. I might be back to the vets this week with him as it seems to have made a reappearance.

Leave a Reply

