Can I Mention the S Word?

It’s October now – so can I say ‘Santa’?

Do you have lots of friends and family who understand just what a sewing/knitting/crochet addict wants for Christmas?  If you have, you’re lucky.  I find it difficult to make a wish list for my family unless it’s very specific and then that spoils the surprise.

For the third year running,  Sheila who blogs over at Sewchet, has the answer.

secret-santa

She is organising Stitching Santa again .

In a Christmas nutshell :-

Sheila will partner you with somebody in your category –  you can participate in the one for Knitting/Crochet or the one for Sewing – or you can enter both.  I am!

If you don’t already follow that person’s blog, it is a good idea to ‘blog stalk’ them to get an idea of their likes and dislikes and their taste in general.

You send a parcel containing a gift costing no more than £10 (other currencies shown over at Sheila’s blog) and anything else you think your recipient would like such as little handmade gifts, accessories, notions, etc.

You will receive a parcel in return (woohoo!) which you should put under the tree until Christmas morning even though you might be tempted to squeeze and manhandle it a little

You can enter from anywhere in the World and Sheila will try to match you up so the shipping costs aren’t too bad.

For full details and to register, go over and register on Sheila’s Stitching Santa page here

I entered last year and it was great fun to choose gifts to include in the parcels and to have pressies under the tree that I knew would be themed especially for me and my sewing and knitting habits.

Sorry, I think I put the ‘C’ word in there somewhere as well but there’s only about 84 sleeps left.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on October 2, 2016 - 10:05

    You had to say it, didn’t you…? Not just the S word, but the C word too! I’ll look forward to seeing what Santa brings you…

    • #2 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:28

      I normally avoid both words until at least the middle of November but, even here, where they’re way behind the U.K. in the ‘C’ shopping stakes, I have noticed the enormous (but flat) boxes of chocs appearing in the supermarkets.

      • #3 by katechiconi on October 3, 2016 - 08:43

        The only reason our aisle are not groaning with Santa-associated tat is that they’re groaning with Halloween tat. Sigh…

  2. #4 by sew2pro on October 2, 2016 - 13:14

    There’s an H word in my house. My daughter asked me to make her a Mexican skull bag – for Halloween:-/ I love the idea of Secret Santa – what a wonderful way to meet new people – but am reluctant to make another person dependant on my meeting a deadline. However, I have instructed my brother to measure his dog’s neck so I can get him (the dog) a C present from your shop!

    • #5 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:26

      Aah! A Mexican skull bag. Of course. Do you have a pattern or is she expecting the usual Mum Magic to produce something?

      Is the ‘C’ present for the handsome Django beast?

      • #6 by sew2pro on October 3, 2016 - 17:20

        No, for someone much chubbier!

      • #7 by tialys on October 4, 2016 - 14:01

        I can cope with collars for chubby dogs. I notice you changed your mind and signed up for the Stitching Santa btw🙂

  3. #8 by Thimberlina on October 2, 2016 - 20:57

    It was the highlight of my Christmas Day last year, am excited to be joining in again!🙂

    • #9 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:24

      What’s not good about a surprise pressie from somebody who ‘gets’ what you would like?

  4. #10 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 2, 2016 - 23:49

    I’m with Thimberlina – Haven’t been so excited about opening a present as I was about my secret Santa for a good few years

    • #11 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:22

      It brings back memories of flying down the stairs at an ungodly hour, nightie billowing out behind, desperate to dive into the pressies and the selection box (leaving the Spangles ’til last) – well, that was me last year anyway😉

  5. #13 by jendavismiller on October 3, 2016 - 02:14

    Oh such fun it was last year! And this year will surely be the same. Thank you Sheila!

    • #14 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:18

      Yes, Sheila does a great job of organising us all doesn’t she? Bless ‘er!

  6. #15 by dezertsuz on October 3, 2016 - 05:37

    It’s amazing how fast it’s approaching! I realized on the 25th of September there were exactly 90 days until Christmas! Ouch!

    • #16 by tialys on October 3, 2016 - 08:17

      Scary is what it is!!

  7. #17 by Kim on October 3, 2016 - 17:37

    I saw this for the first time last year. I thought it was brilliant so will be heading over to sign up!

    • #18 by tialys on October 4, 2016 - 14:00

      You’re not in the list yet!!

Leave a Reply

