Sore Paw

For any of you who sent good wishes for Stan and his dodgy foot – I’m afraid it didn’t clear up with the anti-inflammatory tablets so, this morning., the vet removed it.  The cyst, not the foot.

collar of shameHe’s not a happy chap.

It appears to have been an interdigital cyst or furuncle(!) which means she had to mess with the webbing between his toes and try to stitch it back up again without joining two toes together – at least I think that’s what she said.  Now I know what it is I have been doing some research online and it appears that some consider surgery to be a last resort – rather than a second one – or even not something to be considered at all and some say that the cyst can come back again. So now I’m worried that I shouldn’t have just taken the vet’s word for it and, instead,  bathed it with an athlete’s foot solution or Epsom Salts or even changed his diet as some people claim they have had success with.  Sometimes the Internet is a double edged sword  :(

Still, what’s done is done and I will change the dressing after 3 days, keep giving him the antibiotics and the vet will look at it again after a week.  The offending item has been sent off for analysis so let’s hope there is no bad news from that.

In the meantime, I have to contend with a demented, animated lampshade that is desperate to run about on 3 feet, play ball and forage for fallen figs as he did before the cone of shame was fitted.    The cats are terrified of him in his new guise.

Please keep all those fingers and paws crossed for the time being and I’ll keep you updated.

, , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on October 11, 2016 - 19:52

    Ha ha, poor cats and poor Stan, who must be so fed up of not getting his exercise.

    I think he looks dignified and Elizabethan, like Sir Francis Drake in one of his ruffs.

    Best wishes and hope the lab analysis brings good news.

    • #2 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:18

      I’m just going to try him out on a shortish walk this morning – without the ruff but with a plastic bag taped over the dressing. I can’t not go as the other two will go mental and, if I leave him behind, he will. Blooming pets:/

  2. #3 by notewords on October 11, 2016 - 20:28

    I hope all goes well. Lots of positive thoughts coming your way!
    When our dog had the cone of shame, he used to shake his head vigorously every now and then (without any warning) and the cone would go wuggawuggawuggawugga. This was great fun in the middle of the night. He also used to ricochet off the security door that he could normally just walk through. He did learn to cope, and I’m sure your chap will as well.

    • #4 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:16

      It’s such a pain isn’t it? There are several doors to go through before he can get from the main house into the garden, plus two little flights of steps to go up so it’s not easy for him. Last night – the first in the cone – was pretty peaceful but then I think he was still a bit woozy from the anaesthetic. Thank you for your positive thoughts🙂

  3. #5 by Frivolous Monsters on October 11, 2016 - 21:17

    I am glad it’s not the foot. I was on edge then. Hope all improves.

    • #6 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:13

      Thank you! – and nice to hear from you I was a bit on edge about you. Hope all is well x

      • #7 by Frivolous Monsters on October 14, 2016 - 00:57

        I am still going. All my writing efforts have been mostly aimed at finishing off my “book”. Yeah, I’m still banging on about that. I’ve read through and corrected the first draft, added a couple more stories, and have spent a long time working on the epilogue where I bring everything together and where it looks like I’m about to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat I present the reader only with utter, utter, defeat. Happy endings, eh?

        I am glad my adopted cat lost his leg (for whatever reason) long before he turned up here. That can’t be a nice thing to go through for all parties.

      • #8 by tialys on October 14, 2016 - 08:03

        Good luck with the epilogue! Hopefully you’ll let us know on your blog when you’ve finished the book and have some tales to tell about the process.

  4. #9 by nanacathy2 on October 11, 2016 - 21:32

    Big hug winging it’s way from Yorkshire for the poor chap. Xxxx

    • #10 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:12

      Thank you – a Yorkshire hug should be a big help.

  5. #11 by claire93 on October 11, 2016 - 21:42

    sympathies for your 3-legged canine lamp shade. Been there, done that lol and yep cats tend to freak out when they see the beast coming. Don’t worry your head about whether or not you should have followed vet’s advice. As you say, what’s done is done, so vet obviously had lots of good arguments as to “pourquoi”. Sending positive vibes your way for canines, félines & humans alike.

    • #12 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:11

      Thanks Claire. Cats are weird aren’t they? If I appear in front of them holding something they’ve never seen before (the vacuum cleaner comes to mind😉 ), they look terrified and run away.

  6. #13 by Kim on October 11, 2016 - 22:12

    Poor Stan. I remember getting lots of bruises on my legs when my dog had a cone. I hope your legs remain unscathed.

    • #14 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:10

      I’m hoping that I can leave the cone off when I’m in the house and just put it on him when I go out and during the night. As I type, I’m wondering whether I can take him for a walk with a plastic bag over the dressing. I have to take the other two out and he’ll go mental if I go out without him.

  7. #15 by katechiconi on October 12, 2016 - 00:00

    Ah, poor Stan. So hard not to be able to explain why, and that a little quiet play and caution approaching doorways is called for just now. Don’t torment yourself with internet advice, the vet knows your Stan and his paws, and tout va pour le mieux, etc. Hard to look at that furry face and the expression of “why have you done this to me?”, though…

    • #16 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:08

      I know! It’s like when he got all excited when we set off in the car yesterday morning thinking he had been the only dog selected out of the three to be taken on an exciting outing, only to be deposited at the vets. In a way, they’re better off than us as they have no idea what’s coming.

  8. #17 by Thimberlina on October 12, 2016 - 01:40

    Poor Stan (Cool name!!), I’m surprised you didn’t have a go after your success with the chicken’s foot. All the best for Stan’s speedy recover. 😀

    • #18 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:06

      Well, I’m wishing I did now just in case the surgery proves to be a bad idea – although it would only have been a bathing solution, nothing to do with hot potatoes.

  9. #19 by CurlsnSkirls on October 12, 2016 - 02:41

    Good luck & best wishes to you, the cats, and specially to Stan. Glad the foot remains, and hope all results are positive. Maybe if the cats thought he was practising for Hallowe’en…

    • #20 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 09:04

      I once put a witchy grey wig on my old German Shepherd girl on Halloween which scared the poop out of the cats too. I do love a pet photo opportunity😉

  10. #22 by poshbirdy on October 12, 2016 - 10:45

    Oh poor Stan. Trust this will be the end of it and don’t spend time worrying in advance of possible future issues. He’ll soon be free of the outfit and he’ll thank you for it🙂

  11. #24 by sewchet on October 12, 2016 - 12:45

    Oh dear, poor thing! Hopefully he’ll soon get used to it and, hopefully, he won’t scoop all sorts of undesirables in it and deposit them on the lounge carpet like mine did:)

    • #25 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 13:16

      Well, as my dogs like to help by cleaning up the cat poo in the garden and harvesting the fallen and rotting fruit, I think the chances are quite high:/ Animals! Who’d have ’em?

  12. #26 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 12, 2016 - 21:57

    My heart sank when I saw that picture. So miserable for Stan having to wear it. Can you allow him to take it off when he’s around you? Don’t worry too much about what the internet says, I’m sure your vet has a lot more knowledge than folks who post on the internet – they’re usually just talking about their one experience. Although Hicks once tore the webbing between his toes and I admit it too forever to get it to heal without him ripping it apart every time we thought we’d got there😦 But he was a lot younger and more lively than he and Stan are now. Keeping my fingers crossed it heels easily and quickly and that you get a good result from the tests on the cyst.

    • #27 by tialys on October 12, 2016 - 22:08

      You must have seen more than your fair share of buster collars with Mr. Hicks😦 Stan is actually only 6 and very lively – he is obsessed with chasing tennis balls and almost literally flies through the air in order to catch them. I have an 11 year old – Taz – who you might be thinking of. I’m taking the collar off when I’m in the house and can keep my eye on him although he’s not really showing any signs of wanting to rip the dressing off – he just has a lick every now and again. I put it back on if I’m going out and during the night. I hope the vet did a good stitching job on his paw – she did seem very proud of herself when I picked him up after the surgery – and, as you say, you have to trust a qualified professional above some random opinions on the internet.

      • #28 by Dartmoor Yarns on October 12, 2016 - 22:19

        I’m sorry, I was convinced Stan was older. In that case, yes, be very timid about letting him exercise. It was every time we let Hicks back off the lead that he split it again – it went on for months.

        Oh yes, we had to buy new buster collars from the vet because the current one we had had see soo much wear it had split😦 It was so sad how happily Hicks just used to put it on, because he was so used to wearing one. Thankfully he hasn’t had to wear on for quite a while now🙂 Great to hear Stan is getting some time off from his.

  13. #29 by Lynda on October 13, 2016 - 12:48

    Aw… poor pup. Hope he heals quickly so the cone can come off soon.

  14. #31 by dezertsuz on October 14, 2016 - 04:04

    Sympathy for you and Stan, both … maybe the cats, too. =) Trust your own vet, she’s the one looking at the situation. I’m sure if she had thought there was a better solution, she would have suggested it. And Stan will get past this and be running around like his normal self in no time. But you watch out for leg bruises!

    • #32 by tialys on October 14, 2016 - 08:04

      Thanks Susan – he’s having the dressing changed today so hopefully she’ll be able to let us know if it’s healing nicely or if I’ve not been restricting his exercise sufficiently.

  15. #33 by PendleStitches on October 14, 2016 - 15:29

    Poor Stan. He must be awfully disgruntled. But hopefully he’s on the mend and it’s all done and dusted. Hope you’re ok too…fur babies are as much of a worry as the human kind.

  16. #35 by Postcard from Gibraltar on October 17, 2016 - 10:37

    I hope Stan’s soon on the mend. Sending lots of good wishes xxx

    • #36 by tialys on October 23, 2016 - 10:56

      Thanks – hopefully we’re nearing the time his bandage can come off.

  17. #37 by Oh Sew Tempting on October 20, 2016 - 21:56

    Oh poor Stan! I hope he’s feeling much better soon and he can soon be without the lampshade.

    • #38 by tialys on October 23, 2016 - 10:54

      Thanks Avis. We’ve only been putting the lampshade on at night and, hopefully, the bandage is coming off on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

