What’s In The Box Flo?

 

I don’t know who was more excited today – me or the dog.

Dog on BOx

Of course, she was only interested in the cardboard box but this was inside

Babylock Imagine

My new baby.

With jet air threading and no fiddling with tension, I won’t know I’m born.

Can’t wait to run up a wrap dress or two.

I could have ordered it here in France but I wanted to use my U.K. bank account to pay for it and I have used this company in the U.K. several times before and have always found them to offer an excellent service.  Plus, it was free delivery even to France.

Look at all the free goodies I got too.

Free Stuff with Overlocker

There’s a blind hem foot, an elastic foot and a beading foot and even though I’ve never felt the need to put beads on a garment before, you just never know.  Bless them, they even included an adaptor plug as I’m in foreign parts.

I’m a little worried about this though.

Easy threading instructions

It brings to mind the card in the back of the seat in front on aircraft that you have to look at but it scares the life out of you when you do.  I always cringe when they say ‘when you hear the words ‘brace, brace’, ‘ and fervently hope that I never do.

I haven’t had a play yet because I want at least a clear afternoon when I can closet myself away with my new baby so that we can bond.

I’ll let you know how we get on.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Chris on November 4, 2016 - 20:48

    I’m almost as excited as you are! You are going to love this machine!

    • #2 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:43

      Well, I’m not in a position here to try out different machines very easily so I had to rely on reviews and the opinions of fellow bloggers like yourself so I’m expecting great things!

      • #3 by Chris on November 5, 2016 - 13:20

        Just make sure you let me know if (like me) you start threading the machine just for the fun of it🙂

  2. #4 by felicia on November 4, 2016 - 21:02

    Those machines are great. I recently bought the cheap version, which I have to thread myself. It’s easy as pie. The air thread one should be a snap. Congrats!

    • #5 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:48

      I did think about not bothering with the jet air threading and saving myself some cash but then threw caution (and money) to the wind.

  3. #6 by CurlsnSkirls on November 4, 2016 - 21:31

    Oh, Happy Day! Exciting news!!
    Know you’ll have great fun and exciting times with your new baby.
    Congratulations!
    del

    • #7 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:49

      I’m looking forward to a long bonding session this afternoon once I’ve got my Zumba and Pilates classes out of the way – I might not even stay for Pilates as I will be too restless.

      • #8 by CurlsnSkirls on November 5, 2016 - 19:16

        Hope all has gone well for you both!

  4. #9 by knettycraft on November 4, 2016 - 22:18

    Wow! That’s a pretty cool machine! Congrats!

    • #10 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:50

      I’m looking forward to playing with it later today.

  5. #11 by Janice Marriott on November 4, 2016 - 22:28

    Have fun!!!

  6. #13 by nanacathy2 on November 4, 2016 - 22:37

    Ooh have fun and I hope it’s not too scary.

    • #14 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:52

      I’ve read the manual from beginning to end – I don’t think I’ve ever done that with anything before – and it all looks pretty straightforward. I’ll have a ‘hands on’ session later.

  7. #15 by The Snail of Happiness on November 4, 2016 - 23:42

    I’m just about to buy something similar, so I’ll be interested to see how you get on… may have to revise my choice of make and model…

    • #16 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 09:57

      Well, in the end, after lots of research, it came down to a choice between the Babylock Imagine and the Juki M0-1000 which are both roughly the same price and appear to do the same thing. I don’t have anywhere near me to go and try these things out so I relied on the internet – reviews and comments from other sewing bloggers – and both these seem to be very popular. If you sacrifice the air threading you can save a bit of money but as overlocker threading has been my pet hate since I bought my bargain one three years ago, I thought I’d spoil myself. I’ll let you know how we get on.

      • #17 by The Snail of Happiness on November 5, 2016 - 16:04

        I’m new to overlockers, so I may buy a cheaper one to start – even with the issue of threading the thing. I will certainly use the company you recommend as I have been pondering where to buy one from for quite a while.

  8. #18 by katechiconi on November 5, 2016 - 00:25

    Oh, the excitement! At least the instruction card appears to be in English rather than Chinese, so I feel confident you’ll get on just fine. And of course, there was a bonus toy for Flo…

    • #19 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 10:00

      Flo is mad for cardboard boxes and blankets being draped over something – she tries to dive underneath them. The instruction card is in English and not a ‘brace, brace’ in sight. Actually, I think the Babylock machines are made in Japan which is quite unusual nowadays – usually it’s China no matter how Swiss or English the brand name sounds.

      • #20 by katechiconi on November 5, 2016 - 10:05

        Your post almost, but not quite, convinced me to to get my overlocker out, dust it off and rethread it. Almost… I really am going to have to do it some time, aren’t I?

  9. #21 by sew2pro on November 5, 2016 - 01:12

    Ooh, I think I may have just seen Christmas!

    It looks very cute and those lines are so smooth. Can’t wait to see what you ‘run up’. Flo does look a bit worried that she might be deprived of the usual quota of walks.

    • #22 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 10:08

      I only paid 139 euros for my last overlocker and it was really just to see if I’d use it. It died with one week to go on the guarantee and has been returned while I await their verdict. I am hoping they will offer me a refund rather than a replacement or a repair as I could do with that to pay off a miniscule amount of what the new one cost me. Nothing wrong with having a sparesie though. When the one step buttonhole thingy on my Janome didn’t like the dreaded cord (future post topic) I got out my Singer and managed to do them with the four step feature that one has. Flo is nosy and also worries in case anyone or anything draws attention away from her – she is just like a spoilt toddler.

  10. #23 by claire93 on November 5, 2016 - 12:58

    ooooh what a lovely (and expensive lol) toy! hope you have fun, and I look forward to seeing all the knitwear sewing projects you get up to on this little beauty

    • #24 by tialys on November 5, 2016 - 14:06

      I’ve already got two dresses in the queue but I might start off with a t-shirt just to get the feel of it.

  11. #25 by Kim on November 5, 2016 - 21:05

    How kind of you to put up with a new overlocker so Flo can have a great box! I hope you are both having fun 😃

    • #26 by tialys on November 7, 2016 - 09:33

      I suppose I could always have got her a box from the supermarket but then it wouldn’t have been so much fun for me.

  12. #27 by Oh Sew Tempting on November 5, 2016 - 23:09

    Now all you need is lots of free time to sew🙂

    • #28 by tialys on November 7, 2016 - 09:31

      Even less housework, ironing and decorating will get done!

  13. #29 by Chez Shea on November 6, 2016 - 21:46

    Have fun with your new baby! I really admire people who know how to use these things!x

    • #30 by tialys on November 7, 2016 - 09:31

      I think it’s the first manual I’ve read from cover to cover as I’m determined to make the most of it.

  14. #31 by Beth on November 7, 2016 - 00:32

    Jet air threading?! Whaaaattt??!!😮😮😮

  15. #34 by sewchet on November 8, 2016 - 16:50

    Jet air threading? Blimey, maybe it’s time I traded in my 25 year old Frister Rossmann for a more up to date model!

    • #35 by tialys on November 10, 2016 - 08:57

      25 years! That’s a good endorsement. You must be an expert with threading it by now so probably don’t need a fancy, new fangled one. I used to go into misery mode whenever my last machine de-threaded itself.

      • #36 by sewchet on November 10, 2016 - 10:11

        Yes, I could probably thread it with my eyes closed in under two minutes! I don’t need a new one – I just lust after the shiny, new ones sometimes, though:)

  16. #37 by PendleStitches on November 11, 2016 - 18:16

    How exciting! Have fun!

    • #38 by tialys on November 12, 2016 - 14:27

      I’m still a bit nervous of it but we’re getting on quite well so far.

Leave a Reply

