Adventures with the Rosa Shirtdress Part 2

You may remember my wrangles (in Part 1) during my Rosa Shirtdress making experience with the fabric formerly known as black corduroy  (now called something totally different, by me at least) .   If you missed it, and care,  it’s here.

The line drawing for Tilly and the Buttons Rosa Shirt/Shirtdress shows lots of the features I wanted to try out or improve upon and I knew some of them would be a challenge after a long time worshipping at the altars of the knit fabric and overlocker gods which is why I opted to purchase the online workshop along with the pattern.

Rosa Shirtdress Line Drawing

See the princess seams, the forward shoulder seams, the pointed back yoke, the separate collar stand, the curved hem and rolled cuffs with tabs.  Note the multitudinous buttons.  These features along with mock felled seams, optional contrast fabric in the collar and button stands made me really want to give this a serious go.  I know there are patch pockets but I have enough going on in the chest department without pointing it out so left those off.  I made the shirt version as it’s the same as the dress only shorter and this was really just to try out the fit.

I showed off my collar in part 1 but I’m proud of it so here it is again (even though it looks as if one side is slightly shorter than the other – which it isn’t)

Rosa Shirt Top Button and Collar

Here is an inside view of my mock felled seams and contrast button and collar stands.

Mock Felled Seams

Please ignore the slightly raggedy edges of the serged seam – that was BB (before Babylock) and just as my old overlocker was giving out.

Here is the rolled cuff with button tab.

Rosa Shirt Cuffs & Tabs

Tilly & the Buttons has now released a bonus addition to the pattern for full length sleeves and standard cuffs which I might do next time I make this.

In this fetching back view you can see the pointed yoke  which went perfectly the first time round but, when I had to undo it because there were holes in my charity shop fabric, I didn’t get it as precise the second time.  I steamed the hell out of it which served to flatten the dreaded cord a bit but hey ho, it’s supposed to be a toile.

Rosa Shirt Back View Toile

Probably my favourite bit is the curved hem at the back which has a look of a peplum about it from the side.

Rosa Shirt Side View

Here I am with one of my better behaved dogs.

And here is my doppleganger mannequin showing the complete article.

Rosa Shirt Wearable Toile on Mannequin

How come her waist looks smaller than mine and yet she is me?

When I make it again I need to take an inch off the shoulder width for me and make the dress in the next size up for my daughter to accommodate her bottom – something I sadly don’t appear to have much of any more.

The struggle I had with the buttonholes is almost too painful to repeat but it was, again, to do with the fabric.  Being thick in itself and having interfacing and a contrast fabric on the back my Janome’s one step buttonhole feature was having none of it.  Luckily I started (and screwed up multiple times) with those tabs on the cuffs so they were easy to re-cut and re-try.  In the end though, I excavated my old Singer machine which has a four-step buttonhole and managed to do all the buttons using that.  Next time it will be easier.

As always with a Tilly and the Buttons pattern it is presented on strong paper with dark lines and easily visible markings so a dream to trace if that’s what you like to do.  It is well written in a neat little booklet with photographs which would have been perfectly sufficient for me in truth although the online workshop contains some very useful tips.  Tilly’s presentation style is very friendly and down to earth and she has the sort of speaking voice I can listen to easily – and if you watch many YouTube videos, you will know how important that is.  My only criticism of the online workshop would be that some of the straightforward sewing tasks performed could probably have been edited to make them shorter.  My plan of – I’ve paid for it so I’m damn well going to do it – definitely paid off though and now I feel more confident in tackling patterns with a little more detail in than I previously would have chosen.

Now, bring on the zip insertions.

Do you find you need to take a step back, slow down and regroup every now and again in your sewing, knitting, painting or whatever?  How do you get back on track?  Or do you find your progression is constant and you just keep getting better and better, never making any mistakes? – in which case don’t tell me as I will probably hate you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by nanacathy2 on November 10, 2016 - 10:24

    I think that looks incredibly smart. Really like it.

    • #2 by tialys on November 10, 2016 - 11:35

      Thank you – I have some fabric ready for the dress version, just need to finish putting a quilt together, knitting a cardigan (and a scarf), making some things to sell at a fund raising event, etc. etc., you know how it goes.

  2. #3 by sewchet on November 10, 2016 - 11:06

    It doesn’t matter how long we’ve been sewing or what level we’re at, everyone still makes mistakes. Mine are usually never reading the pattern because I just know how things are constructed so, inevitably, my impatience sometimes ends up with me doing something in the wrong order simply because I think I know best!!

    • #4 by tialys on November 10, 2016 - 11:33

      A bit of over-confidence is probably better than not enough – at least you will stretch yourself – and judging by some of the patterns I’ve seen, you probably do know best sometimes.

  3. #5 by katechiconi on November 10, 2016 - 11:11

    It’s a very smart shirt, and I think it’s going to be an even smarter dress! I used to be a confident and capable dressmaker, but these days I seem to have lost my nerve a bit, along with any trace of a waist. I do admire you for pushing yourself; I can’t truly say my dressmaking skills improve as I go along, unlike my quilt skills, which I’m happy to say do noticeably improve when I take risks!

    • #6 by tialys on November 10, 2016 - 11:31

      I suppose, with dressmaking, you know you’re going to have to put it on your back and go out in public so it’s a bit more scary.

      • #7 by katechiconi on November 10, 2016 - 14:40

        On the other hand, I can hide my dressmaking flops, but as 80% of my quiltmaking is for other people, I feel pressure to get them as perfect and beautiful as possible!

  4. #8 by claire93 on November 10, 2016 - 12:21

    oooh well done! a shame the snazzy fabric along Inside of buttons isn’t visible when wearing the shirt

    • #9 by tialys on November 10, 2016 - 12:40

      I might let my button stands hang free – it will depend on my mood😉

  5. #10 by Emma on November 10, 2016 - 14:48

    Wow it looks so good! I really need to take the plunge and sew more clothes🙂

    • #11 by tialys on November 12, 2016 - 14:25

      Thanks Emma – I see you’ve made a move in the right direction with socks! You just need to swap yarn for fabric and move up the body😉

      • #12 by Emma on November 14, 2016 - 15:09

        Haha yes! I need to buy a proper pattern and just do it! Maybe I’ll make a dress for Christmas🙂

  6. #13 by jendavismiller on November 10, 2016 - 15:28

    WOW! This is superbly done. I really envy all of you with a collection of backup Old Singers (tra la la) to call on for the drudge work. Can’t wait to see your dress version. And glad to see you’re bravely tackling the complicated patterns. And…so very happy to know that based upon your criteria, you’re not likely to ever hate me! As you know, I’m struggling just to get started again and moving at a fat snail’s pace.😉

    • #14 by tialys on November 12, 2016 - 14:26

      I had to get that old Singer out again yesterday to tackle some twin needle action😉 Good job I never gave it away.

  7. #15 by themateriallady on November 11, 2016 - 23:00

    That looks great, and I’m sure will look every bit as good as a dress.

    • #16 by tialys on November 12, 2016 - 14:28

      I think it will – I’ve seen a few nice examples and a couple with piping on the princess seams though I might not go that far.

  8. #17 by sew2pro on November 12, 2016 - 14:04

    Hm, I spend my whole life trying to hide my big bottom, or reduce, and now it’s almost gone it’s suddenly all the rage!
    That’s a very nicely made shirt though the tech drawing made it look rather fussy. I look forward to the dress (you can’t back away now). This is such a wearable, versatile style: casual but smarter than jersey. Well done.

    Was Medusa on the premises? Which dog got turned to stone?!

    • #18 by tialys on November 12, 2016 - 14:30

      Same with breasts – I was always self conscious about them when I was a teenager. I’ve still got them but nowadays nobody cares – well, almost nobody.

  9. #19 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 13, 2016 - 20:57

    Shirt dress looks fab. Love a shirt dress. Yep, definitely, we all make mistakes, even in things we know perfectly well how to do. I do try not to get hung up on them – although sometimes it’s easier to go gentle on yourself than others.

    • #20 by tialys on November 14, 2016 - 12:24

      Some days, just nothing goes right – especially when the gremlins are at work and it’s probably best to leave the room and do something else although the law of sod decrees that those are the days when you need something in a hurry and have to continue.

      • #21 by Dartmoor Yarns on November 14, 2016 - 22:08

        Too right. I do try to work to a policy of not fighting it when the universe seems to be working against me, but yes, some day you have to plough on through.

Leave a Reply

